We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great first visit ”

The Chinese Buffet - Huddersfield
Ranked #166 of 552 Restaurants in Huddersfield
Price range: USD 11 - USD 26
Description: The Chinese Buffet is a dynamic and exciting, modern Chinese restaurant. Launched initially as a single restaurant in Bolton the concept has grown in size and stature into an emerging brand with nationwide aspirations. Peter Wu, Paolo Hu and David Hu created The Chinese Buffet with the clear aim of providing a new style of buffet restaurant, high quality food at low cost to customers. They created an eclectic blend of Chinese food using only the finest and freshest ingredients, prepared and presented to the highest of standards. THE Chinese Buffet believes all their customers should receive the care, attention and quality they would expect from the finest of a la carte restaurant. THE Chinese Buffet has exciting and ambitious expansion plans with more than 18 new restaurants planned to open across the North West within the next five years with a national franchise in place by 2016.
Restaurant details
Description: The Chinese Buffet is a dynamic and exciting, modern Chinese restaurant. Launched initially as a single restaurant in Bolton the concept has grown in size and stature into an emerging brand with nationwide aspirations. Peter Wu, Paolo Hu and David Hu created The Chinese Buffet with the clear aim of providing a new style of buffet restaurant, high quality food at low cost to customers. They created an eclectic blend of Chinese food using only the finest and freshest ingredients, prepared and presented to the highest of standards. THE Chinese Buffet believes all their customers should receive the care, attention and quality they would expect from the finest of a la carte restaurant. THE Chinese Buffet has exciting and ambitious expansion plans with more than 18 new restaurants planned to open across the North West within the next five years with a national franchise in place by 2016.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Great food last night and fab staff. First time of trying this branch and we’ll be back. Special mention to the manager (grey suit) and the two wait staff (Greek sisters) who were kindly concerned over a voucher issue we had- quickly resolved without fuss or drama.
Just great food, attentive staff and amazing value for money.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank lLevidoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet - Huddersfield, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

We're so glad you really enjoyed your first visit with us recently and received fantastic service from the team! Thank you for your lovely comments and we hope to welcome you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Went for lunch 30th March, hardly any choice, nearly 50% of dishes were empty, poor quality and as someone pointed out not particularly cheap. We mentioned our disappointment on leaving and she said did you tell anyone... no one to tell, but why would we have to. Enjoyed previously but won’t return,

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank fiq2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet - Huddersfield, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Thank you for your feedback and I'm sorry to hear you didn't have a great experience with us, we always strive to replenish dishes as quickly as possible so we're sorry you didn't feel this during your visit. I have passed all of your comments back to the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

myself and my husband poped in for lunch , we were greeted by a very friendly guy who sat us in a nice table, we found the layout of the food stationd a little chaotic we were searching for things the bbq spare ribs were more bones and the ones that did have meat on were very tough,my husband had cold chips but apart from this i had a noodle dish freshly made which was ok there was enough choices of food and it was just ok, there is not much in choices of desserts but as i said the staff make the place and also it is very clean

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Oompalumpa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet - Huddersfield, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Thank you for your feedback and we're sorry to hear you didn't have a great experience with us, we pride ourselves in offering dishes that are great quality, so I will be sure to pass your comments back to the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

Awful experience dim sum was cold the heater wasn’t working, pancakes for duck were stone cold steamer not even on . Salt and pepper chicken barely warm spring rolls cold. Informed staff and was told sorry we check the temperature obviously they don’t won’t be eating there again ever unless I want food poisoning

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet - Huddersfield, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Thank you for your feedback and I'm sorry to hear you didn't have a great experience with us. I would like to assure you that we follow strict guidelines set by the FSA around food temperature and always adhere to these, we're sorry to hear the heater wasn't working, I will pass all of your comments back to the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

I just asked my partner how many stars shall we give it? One, hang on, can you give it none! One out of five implies the place has at least something going for it, I suppose it’s a good space, that’s about it.

We came when it first opened and it was great, the food was fresh and clean, hot, plentiful, good choice etc. What’s happened?!

Choice seemed limited, the food was luke warm, meat was dry and most of the dishes just tasted the same, dreadful. A complete meltdown since our last visit. The only saviour was the fact that I just didn’t want anymore after a plate of it, so I’ve saved on a few calories. I honestly wouldn’t be surprised to get ill after eating here.

Scanning through some of the other reviews it’s clear there is a major problem, it’s just hard to believe a successful chain like this cannot rectify these issues. The place really isn’t cheap either, in my opinion there are much better options around town for food. Rivers, round the corner for example, or Little Chilli across town. Centros, dixxies, pot noodle, super noodles, a rustlers, basically anything meant for human consumption

I honestly feel sick having to think about it again, not good.

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank Robbuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet - Huddersfield, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Thank you for your feedback and I'm sorry to hear you didn't feel you had a great experience dining with us recently. I would like to assure you that we follow strict guidelines set by the FSA around the temperature of our dishes, however we do understand that some customers may prefer dishes hotter. I have passed all of your comments back to the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Chinese Buffet - Huddersfield also viewed

Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Chinese Buffet - Huddersfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing