We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Verve Hotel
Nearby Hotels
USD 108*
USD 93*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 168*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Bedford(Bedford)(Great Value!)
USD 122*
USD 118*
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 110*
USD 107*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 220*
USD 187*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Bedford(Bedford)(Great Value!)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
USD 101*
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Knife & Cleaver(Houghton Conquest)
USD 138*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 94*
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
d'Parys Hotel(Bedford)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
28
28
17
13
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
28
28
17
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue orchidclose to train stationlovely hotelsingle roombottled waterone night staythe room was nicea great stayfish and chipstop floorcontinental breakfastbreakfast was excellentmin walkreception areabed was comfortableradiatortoiletries
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

Please be aware of this hotel, they took a sum of deposit for the room accomodation that i booked with them and upon my check out they did not refund it to me. And when i email them regarding this, they said they have refunded my money and thereafter they said i gave the wrong details and finally they said i they cant refund me back as i commented about them on facebook. They kept on twisting their words. The staffs replies were very unproffesional. They defined my review has out of order and now they have cheated me of my deposit . And moreover i came from singapore and am very saddened at they way they have treated me and my husband who actually came on our honeymoon. Now they have blocked me off their facebook account too.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
5  Thank sherrylstephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faz K, General Manager at Verve Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time to provide us with feedback,
I would like to inform that Bookings which are non-refundable their full value due even if you cancel.
If deposit was half of amount then another half have to be paid by arrival,also 100% deposit which have been made before arrival could be used as payment for your stay on day of arrival. We can not deduct any extra money from your provided card without your agreement and card details which have to be provided by you,also if you have any pre authorisation which is temporary hold of a specific amount of the available balance on a credit or debit card that is provided upon booking. The pre-authorisation is not a charge and no funds can be debited from your account till moment when you arrive and confirm that we can charge your provided card.
We originally do not block anyone of our customer,potential customer or guests who stayed with us and are not satisfied because every feedback give us opportunity to become better. If you are sure you have been blocked in our page, it possibly could be administration on Facebook because using threatening, abusive or insulting words or behaviour, or disorderly behaviour intending to and causing harassment against out hotel and our staff.

Kind regards,
Verve Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights before a wedding. We got no sleep on the 1st night due to party going on next door (room 20) and walls are very thin. There was no night staff available even though there was a number to ring but no one answered. We finally moved to another room at 4:30am in the morning as the noise was so loud and our room smelt of cigarettes as the party was smoking and filling the corridor and our room next door. We were told we could stay in our room but then asked to move whilst I was in the shower getting ready for the wedding we had come to attend. We then had to move rooms for the 3rd time but couldn't move our stuff across as we couldn't get into the room in time as we were going to a wedding so had to leave it with our friends room who were also staying in the hotel. We took our car keys to the wedding being fully prepared to sleep in the car as had no trust in that we would be able to get at midnight. The reason why I say this as the previous night a guest arrived at 1am and waited 4 hours to check in and ended up sleeping on sofa in reception! This was because no one was there from the night reception.

Our friends room TV wasn't working, wifi not working, shattered glass in the shower pane, no light working in the bathroom, blind broken, all reported nothing done.

In the 3 rooms we ended up staying in there was black mould, peeling wallpaper and the last room was so hot you were actually sweating.

We have written to the management but they just don't care an offered us a free stay! Why would we go back especially on Friday night when this party seems to happen a lot (reading other reviews). It would seem all these things are acceptable in the management eyes.

Absolutely awful and feel people need to be warned not to stay here. We have 2 small children and were looking forward to some rest before the wedding and quite frankly this hotel ruined the whole weekend. And the fact it's still happening after our stay makes me angry and shows that nothing has changed and our experience was not a one off but a regular occurrence.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank JDR1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faz K, General Manager at Verve Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to provide us with a review following your
recent stay at Verve Hotel.
Our staff are doing their utmost to satisfy the guests, but unfortunately we can not be responsible for some of our guest behaviour.
I would like to mention that during night no one can not get into hotel because of security reason for our residents and it not possible that someone can come into reception area without night porter. However it did not have happened that any of our guest would wait check in time for Hours and especially sleep in reception on a sofa. I would like to apologise for our night porter and let you know that we are dealing with this situation and that person is no longer able to work with us, each complain which we get will help us to improve our business. Thank you for your feedback. And we would like to invite you to our restaurant enjoy nice Thai food and you could make sure our staff is doing their best to make our guests feel good and welcome.
I am really sorry for what you experience with us.


Kind regards,
Verve Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

We went to this hotel a it was half way to where we were going and we really regretted it. We had a horrible time and cannot warn people enough about that place.
First, despite asking for a family room, they didn't have a baby cot and we had to bring ours. They put us at the back of the hotel. The room was alright but nothing more. The shower was outdated and the shower curtain had seen better days. There was no phone in the room either.
At night, from about 1 am to 5.30 am we just didn't manage to sleep.
The upstairs neighbours were shouting, banging doors, playing loud music and throwing cigarette butts through the windows. My husband went out several times to tell them to keep the noise down and got racist abuses.
There was absolutely NO ONE in this hotel to deal with this. It was completely empty and despite calling the number (from our phone) indicated at the reception (and making several physical appearances too), no one answered and no one was present before 5.30 am. By that time, our little boy had woken up and we had been up all night!
The worst was the management attitude in the morning. They showed absolutely no guilt and didn't try to find out. They completely washed they hands of it and we barely got an apology. They didn't even try to talk to these people (if they had checked, they would have noticed the hundred cigarette butts on the floor!) and they told us they were not responsible for their customers! They also denied us a refund.
Basically, very low class hotel with very low class management. Nothing more than an (expensive) backpacker.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Liliane73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faz K, Manager at Verve Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Liliane73,

We recognize you did not enjoy your stay with us and can only apologize that you experienced any form of abuse from OTHER GUEST in our hotel. However, it must be noted it is out of our control what other guest may say to each other. Our family rooms nor the hotel in itself have never advertised as providing a cot nor a phone line. We stand by our position that we cannot be held accountable for the actions of our guests, and must take a balanced view when reviewing complaints as several were made against yourselves. We concede there were missteps made during your experience such as an empty or unresponsive reception, but feel much has been overstated. Furthermore, a refund has been processed for your stay. Kind regards,
Faz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

Our room was very clean but unfortunately we found the beds very uncomfortable; on both nights we resorted to sleeping on top of the duvets to add a bit more padding to the mattress but this still made it difficult to get a good night's sleep.

The room seemed to lack any sound proofing as we were woken several times throughout the night by other guests outside and in the rooms next door and above us due to creaky floorboards and noisy plumbing. On our 2nd night the hotel's restaurant (which was directly below our room) had been hired out for a birthday party meaning we were kept awake with blaring music until 1am - which wasn't ideal when we had to be up at 6am that morning.

The hotel's car park also was not big enough as on the 2nd night when we arrived there were no spaces and I was told we would have to park our car on a road nearby - thankfully it was a weekend as all of the roads surrounding the hotel was permit holders only between certain hours Monday - Friday.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a double bed, book a suite. Even rooms described as 'Double' have 2 single beds.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank DC5923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faz K, Manager at Verve Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are sorry that your stay didn't meet the expectations.
We hope to accommodate you not to distant in the future.

Kind Regards,
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

just stayed one night as was working nearby and didn't have enough time as i would have liked. It doesnt have health spa facilities but has very well decorated single and double rooms a Thai restaurant, decent breakfast options, a bar (which could have stayed open later on a saturday evening , closing at 11). Did get chance to eat at restaurant. Breakfast was good food, staff weren't always clear and had to go back a couple of times.
Decorations are rather opulent and there is a long walk to some rooms. Parking is limited but we managed to get our cars in.
Pleasant quiet tree lined avenue just outside the town centre, convenient for Keysoe equestrian centre.
It was a warm night and there is no air conditioning so had to leave windows open. Needs more power points as had to unplug everything to do any cahrging of phone etc. Good Wifi which was free

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacqui3744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faz K, Manager at Verve Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review , we appreciate the high review and we are sorry that your experience didn't meet the expectations , we hope that we accommodate you again not too distant in the future.


Kind Regards
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews