We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and spacious”
Review of Verve Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Verve Hotel
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Bedford
Reviewed 21 June 2017

Our first time stayed in this hotel. All the rooms were quite dark including the reception area. Poor lighting, poor wifi. The pillow too soft, thin and cover protector with plastic. Basic breakfast not much choice. Only one cup coffee for breakfast. Broken blind. We told the staff about it, she already knew about it and apologised to us. Too hot in the room no AC only fan but the fan was broken in our room. The staff manage to replaced it. I think this hotel need to work harder to make it work.

Room Tip: No lift, in this hotel but I think they have ground floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Ita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faz K, Manager at Verve Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Dear Ita H,
Thank you we do appreciate all feedback and are sorry to hear that your experience was not up to expectations. We are currently fitting AC in the top rooms and would love to have the chance to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2017 via mobile

I've stayed at this Hotel 4 days this week and it was most enjoyable experience. Clean and very big rooms. Comfortable stay I've ever had in Bedford.
Staff were helpful.
Will be staying again when I'm next in Bedford.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
2  Thank Lara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faz K, Manager at Verve Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Dear Lara N,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for providing us with your feedback. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future. We are so pleased to know that overall you had a pleasant experience, enjoyed our personalised service.
Kind regards,
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for five days and it was really enjoyable staying. The room was nice, clean and big. The price wise it's fantastic including breakfast. Good location too.
Will stay again on our next visit in Bedford.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Stefanio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faz K, Manager at Verve Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Dear Stefanio B,
Thank you so much for your positive review of your recent stay with us. We are pleased to know that overall you enjoyed your experience and were happy with our location. We look forward to your next visit,hopefully it won't be long before we can welcome you again to our hotel.
Kind regards, Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017

Clean and smart hotel. Comfortable room. We arrived late, and knew we would have to block other cars in the parking area, however reception offered to hold my car key so that they could move the car in the morning if they needed to (they did, with no problem).
Breakfast service could be slightly swifter, but not a problem for us.
Hot water supply to the shower was variable and maybe needs looking at.

Good value.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faz K, Manager at Verve Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Dear David W,
Thank you for your lovely review following your stay with us!
Hopefully we will welcome you again in our Hotel.
Kind regards,
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

We used the hotel whilst visiting a friend so only used it to sleep and for breakfast the following morning.
The hotel itself is very clean and was welcomed with a friendly smile and very boutique looking.
We stayed in room 4 and it had the usual equipment that is expected, tea facility, dressing table, wardrobe, and comfy double bed. The bathroom was tiny and only had a shower which is fine for me, but it was small.
The room was exceptionally warm, and the heating wasn't off, so opened the window. The downside is it was at the rear so heard the fans from the kitchen.

Breakfast was a little disappointing. The food itself was fine, cooked to order, and the English breakfast consisted of one small sausage, one rasher of bacon, some boiled mushrooms, egg and a hashbrown, with choice of brown or white toast.
Tea was served in cup with the tea bag left in, half filled so asked for some extra water. Another in our party had scrambled egg on toast and I must admit, it looked as though whoever prepared it simply couldn't be bothered.
There are cereal and juices that you can help yourself.

Other than breakfast being slightly disappointing, it is a very clean, friendly, and (very) warm :) hotel and I would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faz K, Manager at Verve Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Dear Darren R,
Thank you for your lovely review following your stay with us! I am delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay and your room was comfortable and well equipped. I am so pleased that the staff made you feel welcome and hopefully it won't be long before we can welcome you again to our hotel. In your next stay with us if you would like to have another breakfast we will be pleased to serve you another one,and if we will know your preferences for tea then we can make you one without leaving bag in your pot.
Kind regards, Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bedford hotels
1.3 km away
Bedford Swan Hotel
Bedford Swan Hotel
#8 of 18 in Bedford
1,649 reviews
3.9 km away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#2 of 18 in Bedford
743 reviews
0.9 km away
Pilgrims Progress JD Wetherspoon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Embankment Hotel
Embankment Hotel
#13 of 18 in Bedford
315 reviews
1.3 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Bedford
1.0 km away
d'Parys Hotel
d'Parys Hotel
#12 of 18 in Bedford
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Verve Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verve Hotel

Address: 27 Shakespeare Road, Bedford MK40 2DX, England (Formerly Shakespeare Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bedford
Price Range: $103 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Verve Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Verve Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shakespeare Hotel Bedford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing