We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Castle By The Sea
Ranked #32 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Stayed at The Castle By The Sea with friends, in October. John and Janet made us very welcome.
The room was warm and clean. A door from the room led to the terrace with lovely views over the bay.
Breakfast was the best I have had with plenty of choice.
Look forward to returning.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank topseyr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    37
    3
    5
    2
See reviews for
72
94
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We stayed here recently in a family room which was really lovely with a very smart leather sofa to relax and have a cuppa on. John and Janet were very friendly and made us feel
really at home. The breakfast was most enjoyable and nothing was a trouble. We thouroughly enjoyed our overnight stay and would certainly visit again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenMants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

We stayed here on the 29th October for one night. We had a family room which was on the ground floor it was a big room with a double and twin beds, the room did not have a window but a door which led round to a roof terrace with lovely views over they bay, not having a window was not an issue as really you are only in the room to sleep. It was clean and tidy. the breakfast next morning was good and we were offered more toast, tea and coffee. the owners were very welcoming and friendly and offered advise on where to have lunch. Would stay again. And a positive is that when trying to find a bed & breakfast most had a minimum 2 night stay and the castle were more than happy for us to book just one night.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a_ashton990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

My partner and I visited Scarborough for the weekend and decided to go B&B. The Castle by the Sea was chosen due to the good web page advertising what looked like an excellent standard hotel. Unfortunately the reality was a little different!
I would like to say though that the owners were nice and only too happy to help.
We arrived to the facade of a run down building. The outside areas are peeling paint and the windows on the conservatory which is the entrance to the hotel are rotten and need replacing. On entering the hotel we were led through a large dining room which looked fine. On exiting the dining room to the hallway it became apparent that the place had not had a lick of paint or a good clean on the inside for sometime. There was a distinct musty smell, which on entering into our bedroom got worse.
Our bedroom was sold to us as a 'kingsize 4 poster bed with sea views'. This was actually true but when comparing the lovely picture of the room on the website with the 4 poster bed, complete with drapes to the 4 poster bed sadly lacking in drapes and not very cosy it was a dissapointment. The room had ill fitting furniture, with dirty skirting boards and a general 1970's unloved style to it. The bathroom consisted of a peach coloured suite, which again had clearly seen better days along with a shower cubicle with an almost rusty crome tray to put your shower requirements in and ingraded dirt in the shower tray, which leaked. The whole room was run down and just not what you would expect and certainly nothing near the web page photo's advertising it. The cost of this luxurious room was £105 for the night and so I was therefore thinking that we had been somewha tripped off!
The breakfast in the morning was good though. Full English and was a nice quality.
This place could really be made into something special but requires substantial investment in order to do it. The views are wonderful and therefore if the owners could find the money to invest I am sure they would recoup in years to come and on the recommendations of people wanting to stay again. Sadly, if this is not done soon then I can't see the hotel operating for much longer. The cleanliness of the place also needs addressing urgently.

Room Tip: I would not advise people to stay here personally due to it being overpriced for what it currently i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank pejko123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2011

John and Janet made us welcome during our stay. Cream tea offered on arrival (home made scones too) and use of garage no problem. The location is magnificent and room views exemplary. Our room faced on to the north shore but the garden views from other rooms viewed are also picturesque and desirable. Breakfast was delicious. Although the hotel is described incorrectly as being "cheap" on the google preview this is an unusual and tasteful place to stay and use as a base. Due to its location the hotel is extremely quiet

Room Tip: Choose a room with either garden or sea views and you will be equally delighted
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.0 km away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#15 of 28 in Scarborough
338 reviews
0.3 km away
Tall Storeys Guest House
Tall Storeys Guest House
#24 of 184 in Scarborough
155 reviews
0.2 km away
Miricia
Miricia
#38 of 184 in Scarborough
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Helaina
The Helaina
#12 of 184 in Scarborough
488 reviews
0.4 km away
Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough
Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough
#10 of 184 in Scarborough
518 reviews
0.2 km away
Stuart House Hotel
Stuart House Hotel
#36 of 184 in Scarborough
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle By The Sea

Property: The Castle By The Sea
Address: Cottage-By-the-Sea Mulgrave Place, Scarborough YO11 1HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price range (per night): $97 - $162
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Castle By The Sea Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing