We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“great stay had by all”
other travellers have booked this property
Holiday Cottage Complex
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Holiday Cottage Complex
The Cottages from the outside - the cottages are in a L Shape with a courtyard in the middle Kitchen area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
24 reviews
Holiday Cottage Complex
The Cottages from the outside - the cottages are in a L Shape with a courtyard in the middle
Kitchen area
Breakfast Bar
Bathroom
Twin Bedroom
Sitting Area
Master Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Scarborough, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Stewart B
1 review
“great stay had by all”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

this was a lovely cottage superb surroundings very peaceful location had our 11month old grandson with us as well as our son and daughter in law and there was everything we needed for our stay. went to Whitby and York for a day also went on one of the walks we all had a very good holiday would go back again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the area it was so peaceful
Liked least: flies
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2015
Lovely Comments - Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jameschri...
Middlebury, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Proper Yorkshire at its best!”
Reviewed 17 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Really enjoyed our wonderful stay in Dalby Cottage. Perfect location for exploring into the North York Moors. The cottage is in a small complex of cottages and close to the main house on a working farm. Let me say a picture perfect farm with lots of fresh air and wonderful scenery. Highly recommend to families, couples and everyone who wishes to get a true taste of Yorkshire. No wi-fi, but we actually found that to be a plus.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Outside areas
Liked least: spider webs on wooden beams
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2015
Lovely comments - thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennismen...
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“High quality accommodation in an ideal location”
Reviewed 8 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage is fairly isolated but within easy distance of the coastal villages and woodland walks. The isolation means it's nice and quiet and very peaceful. The cottage itself is warm and clean with very comfortable sofas. Kitchen is well equipped. The grounds are well maintained and has an upmarket feel. There's a new looking children's play area and picnic bench which was great.

The only negatives I have is that the bed was very firm which I found uncomfortable, but that's just preference. The shower could do with updating, but hot water so it did the job. There's no wifi and no phone signal either, so be prepared for that!

Overall, I would stay again as the standard of accommodation was excellent and location was ideal for exploring the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sofas.
Liked least: The bed.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2015
Thank you for your comments, we are working on the Wifi issue.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M8rclot
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed 1 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had an excellent time at Dalby Cottage. The accommodation was very clean, well equiped and well presented and to a really good standard. The cottage is excellently located in a nice quiet rural area within a short drive to scarborough, Whitby and surrounding area which makes a great base to stay.

If your taking small children / toddlers I'd recommend taking a stair gate and a bed guard due to the stairs to the bedrooms ( we went prepared ! :o) )

Not really any negatives, but as others have said there is no mobile phone signal or wifi so do any internet research before you go for places to stay and trips out etc..

We would love to stay again and hope to book up for next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2014
Thank you for your comments and we are hoping to get broadband fitted this winter so hopefully it won't be a problem for much longer. Thanks again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kipling68
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
“excellent place to stay”
Reviewed 23 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Lovely cottage to stay in ideal location for travelling to Scarborough and Whitby only little gripe was only contact with the staff was with the cleaner who was very helpful

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2014
Apologies that you felt the staff weren't present. We do live on site and do not have any problems with you popping over to ask questions. We do also try and welcome guest personally but obviously this was not the case with yourselves and I am sorry about this.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing