We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great experience and new knowledge”

Royal Lochnagar Distillery
Ranked #2 of 13 things to do in Ballater
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Neighbouring Balmoral Castle, Royal Lochnagar is the perfect place to discover how Scotch Whisky is made. Watch as our team of operators tend to our traditional mashtun, gleaming copper stills and fill casks at our traditional distillery, which retains much of its original charm. The tour ends with a dram of the award-winning Royal Lochnagar 12 Year Old Single Highland Malt.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

my wife and I went up to find out more about how Whisky is made and our guide Ken was superb. The detail he went into about how whisky is made up at the Royal Lochnagar Distellery was spot on and the knowledge he had of history and present was second to none. If you are ever in the area I strongly advise you take a visit to this place

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank gmilnes20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (619)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"great tour"
in 56 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 49 reviews
"balmoral castle"
in 72 reviews
"whole process"
in 18 reviews
"classic malts"
in 14 reviews
"whisky making"
in 11 reviews
"single malt"
in 15 reviews
"tasting room"
in 8 reviews
"wee dram"
in 19 reviews
"scotch whisky"
in 10 reviews
"distilling process"
in 11 reviews
"traditional methods"
in 7 reviews
"queen victoria"
in 11 reviews
"basic tour"
in 8 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 24 reviews
"eric"
in 76 reviews
"distilleries"
in 67 reviews
Filter

158 - 162 of 621 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Done our first distillery tour today & enjoyed every minute of it & even bought my first ever bottle of whiskey. Eric our guide was lovely & the history of the place is great to hear . Would definitely recommend this tour . Staff are all very friendly. Enjoy Skye Eric xx

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank leli67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

A nice little distillery, but not a good tour as others I've visited.

The shop doesn't really focus on the products of Royal Lochnagar itself but more an outlet for the whole Diageo range. with some expensive stuff to look at.

The distillery tour itself wasn't great with everything viewable through glass windows and at arms length. Technically accurate as I'd have expected - the guide missed the point of the malting process and kept emphasising that she was only just a new whisky drinker. Too much secrecy - no photographs allowed in the buildings even when the distillery is not working.

There are much better tours than this one.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Salmo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Would definitely recommend a visit to this small distillery while touring the highlands, and also to take the guided tour and tasting. We enjoyed it very much and none of us are really big whiskey drinkers (until then anyway).

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank K J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Eric the guide was brilliant. Entertaining and knowledgeable and with a sense of humour.

A small distillery but very close to Balmoral so made a nice way to round off the day. Good also if you have done tours of the bigger distilleries, to compare and contrast.

Nice whisky too!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal Lochnagar Distillery also viewed

Ballater, Aberdeenshire
Ballater, Aberdeenshire
 
Dinnet, Ballater
Ballater, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Royal Lochnagar Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing