We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Review of stay in The Auld Manse, Ballater”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Ballater, Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
neilwalke...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Review of stay in The Auld Manse, Ballater”
Reviewed 12 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

My girlfriend and I had the most comfortable and pleasant stay in what I consider to be the loveliest house in the whole of Ballater village. It was a very warm, clean and relaxing place to stay and my girlfriend and I would highly recommend The Auld Manse to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2017
Dear Neil
Thank you so much for your kind review.
To us The Auld Manse is a special place and we are so pleased that you found the same feeling of peace and relaxation.
Kind Regards
Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nacnudnel...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Comfortable, spacious house in centre of village.”
Reviewed 23 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We stayed at The Auld Manse for a week in the middle of February. The location is excellent - right in the centre of the village, but set back from the Square, so it feels secluded and peaceful. The owners were on hand and very helpful. The house is very spacious, especially the kitchen, which is also very well equipped. There is a large, well-stocked Co-op only 100 yards away from the house too, so no need to bring lots of provisions! The beds were comfortable and the house was warm. We've stayed in many holiday houses and this is easily one of the best!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Feb 2017
Thank you so much Brigid for you kind remarks. We try to do our best!
It was a pleasure to meet you and your family and we do hope you will get back sometime before too long.
Kind Regards
Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neal1L
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing find”
Reviewed 30 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I booked this house for my family, who were coming up from London for Christmas. The house is beautiful, spacious, incredibly well equipped and in the most convenient location. The kitchen is enormous and was perfect for cooking a large Christmas dinner. Everybody involved was very helpful and communicative and made us feel very welcome. A particularly nice touch was the Christmas decorations in the house.

Will definitely come back and recommend to others.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Dec 2016
Thank you so much Neal. We really appreciate your kind remarks. It is a pleasure for us to know that your family enjoyed their stay in what was a very happy family home. If you can return, you will be very welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twosister...
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A gem of a place”
Reviewed 5 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Just returned from a wonderful stay here. A beautiful house, full of charm with lovely furniture and a most relaxing atmosphere. The Auld Manse has a large very well equipped kitchen/diner with everything you need, and also a separate dining room. Plenty of storage space in the bedrooms and the beds were all very comfortable. We all enjoyed relaxing in the sitting room in the evenings, a very peaceful room. We also made use of the garden chairs and benches most days as we were lucky enough to have good weather. The house is situated in the centre of Ballater, with all shops and amenities just minutes away, but as it is set back behind a walled garden it really is a perfect place for a holiday. Would definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Secluded peaceful location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2016
Thank you so much for your kind words. We try to make the house as comfortable, cosy and well equipped as we can. Having been our family home, this house is very precious to us and we enjoy sharing it with appreciative guests and look forward to return visits when guests become friends.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca M
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 11 December 2015 for a stay in March 2014

My family have stayed at the Auld Manse on two previous occasions and we are booked up for our third stay in a couple of weeks. We stayed at the house for my wedding and instantly fell in love with it. The house is very spacious, lovely big kitchen and dining area and very accommodating for a group of people. It is perfectly situated in the centre of Ballater with everything on your doorstep.

We can't wait for our next visit and would highly recommend the Auld Manse to anyone.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Dec 2015
Many thanks for your kind comments. We always look forward to seeing you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing