We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveller rating
44
6
1
0
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
44
6
1
0
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scones complimentary fruit honesty bar unique building thanks john cliff face tour de force cowboy feel unmade road secluded area steam punk country music an exceptional host boutique feel quirky place stunning scenery on arrival
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 55 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2018

Stayed here last weekend, a very warm welcome from the host ( quite a character)
complimentary scones / jam & cream tea as well.
Guided tour of the property by John the owner, love the bar with its honesty box just help yourself.
The views are stunning.
The rooms very clean, and large. comfy bed.
John was happy to supply the plates, cutlery and even wash up for the takeaway meal we had delivered in the evening.

Large breakfast before departure.
Will be visiting again.

Room tip: All four rooms looked Fab, we had the superior with a double bed and a single bed
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018 via mobile

Like others i saw this place featured on 'Four in a bed'. We had a weeks holiday booked in North Yorkshire and decided to start it a day early with an overnight stay at a half way point. We looked at Holmfirth but our options became limited when we selected 'pet friendly'. The closest option was Huddersfield, not my first choice of destination, and the edge was the first option listed.

Regular readers of my reviews will see that this is not my normal choice of accommodation but being a fan on the Ch4 tv show i was tempted. I checked out many positive reviews but one did worry me regarding the host, the wonderfully individual, John: labelling him homophobic. Well we had already made the booking and being a gay couple i thought the best way to allay any concerns was to call him. As expected he said our private lives where non of his concern.

So according to John we have a "tudor style hacienda/tyrolean American ranch style english farmhouse".

And it delivers on that front. It is a mix of the host varied tastes.

Upon check in we where greeted by john in his "western vampire slayer" get up. We where given a tour of the premesis and offered a complimentary home made scone cream tea. We had the "super king" room that is, like the whole venue, furnished eclectically veering toward the "shabby chic" look. The room was clean and comfortable. The hospitality tray generously stocked as where the toiletries. Our super king bed was huge and very comfortable.

In the guest lounge there are more complementary refreshments and fruit and a well stocked mini bar that is ran on an "honesty box" system as was the main bar.....more of that in a moment.

There is a great balcony giving you a 180 degree vista on which we whiled away a couple of hours. In fact it was only a light drizzle that forced us indoors to the lounge bar.

As i said this too is ran on an honesty basis. So there we where, me playing Alec Gilroy behind the bar, helping ourselves making a tab as we went along. The range of drinks is really good and very reasonable  (£8 for a bottle of wine, £3.50 for a spirit and mixer and £2.50 for a pint). We even ordered a take away to be delivered. Helped our selves to cutlery and crockey and spent one if the most enjoyable evenings we have ever had in a hotel. When we had had our fill we washed our plates and let ourselves out, switching off the lights as we went.

We had a comfortable night and the venue is remarkably peaceful, even our dog spent the night undisturbed.

Breakfast is a relaxed affair. you do pre order your breakfast the day before and select a time to have it served. You also sit with any other guest staying at the hotel. This may not suit every one and is not really our cup of tea, usually, but we found the experience enjoyable.

The breakfast range is basic for some peoples tastes. However we found it more than acceptable. A choice of cereals and melon to start and a full english with toast. However Johns portions are generous. The cooked breakfast was hearty and tasty with lovely thick bacon. And johns homemade whiskey jam is a treat. John flits in and out making sure you are fulfilled, without being intrusive.

On john: he is unique, bordering on eccentic, charming and witty. He is a very convivial host and makes you feel at home. In fact as a guest you pretty much have the run of the place.

To allay any fears of any same sex couples. We DID NOT find john in any way homophobic. In fact he made a very witty remark to me before breakfast that made me chuckle. He said:

"Every morning i welcome my guests to breakfast. I shake the gentlemans hand and i give the ladies a kiss. I'll shake your hand but what do i do with the other fella!?" If you dont take yourself too seriously you should, like me, find this a classic opener.

Although my partner was a little apprehensive as we have never stayed in an actual b and b we had a great time.

This place is a little gem with very few negatives. And what did this cost us? £69 for us both and the dog bed and breakfast and our total bar bill that included 3 bottles of wine.... £37.50.

If you check out the pics on his website you know what your coming too....it may not be everyones taste. We thought it may not even be ours...but we decided to live on the edge! And we are glad we did. Dont give too much stock to the ch4 show, try it out for yourself. We will certainly be back!

And we where. After leaving after our overnight stay to travel on to our 'actual' holiday we rebooked for the return leg of the journey...initially for a one night stay but in the end we stayed for two! And yes we will return again!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
19  Thank C8767FLjayb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018

This is a magical gem of quirkiness. It was like stepping back in time. Loved the drinks trolley and the honesty box. The host was larger than life character who made us a cup of tea on arrival and made us feel welcome and at home. The views are spectacular. The bedroom was exquisite down to every last detail, there were even fluffy bath robes to use. Breakfast was excellent with John (the proprietor) being attentive and when we asked more about the history of his establishment he was happy to share the history and we were well and truly inspired by his upcycling/recycling initiatives as part of the design and build and also helping local communities by employing locally. Absolutely loved our stay

Room tip: Fantastic views, with really comfy beds,
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Monicat30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Lovely room, quirky but very comfortable. Host truly quirky and a fantastic host. Made to feel instantly welcome nothing to much trouble. Would recommend it to my friends. Breakfast by the way wonderful.
Well done John
Mike and Mary
oswestry

Room tip: They are all good
Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

I cannot recommend this place highly enough. Probably my new favourite B&B in the whole world! Such an individual identity, cosy and homely, a true gem in the middle of nowhere. It's like staying with long lost family! John will make you feel truly welcome in his own eccentric style and you will love it. And on top of that, you will have the best night's sleep in the cosy beds in this incredible building. So peaceful, on the hillside with the most stunning view across the Pennines. I love this place. Take a copy of Wuthering Heights with you!

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rebecca N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews