We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Once again, a fab stay at the cottage with young...”
other travellers have booked this property
Lounge looking out
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge looking out
Lounge looking in Twin Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Lounge looking out
Lounge looking in
Twin Bedroom
Double bedroom
Double Room
Double Bedroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Kitchen View
Kitchen
Kitchen
Lounge table
Kitchen worktop
View of Bedrooms
Bathroom Ducks!
Lounge seating
View of Kitchen Table
View of Kitchen corridor
View of Heads Nook Hall Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Carlisle, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Helen R
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Once again, a fab stay at the cottage with young family”
Reviewed 24 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We've been to Heads Nook Cottage before, but this time returned with young children/extended family (my sister and I and our two young girls aged 3 years and 6 months). Was lovely arriving and knowing that it's a real home from home - fruit cake with tea/coffee/milk greeted us on arrival, a spotlessly clean and well equipped base with which to meet up with family and explore the local area.

Perfect place for young family because
- all on one level (no stairs, stair gates etc)
- well equipped kitchen (all you need - dishwasher, oven, microwave and plenty of crockery)
- separate laundry room (washing machine and tumble dryer - necessity for kids!)
- bath and not just a shower (again ideal for mucky kids)

This is my third visit and I know we will be back again. It's just so convenient and yet we are not compromising on quality just because we travel with young kids.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2016
Helen - many thanks for taking time to write this excellent review. So pleased that everyone enjoyed their stay at the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dianebund...
portsmouth
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 22 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This is an amazing little cottage, we booked to attend a wedding. It was our first trip away with our 4 month old and couldn't have asked for more. Cot and highchair avaliable for the baby as well as a very comfortable living space.

Kitchen is fully equipped with everything you could possibly need. Full use of a utility room which was needed with a baby, they even provided washing powder and softener.

The set up is great, we had 4 adults and a baby in the cottage for a week. Lots of space and not on top of each other like some places we had stayed previously without a baby.

We were greeted with home made scones and flexible check in (kept Malcom in loop of when we expected to arrive via email). Great leisure facilities just down the road too. Great location will definitely be returning. Xx

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie M
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful place.”
Reviewed 17 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Couldn't fault the place. The cottage had everything we needed and was very cosy and romantic. The location is driving distance from most places but that's why we stayed there. We will be returning.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen R
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Amazing Holiday Cottage. Perfect in every way.”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Just stayed at Heads Nook Hall Cottage for a couple of nights. One of our first trips away with our young daughter (11 months) and we stayed here to visit family nearby. The cottage is amazing - a real home from home. Everything you want is here (fully equipped kitchen, separate utility, cosy lounge with large TV and cosy fire and luxury bathroom). We had a wonderful time and would definitely return.

Malcolm was friendly and helpful throughout the booking process (highchair and cot available for the baby) and Mandy the housekeeper was very welcoming (and left us milk in the fridge and home made scones on arrival).

Great location just outside Carlisle and easy to reach the surrounding countryside and The Lakes. Just can't fault it. Thank you!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WedgerI
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A perfect venue”
Reviewed 18 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Decided to book the cottage for my 50th last June after we had stayed in the main house overnight, we loved that room and the way we were treated so we thought let's book the cottage for my big one.
Not dissapointed at all, everything that has already been said in comment previous is true, we wanted for nothing.
We are now going to check our work commitments and book for a week in September , three days was not enough.
Has usually malcolm and Mandy were perfect hosts with nothing a problem even down to ringing around the pubs to find who had the man utd Liverpool game on, with the right result rounding off a fabulous birthday.
Thank you again heads nook for being the best. Paul and Pam x

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing