We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Bijou, but ideal for two.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Old School Lodge

A warm welcome to the Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A warm welcome to the Lodge
Sit and relax in the garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
A warm welcome to the Lodge
Sit and relax in the garden
Well equipped kitchen
To welcome you......x
Cosy and comfortable
Shower room
A birthday surprise
Book a surprise treat for someone special
We'll cater to your special occasion
Port of Dover
Eurostar
Brockhill Country Park
Coastal Park
Folkestone Harbour
Dover Castle
Etchinghill Golf Club
Canterbury Cathedral
Ashford Designer Outlet
Leas Cliff Hall entertainment venue in Folkestone
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Folkestone, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Steve A
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bijou, but ideal for two.”
Reviewed 30 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

An ideal location for our needs to explore the local area for just three days. It is not large, but importantly the space is well ordered with a great kitchen area and separate bathroom. We found all that we could possibly need,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cooking in the kitchen; I loved the oven!
Liked least: The large wardrobe (from the Indian subcontinent?) was disliked by my partner for it's strong odour and was not utilised.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sidmeiers...
Great Yarmouth
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cosy, Comfortable, Beautiful”
Reviewed 1 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The cottage itself was very small and compact. Basically everything in one room (with bathroom attached), but open plan and very comfortable.
I spent a week there with my wife to unwind after our wedding. We were not only pleased with the cottage itself, but also unbelievably happy with the location! 20 minutes drive to Dover, 30 to Canterbury or Faversham (London, Maidstone, Hastings all within day trip radius, although a little further)
The countryside and the area is stunning and as a small cosy place for a romantic getaway, I would highly recommend it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location and feel of the lodge
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phil c
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed 15 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We only stayed for one night (with our little dog) before departing the following morning on the Eurotunnel. The Lodge had ample off-road parking; was easy to find in a nice location, handy to Folkstone itself, Tesco store and only a few minutes to the Tunnel. Everything was neat, clean & tidy & even had milk, coffee & tea to hand. If a longer stay was required, then it was kitted out to a high standard with all amenities. The only minor negative was that the indoor aerial for the TV didn't seem really adequate and the screen kept 'freezing'. Would we stay there again - absolutely!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey E
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place, just perfect for onward travel”
Reviewed 15 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

What a lovely location, quiet, tranquil and well presented with all the finishing touches, makes such a difference, we stayed on route to France and again on our return. Fab, would recommend to anyone. Thank you!

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita D
Hunter Valley, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely, relaxing, peaceful part of Kent”
Reviewed 5 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I loved the Old School House as soon as we drove in, it was just like the photos online.
Jamie, the owner was great he gave us directions which were easy to find. He also dropped in to welcome us. It was just perfect for us handy to see our friends in kent and to visit seaside places we had visited in our childhood.It is so close to the channel tunnel ideal to pop over to france which we will do before we leave. garden is lovely plenty of birds and Squirrels which I love
We would recomend this accomodation to all our friends. 5 Stars

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 84
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing