We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Highly recommended”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of River Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
70 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Scarborough, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 70 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
terico
London
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 13 November 2014 for a stay in September 2014

A very attractive and well presented property, garden and surroundings. We were well received and looked after during our stay and our hosts were always willing to do all possible to make our stay enjoyable. The house was very clean and warm with good facilities. A most enjoyable stay and would thoroughly recommend River Cottage.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markjulia...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 10 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Just had a lovely week stay at river cottage, relaxing,peaceful,beautiful cottage and surrounding gardens. The cottage had everything we needed and more. Great welcome pack, and the owners are very helpful and friendly. Great position for visiting the surrounding area and coast. We will return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Plenty of space
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anja v
The Hague, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
“Beautiful cottage!”
Reviewed 8 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We had a really great stay in this wonderful cottage with the family. All the rooms are very beautiful and specious! A great location, very nice hosts. The baguette, butter and the wine was a very nice surprise. We already recommended the cottage to other people. We want to come again in the near future. We had a marvelous time..........thank you!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cjohnfox
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC”
Reviewed 3 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Had a great stay in river cottage with extended family.
Cosy,welcoming and well equipped.
The kids loved looking at the chickens and other animals on the estate.
Tracy the owner was really helpful and was at hand if we needed anything.
Would certainly recommend this property to anyone who wanted a break away in yorkshire coastal areas.
Hope to return soon

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeeGeeEmm
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
299 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Even better than anticipated”
Reviewed 30 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

River Cottage is a perfect location for a family celebration such as ours. Very comfortable in all rooms and extremely well equipped. As such the effort that goes into a self catering celebration is made so much easier. The open plan downstairs area is lovely leading into a large garden and private patio area. The BBQ as pictured is superb.

Secure and ample parking; tolerant too of a pet dog.

We would have no qualms about recommending River Cottage for accommodation at any time of the year. Andrew and Tracey who own the cottage are welcoming and helpful all adding to a great stay.

Only caveat would be if you want night life and convenient bright lights, while Scarborough is not far away there is nothing in East Ayton other than the pub and what appears to be a lovely fish restaurant.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing