We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely steam railway! 🚂”

Kirklees Light Railway
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Travel behind Hawk, Owl, Fox, Badger, Jay, Katie or Sian, our friendly little engines here at the home of Yorkshire’s Great Little Steam Trains. Climb aboard for a scenic journey along our 15” narrow-gauge railway, through the beautiful South Pennine foothills to our Shelley terminus where you can enjoy the panoramic views of the surrounding area. Visit Shelley Station Tea Room for refreshments or enjoy our large picnic area whilst the kids play on the outdoor playground. At Clayton West, the outdoor play area is ideal for children to ‘let off some steam’ whilst the adults browse the gift and model shop. The café serves hot and cold food and drink whenever the railway is open. Special events include: A Day Out with Thomas, Easter Eggspress, Steam & Diesel Gala, Halloween Ghost Trains and the Santa Specials. We cater for groups, school visits, children's birthdays, private functions and we also offer Driver Experience Courses. Open throughout the year - see our website for details.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Thank you for a great day out yesterday! My son loved it. Very reasonable prices in the cafe, tasty food, great new playground at Clayton West was a big hit! Return steam train journey to Shelley. Another playground and cafe. Mini train journey around the pond. Thomas treat from the shop. I didn't realise until later in the day that the train tickets valid all day and not just a return journey. A great sunny day out!

Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KirkleesLightRailway, Marketing Assistant at Kirklees Light Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi Marie

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. It sounds like you and your son had a wonderful time with us at the railway Yes, indeed, tickets on a standard (non-special event) day allow unlimited rides up and down the line all day so you can go back and forth as many times as you please!

It's so good to hear your kind words and also fab to know the new playground is getting the tumbs up from our younger visitors.

Look forward to welcoming you back to the railway in the future.

Best wishes, Erin @ KLR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (501)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"clayton west"
in 63 reviews
"bouncy castle"
in 64 reviews
"face painting"
in 41 reviews
"donkey rides"
in 37 reviews
"fat controller"
in 30 reviews
"thomas the tank engine"
in 27 reviews
"shelley station"
in 27 reviews
"main station"
in 16 reviews
"santa train"
in 15 reviews
"santa express"
in 13 reviews
"sand pit"
in 12 reviews
"steam engine"
in 11 reviews
"return journey"
in 10 reviews
"play area"
in 40 reviews
"north pole"
in 7 reviews
"driving experience"
in 6 reviews
"thomas train"
in 7 reviews
Filter

27 - 31 of 502 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018

We took our eighteen month old granddaughter on Easter Saturday and what a lovely time the whole family had! We arrived at Clayton West and we visited a carriage set up for crafting an Easter Hat. She enjoyed the activity and we left the hat to dry. We then took the train (with allocated seating) to Shelley - a 25 minute journey. On arrival, the children were invited to find carrots to take to the Easter Bunny who exchanged them for a small chocolate egg. Also there was a cafe and we had a welcome cup of tea as it was such a cold day! There was face painting, egg and spoon races and a small carriage ride available. We then took the return train ride to Clayton West. The whole experience cost £38 for 2 adults, 2 concessions and our granddaughter. We will definitely visit again - maybe the Thomas event.

Thank Cosmo494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KirkleesLightRailway, Marketing Assistant at Kirklees Light Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely review of our Easter Eggspress event. We're very happy to hear that the whole family had a wonderful day even if it was a little on the cold and wet side!

Our staff and volunteers try extremely hard to make our visitors' experience at the railway a good one and it's good to know we hit the mark with you.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best wishes, Erin @ KLR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

Definitely a fun place to go, but probably best if youngsters are with you. We visited as a family group and there were fourteen of us with four youngsters and a baby.

Pleasant café with friendly staff and prompt service. Coffee/tea, cakes and light meals are available in a simple but spacious café area with a small shop and ticket office at one end. I had a bacon buttie, chips and a coffee at reasonable prices.

The trains leave from immediately outside the café with easy level access..

There is a good sized car park.

There is also an area set aside with swings etc. for the children. It has recently been refurbished and was a hit with ours.

There are various ticket prices for family groups, concessions etc. The ticket lasts all day so if you wish you can keep repeating the journey.

The train ride takes about 25 mins and goes to a Shelley Station. The track is mainly elevated affording views on either side for a large part of the journey. There is a good tunnel which was a hit with the youngsters. The carriages are small - we filled one with our party - with bench seats and a door to each set of seats. At Sheeley there is a café and you can stay here and return on a later train. We elected to alight while the small steam engine was expertly moved to the other end of the train by the engine driver, Frank. We then returned the 25 mins or so journey to the start.

Thank JamesS627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KirkleesLightRailway, Marketing Assistant at Kirklees Light Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Thank you for your lovely, thorough and comprehensive review! We're happy to hear that you and your family had a fun day out at the railway and we hope to welcome you back at some point in the future.

Best wishes, Erin @ KLR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

had a great time with the grandchildren today , new play area got the thumbs up from them , loved the train journey ( ticket lasts all day ) café great for a snack and all the staff warm and friendly , the kids loved doing the trail and the badge as a reward , well worth a visit

Thank sheilac358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KirkleesLightRailway, Marketing Assistant at Kirklees Light Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Thanks for your lovely review! We're so.pleased to hear that both you and your grandchildren had a fab day out with us. It sounds like you certainly got full use of our facilities and it's particularly pleasing to know the new playground is a big hit (we think it's amazing too!).
Best wishes, Erin @ KLR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

Was looking forward to taking my grandson who is three but it lacked ambience, it was very quiet , although the canteen was ok , basic but freshly cooked food , staff were pleasant and some part of Kirklees railways run by volunteers. It could do with cash injection to make it more interesting for young children.

Thank saroj555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KirkleesLightRailway, Marketing Assistant at Kirklees Light Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2018

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry you found the railway lacking in ambience - this isn't usually the case! - but it seems most visitors are choosing to stay at home, wrapped up warm in the current snowy weather!

We do re-invest all income back into the railway, and our newest development is the addition of a brand new adventure playground at Clayton West. Unfortumately, the completion of this has been delayed due to the quite frankly awful weather we've experienced this winter! In better weather, we also have the playground and sandpit at Shelley and once we enter springtime properly, the bouncy castle also makes an appearance for our younger visitors alongside the miniature railway around the duck pond.

Our volunteers are the back-bone of our railway and, without them, we simply wouldn't be able to run so thank you for taking the time to acknowledge them.

I do hope you'll consider coming to see us again, perhaps when the sun is shining bright and your grandson can fully embrace all we have to offer.

Best wishes, Erin @ KLR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kirklees Light Railway also viewed

Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Kirklees Light Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing