We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“give it a try”
Review of The Ivanhoe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ivanhoe Hotel
Ranked #91 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 June 2017

we had room 6,spacious room with balcony,clean, bed was very comfy,en-suite was clean and a decent size.staff were very helpful and pleasent.full english in the morning and what a platefull(be hungry) cooked just right,had evening meal rump steak,lovely but a little pricey,all in all agood stay AND we will return,the beer is pretty good as well,we stayed mid- week,quiet,weekend a bit more noisy.

Room Tip: room 6,very good,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank terence w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeannette L, Owner at The Ivanhoe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Thank you for your review - It is lovely to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2017 via mobile

Not been here for a while and found that the menu is the same. Could do with a change and maybe a few more specials. Staff were very polite and helpful. The food took around an hour to arrive which is far too long. However it was very nice when it did arrive. The gents toilets need some attention. They smell awful, there's no hand wash and the drier didn't work!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank scott1421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2017 via mobile



We were visiting the Sealife Centre just up the road and decided to pop in for lunch after our visit.

Once inside, the pub was old and tired, the toilets had a distinct musty smell about them.
Staff unfriendly & miserable. Did not come over and ask if everything was ok until clearing the table when we were ready to leave. Plenty of choice on the menu but rather overpriced for a meal that was just average, not very impressed at all.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank JackPoppy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017

The room was old and tired. Torn wallpaper and dirty carpets. Sticky floor in the bathroom. No mattress protector between sheet and mattress. Tiny TV. Broken toilet roll holder. The handrail up the stairs was sticky and the doors and paintwork in public areas were dirty. We unplugged the kettle to use the plug socket and this also stopped the bathroom light from working. The room looked nothing like the ones on the website and did not match the rating given. The bedroom and bathroom both need a complete upgrade. The location for the Open Air Theatre is good and the staff were very nice. For the price paid it was very poor value.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Ploutarchou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017

I recently went with my cousin for an evening meal, we were very pleasantly surprised to find Whitebait on the menu, no contest for starter. We both opted for the steak & ale pie, which was delicious and the added bonus was being able to order a small portion. There are not many places do this, but it's great when it happens, as we find the smaller portion is ample for our appetites. I have been here many times for the Sunday Carvery, which is a treat to behold every time, but this was my first time for an evening meal, and it wont be my last. The staff are always very helpful and thoughtful. Well done Ivanhoe.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank gwynt123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
2.9 km away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
141 reviews
6.6 km away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
3.5 km away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,544 reviews
1.9 km away
The Albert Inn
The Albert Inn
#52 of 183 in Scarborough
129 reviews
10.9 km away
Orchard Lodge
Orchard Lodge
#1 of 1 in Flixton
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ivanhoe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ivanhoe Hotel

Address: Scalby Mills Road, Scarborough YO12 6RW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: $69 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run pub and eatery, providing bed and breakfast in our rooms above, most of which are en suite. We serve good quality home cooked food Monday to Thursday 12.00 To 8.30Pm, until 9.00Pm on Friday & Saturday and we serve a 4 roast carvery dinner 12noon till 4pm every Sunday. We have a large car park, are in close proximity to many local attractions and the bus (3a) into Scarborough town shopping centre, stops right outside the Ivanhoe on a regular basis. We are only 5 minutes walk from the sea front and sea life centre, directly opposite the North Cliff golf course, and in walking distance to open air theatre and the oriental peasholme park. Free wi fi & Bt Sports is available in bar and public areas. We have outside garden seating and smoking area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Ivanhoe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing