We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of River Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
69 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Scarborough, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 69 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sue205
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage!”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed at River Cottage for a long weekend with family. It is a beautiful location and the cottage is very comfortable. The owners welcomed us and the bread, milk and wine were a lovely surprise. The downstairs bedroom and wet room were perfect for my father who has restricted mobility.

Overall condition of the property Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakki A
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Simply The Best Self Catering Cottage You Could Wish For”
Reviewed 7 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We have just had such a wonderful time at River Cottage, super location, tucked away and peaceful, but only a five minute walk to the shop, pub and fish and chip shop along a pretty footpath.

The cottage was immaculately clean and well equipped, warm with the electric heaters and constant hot water from early morning to late at night, a super wood burner with an unlimited supply of logs and a garden down to the river that made you relax just looking at it! On the warmer days sitting out on the terrace looking over the gardens and river was so lovely, and a delightful spot to sit and read the papers.

The owners were welcoming, friendly and very patient with our slightly eager dog who wanted to meet and greet them and their animals each time she saw them.

Good location gave easy road access to Scarborough, Filey and Whtby, plus only an hour to York for the Air Museum and Designer Outlet shopping centre. Beach dog restrictions tended to be 1 May to end of September, so our dog had literally the run of most local beaches as we were outside the main holiday season.

Superb stay - well recommended for a great holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and actual cottage.
Liked least: Having to come home!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel T
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely, welcoming cottage - great location !”
Reviewed 4 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Great stay at this cottage - greeted by owners and welcome gift of bread and wine was very welcome. Lovely quiet country location ! Great base for exploring Scarborough and the East Coast . Would definitely recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim B
Dartford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic, never been to better self catering accomdation”
Reviewed 26 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Top marks for the hosts, location, and local facilities. The Hungary Horse pubs are great for evening meals if you don,t want to cook but the cottage is so well equipped cooking is no problem. Ask your hosts for advice on travel, local eating holes and anything else and you won,t be disappointed

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: everything great
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen B
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superior 5 star cottage - Fantastic location!!!”
Reviewed 6 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Have just stayed at River Cottage for a week with my wife, 2 children aged 1 and 7, father and in-laws.

We were certainly not disappointed as the cottage lives up to it's 5 star rating. All the rooms were superbly presented and we were greeted when we arrived with a bottle of wine which was a nice touch. The downstairs bedroom was great for my elderly father and even better that he had his own wet room.

The grounds to the cottage were absolutely beautiful and it was a treat to sit outside, enjoy the scenery and make use of the purpose built barbecue. My 2 children loved playing in the gardens. We just had to keep an eye on our 1 year old as the river Derwent runs alongside the garden, although this wasn't an issue (although Father (Grandad) managed to go in for a paddle to retrieve his newspaper!!)

The cottage is in a great location, being only 4.5 miles from Scarborough. We also went on daytrips including Whitby, North Yorkshire Forest, Goathland (where Heartbeat was filmed), Bridlington (trip to the John Bull Rock Factory was interesting) and Betton Farm (just up the road from the cottage) was nice, especially the tearooms. We all enjoyed a morning stroll to the local Spar shop to get the daily newspapers!!

We all had a thoroughly great holiday at a fantastic cottage and we will definitely be looking to return again next year and explore the area further as there were many places we did not get to visit this time round.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing