We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful country estate with 5 star hospitality”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Dunoon, Cowal Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lee B
1 review
“Beautiful country estate with 5 star hospitality”
Reviewed 20 February 2017 for a stay in October 2016

Knockdow House is a beatiful large county mansion set in the picturesque Scottish countryside. We stayed for a weekend in the Cumbrae suite which we could not recommend highly enough. The room itself was luxurious with two double bedrooms, two bathrooms, a large sitting area and modern kitchen. The views from the room were breathtaking. We received an extremely warm welcome from Fatima and Stewart. Their kind hospitality made our stay extremely memorable, from the delicious homemade cakes, to helpful advice on where to dine locally. We were also lucky enough to be given a tour of this lovingly restored home and grounds which make the perfect setting for a relaxing getaway. We can't wait to return.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie...
Uddingston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Private bolthole with fascinating history, tucked away from it all”
Reviewed 17 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Peace and quiet is a precious commodity, not often found in the hustle and bustle of the big city. The working week can be a real drain, so coming away from it all to this beautifully restored stately home is a real tonic!

We stayed in the Cumbrae Suite - a large, well-appointed space with gorgeous views from the main bedroom, and comfortable surroundings. The decor and furniture is stunning; not too precious to sit a tea-cup on but rather homely, and charming. You'll find yourself getting settled into the idea that yes, you could live here very happily!

Fatima and Stewart, along with their lovely little daughter Catriona, are the perfect hosts. You do get a real sense of family atmosphere here at Knockdow - Fatima told us that she loves nothing more than welcoming children to the estate - and after a guided tour around the property, we can see that they've poured so much love and genuine consideration into restoring it, which we felt honoured to be privy to.

The history of the estate is really fascinating; Fatima and Stewart have really respected the richness of it, with nods to its formative years all around the home in the most subtle and enchanting of ways.

It's a place I can imagine visiting many times and each time, discovering something new. And with any luck, we will.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilruskin
Ayrshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Most enjoyable stay at this grand location.”
Reviewed 21 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

My wife and I had a wonderful stay at Knockdow House, where we celebrated our 25th anniversary. The location, on the Cowal Peninsula, is majestic. The rooms are luxurious and stylishly furnished to a high level. We had the pleasure of meeting the owners and their delightful daughter, Catriona, who made us feel so welcome. The rooms are spotlessly clean, with wonderful views of the estate grounds. We woke up well rested (the best bed we've ever slept in), and watched the deer and pheasants outside our window !! Well done to all the staff, especially Andrea, who made our anniversary such a wonderful occasion. We look forward to our next visit to Knockdow House.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and welcome from the owners.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R2933MXco...
Falkirk District, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely stay and definitely will be back! ”
Reviewed 20 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Knockdow is a beautiful family home set in some amazing Scottish countryside. On arrival we were greeted and made to feel so welcome. The suites are all lovely in their own right but we stayed in Cumbrae. Facilities are excellent and we cooked both dinner and breakfast during our stay with ease. The views from the room are simply stunning and we will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nik H
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Blissful Escape in the Country”
Reviewed 27 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

My children 5 and 8 were very much excited to be staying in a mansion but the husband and I were a little sceptical as to how this would pan out. This was a grown up house not a Travelodge! We needn't have worried, Knockdow really does cater for everyone. From the super friendly welcome from Andrea (and the yummy shortbread) to the beautiful and spacious interior our initial impression was simply wow! We were blown away by the stunning grounds which were fantastic for the kids to run riot in and we saw heron and startled the deer. The views across to Bute from our bedroom window were the perfect backdrop for a quiet cup of coffee whilst the kids planned their day. Although you feel a million miles from anywhere you're actually really close to Dunoon with everything you need to either self-cater or eat out. We did a combination of both, breakfast out one day, lunch another and of course a glass of wine in the beautiful gardens when we got back. The beach was also a big appeal and the museum was a hit too. We needn't have worried about the kids behaving in a grown up house - with so much space, their only mischief was to pinch every cushion they could get hold of (and there were lots) and make a den under the chaise in our bedroom. All in all a very relaxing break that the whole family enjoyed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the space
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing