We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
8
6
5
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
6
5
4
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 25 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a night as we were visiting relatives locally. We stay in this area regularly and thought this might be a good mid-range place to stay, sadly we were disappointed.
Upon arrival the building is currently clad in scaffolding, we tried not to let this put us off. The lady who met us was very bubbly, and we thought we would enjoy this stay. Being shown to our room there were cleaning materials on the stairs, mop and bucket etc. these were there the whole time we were there.
The room we were given had a small 4 poster bed, this made us smile. The bathroom was huge with a massive shower, all seemed good.
Sadly, the room was hot as the heating was on all the time, with no way to turn the radiator down, opening the window let in the noise from the street. The toilet was furnished with half a roll of toilet paper. In the morning we complained about the loo paper, and was promptly given 2 more rolls. At this point we also complained that the hot tap in the sink didn't get hot after running for 5 minuets, the response was that she "needs to put a sign up to say it needs 10 minuets". We also said the shower only offered a dribble of water (shame as the pressure in the sink was good) and apparently she is aware as "other people had commented on it" and she needs to change the shower head. We thought at this point her husband was going to do this while we were at breakfast, he didn't.
Breakfast was an experience. The table cloth had stains from tea spills, and as for the tea cups offered, mine had rings in it, another I chose was just stained by tea. Breakfast was microwaved scrambled eggs on a barley toasted half muffin with grilled bacon. There was juice on the table, just enough for a glass each. There was some cereal, some cold meats and cheese.
Upon departure, we commented again about 'issues' and received a long story about them, ending with the offer of "a discount next time you stay", I would have thought a discount there and then would have been more appropriate. So, wanting to get on with our day we paid our bill and left, but will certainly not be going back again.

So, be aware, it's not horrible, but I wouldn't pay the £62 we paid again, I don't ,think I would stay again if it was half that!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pete A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

this was booked as a budget option to stay in Folkstone the night before we went on the tunnel, we had a warm welcome but was disappointed in the room, the bed was atrocious, neither my wife or myself had any sleep it was that bad, the mattress was so thin it never supported you a lot of the actual bed support was missing, the bathroom extractor fan was clogged with fluff and debris, the room was on the warm side (better than cold though) all in all a disappointing stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkDotJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I see others have given good reviews...maybe we just got the bad room of the bunch but i found it very dirty,dusty,no shelving in bathroom to put our stuff,( i notice the picture on the site is an old one as it isnt like that now), the toilet banged against wall when sat on, old tv with dodgy control, staff/owners were hard to get hold of when we wanted something and i found the breakfast cheap and very basic..warm yogurt and tinned peaches. Lady was lovely when we arrived and breakfast staff was nice it was all just a bit shabby round the edges. Wouldnt stay again im afraid.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niktizzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

stayed for 2 nights in September as i was going to a family party , the rooms were lovely and clean with a homely feel to them , the bathroom in our room was massive , the only bad thing i can say about the rooms is that they were very warm and the heating was on all night !
the breakfast was really good lots of choice and i didn't miss not having a cooked breakfast .
the staff (owners) are lovely people are very welcoming ,
overall enjoyed our stay and would recommend to family and friends

Room Tip: room 5 was lovely and has a lovely sea view
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missyc1705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

We were given a wonderful welcome for our one night stay. We had a very early start the following morning and the lady was all smiles and even prepared a packed breakfast for us to take away. The location is great for the shuttle , it's right opposite the beach and 2 minutes walk from lots of shops and restaurants. The only two downsides are the beds, which were simply awful (you could feel each and every spring) and the noise coming from the street outside. Meaning we hardly slept. Otherwise it would have been a much higher rating.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abbie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews