We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Ballater, Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
PhillipSt...
Stirlingshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 9 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Our group consisted of 3 couples in the area for fishing and golf.
The house is centrally situated and of a traditional style, well furnished and equipped.
Good restaurants and facilities all within walking distance.
Overall absolutely excellent and we hope to visit again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2017
Thank you Phillip for your lovely comments on The Auld Manse.
You will certainly be welcome again as you left the property in perfect order - greatly appreciated.
Kind regards
Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
j838p
1 review
“Perfect holiday home suitable for all ages”
Reviewed 9 May 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The house is a beautiful property with modern features, perfect for any group travelling to this beautiful area. Everything you could possibly need was there and made a self-catering stay a real pleasure. The property description doesn't do the place justice in my opinion. Instructions were available for everything too which added to the relaxing experience.

We stayed here for a long weekend in March. Our group included my 1 year old daughter and my parents-in-law. The house is set right in the centre of the village with fantastic outlooks from all sides of the house. It has the benefit of a central location with shops, pubs, restaurants and bus station within couple minutes walk yet is set back from the main road therefore is very private. Lovely, huge gardens all around the property would be amazing in nicer weather which sadly we did not have at the time of year we visited.

The house is old yet very modern. The kitchen is huge with a large cooker, dishwasher, microwave and every essential you could need including pots, utensils, crockery and all the essential store cupboard items. We did not need half of the things we brought. There is even cling film and tin foil. There is a separate utility room for laundry on longer stays. The kitchen has a dining area and even a sofa so is a lovely cosy space where all the family can relax together over a lazy breakfast or a feast! There is a formal dining room but unless it was a special occasion or you had a particularly large group I cannot imagine that you would use this room especially when the kitchen area is so comfortable. We didn't think we'd be able to get my father-in-law to leave he was so happy there, definitely his favourite part of the house.

The house is large but still has a nice cosy feel and is ideal for a large group as you don't feel as if you are on top of each other due to the amount of space. Surprisingly for such a large house it was very cosy and well heated.

There are two large double rooms, one with an en-suite, that look out over the front of the property. The other two rooms are twin rooms and the family bathroom at the back of the property has a bath but does not have a shower.

Travelling with a young child can be difficult however absolutely everything required for a child was available: high chair, lovely comfortable cot, cot bedding, stair gates and even children's crockery in the kitchen. Just make sure you let Lesley know your requirements and everything will be set up for you.

There is a downstairs wet room which would be suitable for anyone with mobility issues so the house really does cater for almost anyone.

We had a wonderful time at the Auld Manse and did not want to leave. Lesley was very helpful and accommodating and we would love to stay again. Cannot recommend enough.


There is a downstairs wet room which would be suitable for anyone with mobility issues so the house really does cater for almost anyone.

We had a wonderful time at the Auld Manse and did not want to leave. Lesley was very helpful and accommodating and we would love to stay again. Cannot recommend enough.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2017
Thank you Jennifer. You are really kind. We enjoyed having you to stay and you kindly left everything in immaculate order.
We particularly appreciate that you loved the house as much as we do. It is a special place, peaceful but in the middle of the village with easy access to all the amenities.
We would be glad to see you again.
Kind Regards
Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neilwalke...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Review of stay in The Auld Manse, Ballater”
Reviewed 12 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

My girlfriend and I had the most comfortable and pleasant stay in what I consider to be the loveliest house in the whole of Ballater village. It was a very warm, clean and relaxing place to stay and my girlfriend and I would highly recommend The Auld Manse to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2017
Dear Neil
Thank you so much for your kind review.
To us The Auld Manse is a special place and we are so pleased that you found the same feeling of peace and relaxation.
Kind Regards
Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nacnudnel...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Comfortable, spacious house in centre of village.”
Reviewed 23 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We stayed at The Auld Manse for a week in the middle of February. The location is excellent - right in the centre of the village, but set back from the Square, so it feels secluded and peaceful. The owners were on hand and very helpful. The house is very spacious, especially the kitchen, which is also very well equipped. There is a large, well-stocked Co-op only 100 yards away from the house too, so no need to bring lots of provisions! The beds were comfortable and the house was warm. We've stayed in many holiday houses and this is easily one of the best!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Feb 2017
Thank you so much Brigid for you kind remarks. We try to do our best!
It was a pleasure to meet you and your family and we do hope you will get back sometime before too long.
Kind Regards
Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neal1L
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing find”
Reviewed 30 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I booked this house for my family, who were coming up from London for Christmas. The house is beautiful, spacious, incredibly well equipped and in the most convenient location. The kitchen is enormous and was perfect for cooking a large Christmas dinner. Everybody involved was very helpful and communicative and made us feel very welcome. A particularly nice touch was the Christmas decorations in the house.

Will definitely come back and recommend to others.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Dec 2016
Thank you so much Neal. We really appreciate your kind remarks. It is a pleasure for us to know that your family enjoyed their stay in what was a very happy family home. If you can return, you will be very welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing