We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Lunch”
Review of The Castle

The Castle
Ranked #57 of 206 Restaurants in Newbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 7 - USD 39
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Recently reopened and refurbished by the team behind The Red House at Marsh Benham, The Castle is open every day for breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea & dinner.
Reviewed 27 November 2017 via mobile

Our first visit to The Castle since it has been refurbished. Certainly a massive improvement on the previous decor and great to see it open again backed by parent pub The Red House in Marsh Benham.

We visited for Sunday Lunch as a family group. It was very pleasant and the service was attentive and friendly but the lunch was unremarkable and a little disappointing at £15 per head.

We also had deserts. The cheesecake was delicious. The sticky toffee pudding was nice but it was a shame it did not come with cream or ice cream. We had to pay to have a scoop added to each portion which it benefited from greatly.

We will continue to visit the pub as we are keen to support a local establishment but the primary focus is definitely now as a restaurant first and pub second.

Thank textlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent L, Owner at The Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Thank you for your visit and for your review. We appreciate the feedback. I'm sorry your dessert did not come with ice cream - it should have done, and I can only apologise for the error. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 69 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2017

We loved The Red House at Marsh Benham, so were looking forward to the opening of The Crown. The food was tasty and good choices. Service, friendly and attentive.
Nice to see they do breakfast and a lovely looking afternoon tea.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kut2kate2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent L, Owner at The Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Thank you for visiting us and for taking the time to leave this lovely review - we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017

Delighted to confirm that this brilliant Pub / Restaurant has now re-opened with new Owners and a stunning, fresh new look. Called in last weekend to find it really busy - great bar atmosphere and the restaurant area was also really busy. We were made to feel very welcome and stayed for a late lunch - lovely, interesting menu catering for all tastes - I had a brilliant sandwich (called the "Italian Job") and my partner had 3 Tapas style dishes - really different and beautifully presented. I'm told they are doing food all day, every day - including Breakfast !

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LoveaLunch55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent L, Owner at The Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Thank you for this lovely review - we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017

Enjoyed a very pleasant lunch at this recently re-opened pub. Good choice of food at a reasonable price.

New decor doesn't convey a 'pub' atmosphere ( shabby chic / flagstones probably more appropriate) but didn't detract from the meal.

Main restaurant area is better place to be seated for a sense of occasion.

Will definitely return as food and service was all we could wish for.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Papabob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent L, Owner at The Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Thank you for visiting The Castle and for leaving this lovely review - we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

This establishment has recently re opened after several months of being closed
A local business man who also has The Red House in Marsh Benham has reopened The Castle after doing a full refurbishment

It’s not disappointing as the decor is warm and comfortable on a winters evening and presented very clean with nice table arrangements.

We ordered roast dinners of beef and chicken the portions where plentiful and hot with a good taste of home cooking with no frozen items found which is rare in busy establishments

Can not complain about food in any way and the staff where professional and polite and made us feel welcome
Not a lot more you can ask for as I had my three year old with me and they sorted a side plate out for her too .

This could be a pub that will do well In The newbury area providing it keeps producing good home cooked food
Plenty of car parking too both sides of the road
Will visit again

1  Thank Malachy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent L, Owner at The Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Thanks for visiting us and for leaving this lovely review - we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Castle also viewed

 
Newbury, Berkshire
Newbury, Berkshire
 

Been to The Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing