We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Enjoyable”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Hemphaye Cottage

Hemphaye Cottage charming 3 story 17th century character cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hemphaye Cottage charming 3 story 17th century character cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Hemphaye Cottage charming 3 story 17th century character cottage
Dining Room in a Lantern Conservatory
Kitchen
Lots of areas in the garden to relax and unwind
Shared garden with owners
Shared gardens with owners
Patio Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Sidmouth, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Vacatione...
1 review
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed 16 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This has been our 4th visit in Littlecourt Cottages, and once again we have enjoyed our stay. We had a lovely week and we could stroll into Sidmouth being only minutes to the center and the sea. Thank you Selwyn & Geoffrey for making our holidays so enjoyable. With the best wishes from Germany Gisela & Ralph

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2017
Thank you Gisela and Ralph for your very kind review. I do hope we will see you again in the near future. Very glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annie1914...
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect and peaceful location”
Reviewed 28 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Everything within 5 min walk. Owners were friendly and helpful. Cottage very clean and of high standard. Would book again.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2017
Thanks for your kind review Ann we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackiefel...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful oasis”
Reviewed 7 November 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Have now visited this beautiful cottage for three years running and have already booked for next year. The cottage could not be better, characterful while having all modern amenities and is immaculately clean. Everything in Sidmouth is an easy stroll away, including an excellent choice of restaurants, while Hemphaye is in its own oasis of quiet amongst stunning gardens. Selwyn and Geoffrey are perfect hosts, always friendly and helpful. Can't recommend this property highly enough for those who want to get away from busy lives and to ditch the car!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2016
Thanks for your very kind review. We appreciate you booking again and look forward to welcoming you again next year for your 4th visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Progress4...
Watford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Too good not to visit again and again.”
Reviewed 7 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

The cottage and gardens were first class. Design, maintenance, service and attention to detail were outstanding. Have booked a return visit for next year. Just too good not to visit again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to detail in everything
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2016
So pleased we were able to look after you and that you enjoyed the gardens. Looking forward to welcoming you back next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canyamel1...
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“First Class”
Reviewed 6 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Quality accommodation in a lovely quiet area of Sidmouth. Everything was immaculate and luxurious with everything you need. A friendly warm welcome by Selwyn and Hazel. Easily accessible into town, perfect location for our week in Sidmouth. Would highly recommend we have already booked for next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2016
Thanks for your very kind review, it's nice to know we're able to look after our guests. :Looking forward to your return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing