We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“wonderful stay in an excellent place”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of crockham lodge

The cottage overlooks the west facing courtyard garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The cottage overlooks the west facing courtyard garden
Driveway in winter spring time
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
The cottage overlooks the west facing courtyard garden
Driveway in winter
spring time
spring time
Double room en-suite
Double room shower
Double room en-suite
Double room
Double room bed
Twin room shower
Twin room toilet
Twin room hand basin
Twin room
Twin room
Sitting area with kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Newbury, Berkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
swerr
Kfar Saba, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wonderful stay in an excellent place”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in Crockham lodge for 5 nights. This is a really lovely place, away from the hustle and bustle. Perfectly equipped, with everything you need. Paul was very hospitable and friendly. I can recommend this place to stay with family.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigFatBud...
Port Talbot
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Breath of Fresh Air”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I can be picky about places the Spouse & I have stayed at. I have been astonished that people give 5 stars to accommodation, that at best, scrapes 3.
However, Crockham Lodge is truly lovely. Situated in the country, you will need a car. The peace and tranquility is second to none.
Crockham Lodge ticks all the right boxes. It is affordable, clean, comfortable, with two ensuiite rooms, good facilties and a helpful Owner.
We were also pleased the canine members of our family were allowed to stay too.
So all in all, a big thumbs up!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace & Quiet
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobP57
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent quiet cottage”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We used the cottage for a long weekend fot a family wedding in Ansover. Whilst it is not particularly easy to find it was well worth the search - An oasis of peace in our noisy world, Deer in a nearby paddock looking at us with interest as we took the dog for a morning stroll. It is very comfortable and is well set up, One of things that impressed us was the generosity of the owners with little touches that set it apart, Leaving milk in the fridge so you could get a drink after a long drive, Toiletries in the bathroom - just the little touches, a few flowers in a vase.. I know individually that may not sound much but they made us feel welcomed guests not just !Clients" which is our experience elsewhere.
If you are looking for a cottage this one is great and I recommend it without reservation

Bob Percey

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Best sleep I've had for ages
Liked least: What is not to like!!!!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C1Wat
Heywood, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely comfortable cottage in a very peaceful area.”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage is very comfortable and the tranquility of the area is lovely. So relaxing to sit and watch all the little birds on the patio, including robins. Also I was surprised at the deer outside the front of the cottage on two separate days. I particularly liked that the bedrooms were not together, but on either side of the livingroom/kitchen, both with their own toilet and bath/shower. I would like to say thank you to the Owners for a very comfortable stay.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark-Brit...
Seoul
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delightful place to stay”
Reviewed 11 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Firstly I am not one of those people who writes 10/10 for everything. I have made plenty of mediocre reviews in the past. This place - Crockham Lodge, however, deserves a 10/10! Everything was excellent. Location, quiet, peaceful countryside - even a friendly rabbit appeared every day. Nearby a deer came into the road. The accommodation itself was comfortable, two decent bedrooms each ensuite - comfortable beds. An important thing for me is internet, the free wi-fi worked well from the main bedroom/ Lounge and kitchen are well furnished with everything you need for self catering. The place was perfectly clean and in good condition. A very pleasant garden with a BBQ kit available. The owners are perfect hosts - there if you need them or want a friendly chat but never imposing. Value for money is nothing less than outstanding. A big "thank you" to them well deserved. We stayed for just 5 days and wish it was longer. A car is necessary, easy access to main roads, there is a local pub within reasonable walking distance (probably around 2/3 mile). To get there, a satnav finds the place well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality
Liked least: Nothing to complain about!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2013
Thank you for the review and we hope to see you again in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing