We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful accomodations for large family”
other travellers have booked this property
Banquet Room can sit 12, ideal for family gatherings or friends
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Banquet Room can sit 12, ideal for family gatherings or friends
Barn building on the left, amongst fields and with uninterrupted views to Castle Hill Front and side of Marsh Royd Barn with parking spaces for 5 cars
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Banquet Room can sit 12, ideal for family gatherings or friends
Barn building on the left, amongst fields and with uninterrupted views to Castle Hill
Front and side of Marsh Royd Barn with parking spaces for 5 cars
Barn front entrance
6 Chesterfields in the Lounge
Watch free Sky TV Family bundle and Sky Sports
Lounge
Dragonfly Room has two double beds, en-suite and wonderful views of Castle Hill
View from Dragonfly Room
Chesterfield Lounge can sit 12 comfortably
En-suite to Dragonfly Room
Front view
En-suite shower
Gothic Room
Inner hall
Feature Window
Mirrored Room has a double bed and is flooded with light
Music Room has a luxury triple bunk bed, double bed on the lower part and single on top
Entrance gate to Marsh Royd Barn and views from front garden
Owl Room has a double bed
Each room is named after the Tiffany lamps in it
Main bathroom has a bath and child toilet training step ladder that glows in the dark
Fully equipped kitchen with everything that is needed in a home
Kitchen has range cooker
Kitchen
Few children toys
Downstairs cloakroom has baby changing facilities
Baby changing unit
Landing
Large kitchen/diner for 6 people
10 min walk to the top of Castle Hill with its wonderful 360 degree vista and views
Victoria Tower on Castle Hill is 10 min walk up the hill, good exercise before breakfast
Large barn conversion offers luxury self-catering accommodation for you, your family and friends
Entrance to Marsh Royd Barn which is set in the Pennine foothills
View from feature window
Enough parking spaces for 5 cars
Marsh Royd Barn 200 ft above sea level where the air is purer and the light is clearer
Front garden view
Santa Claus is coming to town!
Rear shot, large garden and patio
View from rear field
Barn in the middle of this semi-rural location
Garden view
Enjoy the Xmas spirit!
Patio
Patio
Discreet patio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Clarity80...
Edmonds, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Wonderful accomodations for large family”
Reviewed 12 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We truly enjoyed our stay at Marsh Royd Barn. Being right on the edge of town, we felt like we were in the country looking over the fields to Castle Hill, yet it was convenient to walk to Almondbury and just a short trip to Huddersfield town center. The large kitchen was great, and the kids loved the hot tub. The house was very clean and well-appointed, with a large living room and dining room that was great for our large group. The outside patio and yard were also very enjoyable during the good weather. The caretaker, Tony, was very responsive when we had questions, and he came over every day to maintain the hot tub, which was always clean, fresh and very to use!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivia E
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Barn- perfect for group gatherings”
Reviewed 14 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Myself and a group of friends stayed at the Barn at the beginning of October.

The barn itself was furnished to a very high (and luxurious) standard and the whole cottage was well equipped with everything you could possible need for a break. The owners have obviously gone to a lot of effort to ensure that your stay is as comfortable as possible. Furthermore, we were welcomed by the barn manager who showed us around the cottage and gave us some very helpful tips (this was very useful), he had also purchased fresh groceries for us which was very kind!!

The communal areas were very large and enough to cater for the 13 guests we had - the banquet room was great for having meals and breakfast together.

In terms of the surrounding area - a car is probably necessary. The cottage is very close to Huddersfield town centre and maybe not as "countrified" as the images led us to believe (it is very close to a housing estate). We required cars to get into the country for walks etc, although there was a short walk up Castle Hill on the door step of the cottage which was lovely.

Another small issue with the cottage was that it only had one shower and limited hot water. With 13 people staying in the cottage this was a bit of an issue in the morning when we were all wanting to get ready. However, we did manage and this didn't spoilt the weekend at all.

Overall a beautiful and luxurious barn which I would definitely recommend!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eleanor E
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautifully presented, well equipped comfortable stay”
Reviewed 8 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our group of 10 had a perfect long weekend stay at Marsh Royd.
The house is very cosy and well furnished. The beds were so comfy!
Lovely large kitchen, diner and lounge where large groups have space to sit and relax.
Beautiful surroundings in Castle Hill, well worth a walk up for the spectacular views!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed 20 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Upon arrival we were surprised to find that other houses were so close to the property as the photos give an impression that the barn is in a secluded rural location but once inside we were very impressed by the layout and decor.
The barn is very beautifully furnished with a fully equipped kitchen which included fresh items in the fridge and other food items in the drawers which we were encouraged to help ourselves to. Both bathrooms also had a wide range of toiletries.
The white fluffy robe and towel bale provided for each guest is a special touch along with the wide range of colour full Croc type shoes.
We had an amazing weekend celebrating my husbands 40th birthday in a beautiful house with lovely walks nearby.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing