We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Adult and Kid friendly”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Chepstow, Monmouthshire, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Raymond W
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Adult and Kid friendly”
Reviewed 12 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We recently stayed at Maes y Gwy for a weekend away...

This place is great for just Adults, though also great to bring the kids.

The extras provided on site make it that all more enjoyable, especially if you just want to spend a day (or two) not having to go out. These include a large hot tub, games room with pool table, table tennis, darts, amongst other things. And for the kids a playground, farm animals and other toys/games.

The owners are very friendly, accommodating, and great with kids, makes a very pleasant stay.

In addition to the great property, you have plenty of activities for all ages in every direction. Caves (unfortunately closed when we visited), Castles, a beautiful Abby, kids train park, plenty of walking trains and much more.

This cottage is in an excellent position, far enough out to enjoy the country, peace and serenity, though close enough to enjoy some great days out.

Look forward to coming back.

PS one last point, the bed and pillows were extremely comfortable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all the amenities
Liked least: would be nice to have some basics on arrival (soap to wash hands) etc
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisaw_10
wales
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful country escape”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Stayed here with family for my partners birthday and loved it. When we arrived we was met by the owners who where very friendly. The cottage had tea, coffee, milk and biscuits which was a nice touch. The hot tub was amazing and as it was sectioned off by a fence it felt private which was great. Was surprised when we opened the shed and there were a few toys available which my 15month old loved! The animals and the park all added to the country fun. Would definatly stay again! Brilliant!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C1Wat
Heywood, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Maes y Gwy - Wonderful location, excellent amenities, especially the hot tub.”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We booked this property through Best of Wales for three days only because we were going to a Wedding in Chepstow. All I can say is, it was excellent. The Owners were lovely and very helpful. There were 4 of us, plus I child and I toddler, all catered for. The property had a play area with climbing frame and slide, also chickens, a goat and ducks. The children loved them and our Son and Daughter in law loved the Hot Tub.
I would also like to say a big thank you to Best of Wales for a very easy booking and quick replies to any query we had and the print out of the directions to the property, they were excellent. I would definitely recommend Best of Wales to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it, it was excellent.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mongoose2...
cardiff
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful countryside cottage with perfect mix of relaxation and activity”
Reviewed 10 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Greeting: Met on arrival by cottage owner who was friendly and helpful throughout the stay. Tea, coffee, milk and biscuits provided which was a nice touch.

Cottage: Very clean and tidy throughout. Well equipped kitchen facilities. Bedrooms are small but comfortable, and the views from all rooms were of the farm and surrounding countryside - our daughter particularly loved seeing the horses from her window! The wood burner stove added to the feel of a homely cottage. WIFI was available and we had no problems with access / signal from any room. There was no mobile reception (which we were warned about) but there was a payphone available in an adjacent building.

Facilities: The hot tub was large and accessible to us at all times as the cottage next door was empty - this was an excellent addition and was perfect for relaxing throughout our weekend! There is a games room in a building 100 yards from the cottage. It has board games, a dart board, table tennis table, pool table and PS2. We loved having the option of this and had some rather overly-competitive table tennis games during our stay! The decoration of the room isn't brilliant but this didn't bother us at all given its intended function! As an extra benefit, there is a playground with swing/slide opposite the cottage which was brilliant for our daughter and meant we could sit outside on the patio relaxing whilst she played near us.

Location: The cottage is set in a valley on a working farm. There are horses, chickens, cows, sheep and goats which our daughter loved! We were allowed to walk through any of the fields on site and there are also walking routes going through the farm which meant we could have some nice strolls. There is a village nearby with an excellent pub (Tredegar arms) serving great food, and Chepstow is around 10 minutes drive away. There are numerous waling paths that can also be accessed easily within a short drive but we stayed within the farm area for the duration of our stay.

Overall: We were looking for somewhere we could relax but that also offered activities that we could enjoy as a family. This cottage fits the bill perfectly and we would recommend it to couples, families with young children, or groups of friends (next door cottage can be hired out if larger groups). The owners were accessible, friendly and helpful throughout, whilst respecting our privacy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackiem70...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place, friendly host.”
Reviewed 19 November 2012 for a stay in November 2012

Even with wet welsh weather we would advise you to try this lovely place. Curl up on a real settee (not wooden framed)
In front of the log burner with a good book n glass of wine......then of course the hot tub is also an option

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing