We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quality accommodation with charming hosts”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Piggery

The Piggery Holiday Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Piggery Holiday Cottage
Contemporary and luxurious toiletries provided for you at The Piggery Winter in Marsden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
The Piggery Holiday Cottage
Contemporary and luxurious toiletries provided for you at The Piggery
Winter in Marsden
Contemporary fully fitted kitchen
Spacious lounge with beautiful vaulted ceiling
Marsden Moor
Relax with a drink or have a BBQ on the upper patio area of The Piggery
Sunrise at Cop Hill
Visitor Centre Marsden and Canal
River walk at Tunnel End Marsden
Green Lane Farm and The Piggery Holiday Cottage
Bedroom
Lounge
Spacious Bathroom
Double Bedroom
Towards Marsden from The Piggery Cop Hill
Enter a caption for your photo
Garden to Front
Downstairs Studio
Bedroom Chair
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Amanda A
Bas-en-Basset, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Quality accommodation with charming hosts”
Reviewed 4 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We spent a very wet and windy week in the beautiful Piggery near Slaithewaite. The owners Carole and Stefan, who live in the adjoining farmhouse, were perfect hosts, quick to respond to our booking and very friendly and easy going. They were there to welcome us; there to answer any query, but otherwise left us to ourselves. They had really thought of everything in the house, and apart from a brief problem with the otherwise luxurious underfloor heating (immediately addressed by Carole and Stefan), we were toasty warm as the storms raged outside. Beautifully clean; magnificent views; very comfortable beds and sofas, (except for the sofa bed in the downstairs studio which was less comfortable) and a powerful shower. There is a lovely pub five minutes walk away, where we had a great family reunion. I would highly recommend this property, and hope we can return one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely friendly welcome - fantastic views
Liked least: The sofa bed was the only criticism
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2016
Thank you so much for your excelllent review. It was a great pity about the weather but we hope to welcome you here again in the not too distant future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CazmacMun...
Munich
2 reviews
“Excellence”
Reviewed 14 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed here over Christmas the accommodation is first class I cannot stress how nice it is, we had everything we needed to host two dinner parties. The fixtures and furnishings are comfortable and very tasteful. Carol is very charming and helpful. She had prepared the cottage for us complete with a Christmas tree and gifts of a fine bottle of champers and a beautiful box of Xmas biscuits.
It is essential to have a car due to the location which is quite lovely with breathtaking views of the Yorkshire countryside and probably a great base if you like walking as a pass time, as we were visiting friends and family we did not take advantage of this option, plus the weather was not conducive to such activities.
I highly recommend this place there is absolutely nothing to complain about 5*

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jan 2016
'Thank you so much for this wonderful review! It really means a lot to us that all our guests are comfortable and enjoy their surroundings. It's a great shame about the weather but we are pleased that you were able to get to see all your family and friends. We look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy the walking maybe in the Spring or Summer months.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suemho1
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 24 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

What wonderful views. The accommodation was lovely with everything we needed. We had some splendid walks, lots of hills and good views all around. The pub about five minutes walk away provided very good food. The owners were very friendly and helpful and we would have not hesitation in recommending this property

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Nothing. We liked it all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra J
Harleston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfection! A wonderful base from which to organise our daughter's wedding”
Reviewed 25 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The cottage had every possible comfort and requirement. Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts Carole and Stefan. As we were organising our daughter's wedding it was a fairly stressful time, the cottage with it's magnificent views, excellent cleanliness, decor and facilities became our haven. We also had extended family members staying with us in the accommodation at various intervals including our young grandson for one night (a cot and cuddly teddy bear were thoughtfully provided) and they too were blown away by the Piggery.
Thank you so much Carole and Stefan, we hope to visit again soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Too much to list!
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2015
Your kind comments are very much appreciated. We do strive to make your visit a wonderful experience and it was lovely to meet you all. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie C
Halifax, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage in serene location”
Reviewed 17 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We had a lovely two week stay at The Piggery whilst our home was undergoing renovations. The cottage is beautifully decorated, and every comfort has been considered. The location is stunning and takes you away from the stresses and strains of daily life. We very much enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend The Piggery for anyone looking to explore the local area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful location and beautiful views.
Liked least: Nothing comes to mind
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2015
Many thanks for your review of The Piggery. I am glad that we could offer a little relaxation whilst your renovation project was going on and hope that all is now back to normal and you can put your feet up!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 154
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing