We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous large cottage in peaceful village”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Church Street

3 Church Street
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
3 Church Street
Lounge with wood burner Dining Room again with wood burner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
29 reviews
3 Church Street
Lounge with wood burner
Dining Room again with wood burner
Well equipped kitchen
Double master bedroom with ensuite
Ensuite
Twin room
Courtyard garden
Lion Inn Timberscombe
Timberscombe
Valley of Timberscombe
Church at Timberscombe
Snow Drop Valley
Dunster Castle
Riding at Selworthy
Minehead Beach
West Somerset Railway
Sunset at Minehead
Tour of Britain September
Lynton and Lynmouth
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Minehead, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Orchid134
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous large cottage in peaceful village”
Reviewed 12 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

A beautiful two bedroom cottage with large living areas and a lovely sunny courtyard garden at the rear. Both the lounge and dining rooms have log burners. The pictures do not do it justice. The owner has thought of everything you would need in self catering accommodation.
The cottage is set in a lovely quiet village with a post office and friendly pub. There are lots of walks from the village with fabulous views. This is the prefect base to visit the Exmoor national park for walking and pony treking. There are lovely beaches: Minehead has a long sandy beach. Portland Weir, Lynmouth, Lynton, Dunster, Blue Anchor are all lovely places to visit. Taunton is a good town for shopping. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
546bessie
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Everything was perfect!”
Reviewed 25 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

All round, we had a really great holiday. The cottage is lovely, it looks very small on the outside but inside there is so much room and the moment we walked in we said, we could live here! The lounge was large and the furniture comfortable, we didn't need a fire but there was one if we needed it. We used the Sky television at night with access to lots of channels. The dining room looked out onto the small garden where we sat in the mornings and had breakfast. The kitchen had a large electric oven and hob that required a bit of getting used to, use gas at home. The bathroom and shower room were all very clean and the bedrooms very roomy with plenty of wardrobe space and cupboards for clothes. The cottage is nestled in a delightful and peaceful village and not far from beautiful Dunster, the coast and Somerset's lovely walking country. 3 small things that would enhance the cottages facilities are instructions on how to use the electric oven and hob, a bigger frying pan with a few more saucepans and maybe less brochures on places to visit which were all crammed into a file and included places like Paignton and Cornwall that are too far away to visit in a week. What would be helpful is personally typed information about places of interest locally including information on the walks that can be enjoyed around the area. Other than that - thank you Sandra for allowing us to share your cottage it was just purrfect!.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Sorry but really didn't dislike anything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire...
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 6 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed in this delightful cottage over Christmas. We wanted a traditional dog-friendly property with a log fire and a pub close by, and we could not have picked a more perfect property! The cottage is much larger on the inside than it looks from the outside. It was a bit chilly when we first arrived but I think the property may have been empty for a couple of weeks before we got there. It soon warmed up once we'd got the log burner going (had to clean it out first) and stayed warm throughout our stay with the help of storage heaters throughout. There are 2 good sized bedrooms, thoughtfully furnished, though I would suggest supplying a couple of extra blankets or thicker duvets for the winter months. There is a lovely big bathroom off the main bedroom and a smaller shower room next to the second bedroom. The kitchen was well equipped and we managed to cook Christmas dinner, once we'd figured out how to work the induction hob! There is no dishwasher which is something we did miss and would recommend the owners consider adding if possible. There were plenty of pots and pans, utensils and crockery. Some of the cutlery has seen better days though. The garden was great for our needs as we just needed somewhere to let our dog out occasionally and it was fully enclosed so he could have a good walk round and sniff without us worrying. The village of Timberscombe is lovely. The pub is just 2 doors away from the cottage, and was very welcoming - dogs allowed. They weren't serving food while we were there. There is a church opposite and we went to the crib service on Christmas Eve where our youngest was delighted to be a shepherd and lead a real live donkey round the church! There are no shops aside from a small post office. However Dunster and Minehead are very close where you can find shops, restaurants and supermarkets. We had a couple of lovely walks from the village, through fields and across rivers. We would definitely recommend this property and really appreciated the little touches that had been added by the owners such as Christmas decorations and supplying necessities that you tend to forget, like toilet rolls, towels and washing up liquid! We hope to return again to have more time to explore the area and enjoy the peace and quiet sitting by the fire!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The log burner
Liked least: No dishwasher
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha L
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wish we had more time!”
Reviewed 3 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

The cottage was lovely, clean, spacious, comfortable and well equipped (with unexpected niceties such as loo roll, bin liners, coffee and washing up liquid), and in a lovely village.

The booklets with the walks in were extremely helpful, with their descriptions you could not miss a thing, and they were very accurate, we didn't need to use our map at all.

Key things to note;
if you are planning to walk (the dog) at night, you need a torch as the roads are not well lit.
There is a large Tesco on the way to Minehead, so it is not hard to get bits and bobs at all
A lot of places are closed in the winter, but there was a lovely tea shop in Porlock that served home made food and also allowed dogs, and a lovely deli in Dunster that served local cheeses!!
Get your scouts fire lighting badge before attempting this in a cottage - we novices smoked the place out on more than one occassion!

Thank you for a lovely break, I only wish it could have been for longer!

Tasha, Paul & Scooby (the dog)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The fire was a treat
Liked least: The local pub was not serving food
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suma S
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Spacious cottage in a lovely village setting.”
Reviewed 2 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

It is a very nice sized cottage, especially for a family.Located in an excellent location for exploring exmoor and north devon. And minehead is just couple of miles away, so very convinient for shopping as well. Sandra and James were very helpful. Only issue was the garden is laid out with pebbles, so my boys couldnt play much.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing