We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Buttercross”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Buttercross

main bedroon with on suite wc and basin, sea view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
main bedroon with on suite wc and basin, sea view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
27 reviews
main bedroon with on suite wc and basin, sea view
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Scarborough, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Noel G
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Buttercross”
Reviewed 28 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We had a 2 night stay at the Buttercross and had a great time. The house is well presented and very clean. Supplied with all you need to make your stay very comfortable. In a great position and just a very short walk to the beach in the quiet old town. We'll definitely be back to stay again soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
David G
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Buttercross is excellent value,great location and enjoyable to stay in”
Reviewed 20 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Liked the house and location very much,and recommend it,but found a few niggly little problems.
The heating was sealed so that we could not adjust.If it had been very cold during the day we would have had more to complain about.As it was: it left us a bit too hot at some points.
There were no extra light bulbs left,and so one of the bedrooms had no light when the bulb went.
Although it was our fault that we didn't read the details correctly we did have to buy some towels.
I think these days that most properties do provide these

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Nov 2016
Hi David
I should have told you that I can change heat setting and times with a text message (will write that down with Wi-Fi details in future)
heating is set at 21 and sealed because some people have set the heating at 35 and timbers expands causing damage to plaster on walls
I don't leave light bulbs because the ceilings are high and standing on a chair is not recommended
I did say any problems let me know, I am happy to come down and change a bulb, rather than a guest having an accident
hope to see you again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather H
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Amazing house with an amazing host”
Reviewed 19 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Booked a weekend stay here and had a fantastic stay. Mike left great instructions for the house and local area. We only had one slight niggle,and that was down to us not Mike, we still have an older boiler at home not a combi boiler, so werent sure how everything worked, finally figured out, the faster the water comes out the hot tap/shower,the hotter it is, which is why we had a couple of head scratching moments wondering why the cold water tap in the shower didnt work,but we figured it out, I wasnt going to disturb Mike to ask him something like that,!. He works very hard and shouldnt be disturbed to ask things a grown up can figure out on their own.
We took our dog, so we took her own bed for the kitchen , for night time.and her rug for the living room. helps to protect this lovely home,and will stop other peoples complaints, if you are taking a dog,your dog would normally have its own bed so just take the bed with you if possible.
Mike provides games for children, buckets and spades, a ball for the beach.nets for crabbing.all cleaning products including washing up liquid, a tea towel a couple of hand towels, hand wash in the bathroom, a bbq. all clean and tidy bedding, and iron and ironing board. hoover , sweeping brush, dustpan and brush,high chair if needed and I think I saw a travel cot,what more could you possibly ask for.
When we arrived, Mike was polite and charming,a perfect host. He saw us pull up and was waiting at the door for us.he is absolutely lovely. Our only regret is he gets booked up very quickly, which shows how lovely this house is, There are keys in all the bedroom windows, so we took them out of the children.s rooms while we were there and put them back just before we left.
If anyone complains about this house, they are the sort of people who would find something to moan at, no matter where they go. it was a lovely house in a great location.Perfect, see you again soon Mike

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: having to come home :)
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2016
pleasure to have people like yourselves staying
its not a business where you make lots of money, I could do that by selling the property, but I want people to have a nice holiday in Scarborough and for the children to have happy memories,
like I have, having travelled from York to Scarborough with my late grandparents
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernie904
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Have already rebooked for next year”
Reviewed 29 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We arrived on the 12th Sep in pouring rain. Mick could not have been more helpful. He helped to carry in our luggage. Even received text from Mick later on in the holiday to say he would come & put the bin out on bin day. Cottage had everything you need for a pleasant & enjoyable holiday. Shops, sea front & beach within close walking distance. 2 pubs on doorstep & local shop just across the road. Would definitely recommend this cottage & to anyone who gives negative remarks all I can say is, "You're hard to please"

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The situation of the cottage & the owners quick response to any queries
Liked least: There was nothing not to like
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing