We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dogs not welcome so last visit today”

The Clock Tower Cakery & Restaurant
Ranked #21 of 82 Restaurants in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Clock Tower Cakery & Restaurant stands in an unrivalled position within the award winning Connaught Gardens, Sidmouth right on the stunning Jurassic south coast of East Devon and England. Nearly 30 years on from humble beginnings The Clock Tower has remained a family-owned and run business, we are very proud of our excellent reputation for quality service and delicious, freshly prepared food. Offering breakfast 9.30 am - 12 noon, lunch from 12 noon - 3 pm daily. Almost every day of the year. Everything is locally and ethically sourced, where possible, freshly prepared and cooked with love and passion. We care what we do!
Reviewed 6 April 2018

This used to be such a nice cafe which has had my custom for at least 15 years. Dogs used to be allowed in the conservatory (not the main cafe), caused no bother. If my dog is not welcome then neither are myself or my custom, poor selection of the usually good cakes today too. It really seems like it has been rebranded in a pretentious and frankly uncaring manner I can only say with some regret goodbye

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
8  Thank Squarebear23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheClockTower, Owner at The Clock Tower Cakery & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

We are sorry you did not enjoy your visit recently, although we are wondering when it was as we always have an incredible array of cakes, gateaux and scones in our cafe at any one time, this week has seen well over twenty per day! With over 650 reviews rating us as excellent or very good we are clearly doing something right, and many of them about our glorious cakes. We are an incredibly friendly and professional establishment in a fabulous new and updated environment, it's already a huge hit.

We have made a decision not to allow dogs indoors, (inc the conservatory which is a main part of the cafe and restaurant), after much thought, consideration, and consultation. For many, many reasons, but to name a few; the majority of our customers do not wish to see dogs inside a restaurant; be they on the floor often causing obstructions (sometimes dangerous) in an establishment where our waiters and waitresses are trying to serve hot food and drink safely, in an often packed restaurant. Or being wet, muddy and sandy as they often are, as are some of their owners too; dog walking often takes one off-piste, therefore coats, feet and boots are often dirtier than the norm. Dogs then naturally shake when they come indoors. Or perhaps the majority of our customers take offence to some dogs that are allowed to eat from plates, off tables, on one of our seats, sit on their owners' laps, or are held up high on their owners' chests with their backsides resting on the tables. Some can be aggressive, some are noisy and can bark incessantly, spoiling the peace and calm. And of course many people are allergic to dogs too.

But, of course, we do understand that this is not all, that some owners are totally responsible and would never allow their pets to be an issue or a problem. However it is some. The majority of our lovely and regular customers are now very happy to sit in a clean and quiet environment without these worries. We are sorry that this policy just doesn't suit you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (847)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 142 of 849 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018

We used to love eating here before a walk on the beach, however there's now a big sign on the door saying dogs not allowed. Staff were not particularly friendly, and when I did manage to catch the attention of one of them she said dogs had to go outside. Given it was cold and wet and there were no tables out that was hardly helpful! Time to find a new lunch spot.

6  Thank KirstieJ148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheClockTower, Owner at The Clock Tower Cakery & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

We are sorry you didn't enjoy your visit today, however we are wondering when it might have been as our tables and chairs have come out of winter storage and have been out all week, and have been enjoyed by a great many people, and dogs, in the glorious weather. There are also many benches dotted around the gardens and cliff tops that you are very welcome to use either in the absence of our tables and chairs or alongside them.

We have made a decision not to allow dogs indoors, (inc the conservatory which is a main part of the cafe and restaurant), after much thought, consideration, and consultation. For many, many reasons, but to name a few; the majority of our customers do not wish to see dogs inside a restaurant; be they on the floor often causing obstructions (sometimes dangerous) in an establishment where our waiters and waitresses are trying to serve hot food and drink safely, in an often packed restaurant. Or being wet, muddy and sandy as they often are, as are some of their owners too; dog walking often takes one off-piste, therefore coats, feet and boots are often dirtier than the norm. Dogs then naturally shake when they come indoors. Or perhaps the majority of our customers take offence to some dogs that are allowed to eat from plates, off tables, on one of our seats, sit on their owners' laps, or are held up high on their owners' chests with their backsides resting on the tables. Some can be aggressive, some are noisy and can bark incessantly, spoiling the peace and calm. And of course many people are allergic to dogs too.

But, of course, we do understand that this is not all, that some owners are totally responsible and would never allow their pets to be an issue or a problem. However it is some. The majority of our lovely and regular customers are now very happy to sit indoors in a clean and quiet environment without these worries. And many dogs and owners have been very happily sitting outdoors too. We are sorry that this policy just doesn't suit you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

It does get busy, but that’s because Food, Service and position/views are wonderful, definitely recommend ✅

Thank Nickpcorbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheClockTower, Owner at The Clock Tower Cakery & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you so much Nick, we are thrilled to receive your positive feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Coffee and cakes at this lovely café were a perfect way to round off a bracing Easter Monday cliff path walk. For two of our small group this was our first visit, and we could not have had a warmer welcome from the owner and her courteous staff. A gorgeous array of fresh home baking at very reasonable prices, and - joy of joys! - great coffee without a hint of bitterness, extra shots no problem if required.
Clean, bright surroundings and excellent value for money, this place is a treasure.

2  Thank AMSteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheClockTower, Owner at The Clock Tower Cakery & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

What a lovely review, thank you so much for taking the time and effort to write this, you've made our day! We all work so hard to please, and it's so nice to know it's appreciated. We are delighted you loved the coffee, we do too, which is why we are still using the same local supplier 15 years on! See you soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We went for brunch here as part of my sister's hen weekend and the service was absolutely brilliant! They had decorated our table with confetti and gave us bucks fizz on the house! Our pre-ordered food arrived really quickly, whilst the staff organised a mountain of tea and coffee, and the portion sizes were incredible (definitely what we needed after the big night out!) I really recommend this restaurant for an event or just a quick bite! Food, drink and staff are lovely and the view is beautiful!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ellenmcgahey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheClockTower, Owner at The Clock Tower Cakery & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

We were just so thrilled to be part of your exciting pre-wedding plans, with such a lovely group of girls, that nothing was too much trouble for you, delighted! Thank you for your lovely words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Clock Tower Cakery & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Clock Tower Cakery & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing