We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely spot, easy journey to Scarborough and...”
other travellers have booked this property
The Cottage Complex
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Cottage Complex
Harwood Cottage from the Outside Bathroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
The Cottage Complex
Harwood Cottage from the Outside
Bathroom
Sitting Area
Sitting Area view from the Staircase
Kitchen
Master Bedroom
The grounds you are free to walk around
The grounds you are free to walk around
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Scarborough, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
PoorOldSo...
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely spot, easy journey to Scarborough and Whitby”
Reviewed 13 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This is a nice little cottage, very clean and comfy. Any issues by previous reviewer re mattress and settee have clearly been addressed. There is wifi here you need the code from the owners.
Easy journey to both Scarborough and Whitby, 'park and ride' available in Whitby and recommended (£2 each or £1.50 for concessions and I think a family ticket is also available) however parking is free after 6.00 pm.
The owners were very helpful when we had a problem with our car, there is no mobile signal here at the moment so needed to use their phone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful location
Liked least: Door entry system very frustrating
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2016
Many Thanks for your comments
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billyowl1...
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great weather”
Reviewed 30 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

it said on its website wifi when we booked, when we got there it certainly did not , that was one of the reasons we booked it ,first night the water was hot then ran cold after 20/30 seconds wife went to see them they came over said setting was wrong then 40 mins later it was exactly the same so wife went to see them again said they would come and have a look we are still waiting they never showed the 3 days we were there,the heating actually came on through the night which was very uncomfortable,apart from that it was ok,just really upset about the wifi.will recommend if they get the wifi sorted.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and weather
Liked least: advertised wifi/internet but was not
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2016
Thanks for the comments, apologies for the wifi disappointment, because of the location straight forward wifi is not that easy and we have to have satellite put in which we have experienced teething problems with however now these are rectified.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally B
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutley Fantastic! Will be returning!”
Reviewed 7 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

My stay in the stunning Harwood Dale was one of the best mini breaks I have had!
My self and my partner were very surprised at the major revamp these cottages have had having visited on a previous occasion - it was like a different place - the photos on trip advisor do not do them justice!
Our stay was very cosy, comfy and romantic, the setting is just fantastic and the area - Stunning!!
The hosts were so helpful and friendly and on hand to help in anyway possible.
Cannot wait to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting and the home from home feel!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2016
Thank you Sally, a pleasure to have your stay with us. Look forward to your return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlobeTrek...
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Not So Cosy”
Reviewed 2 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Very attractive one bedroomed cottage with four poster bed but spoiled for us with no heating during the cold October nights between 10 pm - 7.30 am and being unable to light the coal effect gas fire due to only enough gas pressure for the pilot light. Also, we looked forward to long soaks in he bath after a day's strolling in the Dales but this just filled with cold with only the shower to use. A partial refund wouldn't go amiss. There was a portable radio but it wasn't possible to receive any stations at all, on any wavelengths, and just one CD of classical music available. The four poster bed looked great but unfortunately had a lumpy mattress.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The peaceful location.
Liked least: Plumbing and heating situation.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colbayl
Alcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Yorkshire stunning place to see countryside beautifull, restfull location.”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Harwood Cottage, left to our own devices no one came to greet us. Strange! Cottage could do with updating settee and chair very uncomfortable and bed. Cobwebs and flies just left where they fell. Wasn't aware there would be so many dogs, one holiday cottage had 4 dogs. Dog poo left on lawn and dog poo bags left on table in seating area, disgusting.not cleared in the week we stayed. Cottage could look so nice if regularly updated.
Met Cleaner spent more time gossiping than cleaning. Perfect location for Whitby, Scarborough, Robin Hood Bay, Ravenscar, Goathland and Filey!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Easy access to countryside
Liked least: Dogs barking
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2015
Thank you for your comments.
We do try to be there for all our guests but we do like to be flexible on arrival dates to allow flexibility for our guests with their holiday dates there are some times due to other commitments when we can't be there.
Noted your comments and we are sorry to hear on some of them.
We do not normally accept so many dogs but a cottage complex down the road had double booked so we agreed to take the booking for them as a favour, us been neighbours and all that.
All cottages will receive a winter make over and the comments about the sofa and settee in Harwood are noted.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing