We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“2 night stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Dunkeld Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Royal Dunkeld Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dunkeld
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“2 night stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

We stayed in the chalets at the back of the hotel for two nights bed and breakfast and were suprised at how comfortable they were.Our first impression was how clean they were and of an ample size ,big enough for my husband and I. It was cold when we arrived but soon heated up with the electric radiator and we then had to turn it down because it got too hot. The breakfast was lovely ,there was plenty to choose from and everything was hot when served even the toast which hasn't always been the case when we've stayed at other hotels.The staff couldn't have been more helpful and they were friendly too.We had a meal in the bistro and it was good value and delicious, the chef can certainly cook.Dunkeld is a lovely place with some nice shops,cafes and beautiful scenery its also a good base for visiting the surrounding area,we highly recommend a visit to see The Hermitage and The Queens View both absolutely breathtaking.We had a great couple of days and our stay in the chalet was a good price too.

Room Tip: We couldn't get a room in the main Hotel but try the chalets they are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris1753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    125
    42
    21
    7
See reviews for
58
119
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

The Royal is a lovely old traditional hotel and in many ways it should stay so. It could just do with a wash and brush up! We found the rooms had everything you need but space. Two people sharing a double for a night have two suitcases.... something had to give and it had to be us. If my husband was getting dressed and rummaging in his case, I had to sit on the bed and wait for some space to tackle my suitcase. Perhaps there could be a rethink on the amount of furniture needed in the room once two suitcases are in place! Service in the morning was dozy but ok.... all in all, the B&B's such as Kinnaird House, Dunkeld offer much, much better value for money!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fothersScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

The staff at The Royal Dunkeld always get customer service just right, always friendly and attentive to our needs. We love how they have refurbished the bistro, now the Woodlands Restaurant. The food here is of excellent quality and well presented. There is a problem. We like staying at The Royal so much we don't want to try anywhere else in the area! This is our 4th stay at The Royal over the last two years and feel so lucky that we discovered this wee gem in Perthshire. There is so much to do close by to the hotel that we did not need the use of our car over the 2 days of our visit. The hotel is central to shops and a short walk from the Catherdral and a maze of forest paths that also take you by the River Tay. Birnham is also only a short walk away where you can visit the Beatrix Potter garden, or a walk in the other direction takes you to the Hermitage where you can take a forest walk and take in Ossians View and Cave!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K1DOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

Recently went for a stag party to Dunkeld, which involved a two-night stay in the Royal Hotel. This was my first trip to Dunkeld, but I was very impressed at the area and more impressed by how charming everyone was, especially given that we were a stag party. The hotel staff went out of their way to be friendly, including the managers who both had a great sense of humour, and the bar staff who made us feel very much at home.
In practical terms, the hotel is on the main street of Dunkeld, 2 minutes from the A9, and has excellent parking. All amenities are within easy walking distance. The rooms are clean, simple, and the hotel has a separate wing for rowdy parties so everyone can get a good night's sleep/drinking.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevimac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

Excellent value and superb food. Very friendly service and great place for golfing. We had a memorable week and were very well looked after. Some of the group were in the accommodation at the back which had great showers and cosy. We were in the main hotel which was quaint and comfortable. Lovely atmosphere. Best thing too - doggy friendly!

Room Tip: Cheaper accommodation at the back was good value. In the main hotel we were very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank businessbreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunkeld
1.5 km away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunkeld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,087 reviews
0.2 km away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunkeld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
17.2 km away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 km away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
27.4 km away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#12 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
17.5 km away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Dunkeld Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Dunkeld Hotel

Property: The Royal Dunkeld Hotel
Address: Atholl Street, Dunkeld PH8 0AR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Dunkeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dunkeld
Price range (per night): $109 - $161
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Dunkeld Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your The Royal Dunkeld Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Dunkeld
Dunkeld Royal Hotel
The Royal Dunkeld Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing