We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,080)
Filter reviews
2,080 results
Traveller rating
1,621
342
77
27
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,621
342
77
27
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews country house indulgence menu roll top bath new owners the general manager beautiful hotel four poster bed log fire public rooms dining room standard room evening meal night break relaxing stay nothing is too much trouble short break warm welcome
Filter
Updating list...
456 - 461 of 2,080 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2016 via mobile

Stayed one night , rooms ( we had 18) are small but have a good bed and have everything you need. Would be nice to have a nespresso machine or similar and not the instant undrinkable stuff. Service fantastic and breakfast really good. Didnt give it 5 stars because the carpets in the hallways are taped down by ducktape. Some parts look a bit tired but I do understand that maintaining a old place like that will cost a lot of time and money. The hall has outstanding views over the countryside.
Overall we like this place and if we are in the neighbourhood will most definetaly come back.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank TheovanEeden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2016

We stayed for a long weekend with a group of friends in our car club. The hotel is undergoing refurbishment. We stayed in room 14 which had undergone refurbishment to a high standard except for the glass in our en suite bathroom which is badly cracked. The windows frames are old and single glazed. We had to pre-order our meals, we asked for our steaks to be cooked blue. At the first the hotel said that they could not cook rib eye steaks blue but after contacting Anne the Manager the problem was resolved. The food was good with large choices at breakfast. The staff were friendly and professional,

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2016

We stayed here in April 2016. We had a lovely time. Helpful staff, fantastic breakfasts and dinners. Fabulous views. We stayed in the best room which was large overlooking the grounds and had the most comfortable poster bed.

Room Tip: Try the best room.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Feri E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2016

Peacefully situated in its own grounds, this hotel is perfect to return to after spending a day exploring the moors or fabulous beaches in this area. The grounds are well kept and the rhododendrons at this time of year (June) are stunning.
On arrival you are offered a cream tea. We sat on the terrace in the sunshine admiring the view, which was perfect after a 3 hour drive. The hotel itself is Victorian gothic, panelling in all the rooms, wide staircases, huge windows and high ceilings. Our room was light and airy with a four poster bed and the bathroom all marble, with waterfall shower and roll top bath. The only criticism was more shelves needed, not enough room for all toiletries that a couple take with them! However, I was told that this is being addressed.
Food is excellent, both breakfast and dinner offer a wide choice and they will tweak dishes if required. Well stocked bar and cellar.
The staff are all really friendly, offering advice on where to go, what to see, etc. Well worth the long journey!

Room Tip: Room 8 - hughe four poster bed, fab bathroom
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lyndyslatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2016

Stayed for weekend with a car club, beautiful country house hotel full of character, all the bedrooms are different, we had room 9 which was spacious with a very large bathroom with walk in shower as well as a bath, also had underfloor heating which was lovely. Staff were great very obliging tending to our every need. Food was a bit mixed but generally very good, however, I did not enjoy the chicken supreme or the mushroom soup, cooked breakfasts were excellent. Really enjoyed our stay here

Room Tip: Wi fi is a bit weak and wasn't available in our bedroom it's OK in the public rooms
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews