We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Away from it all”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private location on a river bank Open plan living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
Private location on a river bank
Open plan living area
Jacuzzi hot tub
Kitchen with granite work surfaces
Large dining table in open plan living area
Large comfy corner sofa
Dog friendly
Nespresso coffee machine
Open plan living area with antler style chanderliers
Log burning stove
King bedroom
Bedroom with Kingsize bed
Bathrobes
Twin Bedroom
Detail
The deck runs around cabin
Penton bridge
River Liddel
Free standing bath
Separate shower cubicle
Woodland walks
Beautiful scenery
Unique private location
Construction of the cabin
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Carlisle, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
David H
1 review
“Away from it all”
Reviewed 6 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Relaxing break away from it all. Hot tub an added bonus. A great place to unwind in a secluded location. Recommended for those who don't want to go far but enjoy the river walks and woodlands. Carlisle and Gretna an easy drive for a shopping fix.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2goexplor...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Absolute bliss.”
Reviewed 2 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This gorgeous log cabin sits in the most wonderful country setting overlooking a river, with private fishing rights and amazing bird life. The house is thoughtfully and beautifully designed yet very comfortable for casual lounging inside the house or outside on the surrounding deck. The kitchen and baths are well supplied and the amenities are first rate. My husband and I and the dogs had a terrifically fun week exploring the nearby walking paths, as well as the Lake District, and a challenging but glorious cliff side ramble at St. Bees. Be aware that there is no internet coverage on the property which (if you can manage it) is a blessing - it gave us so much more time to enjoy everything. And it must be noted that Simon is a most generous host. This was a great holiday.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsti G
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What you waiting for.......just book it!!!!!”
Reviewed 26 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Yes it looks as good as the pictures! I booked this for my 40th with 3 friends and it certainly made my birthday. I needed to swop the date due to something cropping up and Dominique was amazing from start to finish. Yes she didn't always reply straight away but none the less she was contactable and was a pleasure to talk to. She has a business a family she doesn't sit at her iPad 24/7 but she sorted out my dilemma without any hassle. The place is stunning, nice and quiet location, amazing view, perfect place to unwind and relax. Don't take food, there is a huge spa 15 mins away as you turn off that has everything. There are DVD's to watch or take your own. Books to read but limited selection but if you have spare take them and leave them. No wifi or phone signal but if you walk up the drive, turn left and walk to the corner up the hill it all appears, just needs a seat at the top of the hill!!!! Lovely walks, friendly locals, perfect. I personally wouldn't take my 5 year old as no wifi and she wouldn't appreciate it but if you have someone special or fancy a few days break from kids and hubby with the girls then get it booked. The hot tub just adds to the place. It's all under cover so if it rains like it did with us we still sat out on the balcony and ate as it was warm. Enough seating for 4, all kitchen things supplied, towels, robes, slippers. You really do get looked after. Rooms are perfect and nicely decorated. 2 toilets enough seating and big sofas so we didn't feel on top of each other. We went into Gretna to the shopping outlet which was fab and perfect for our girlie break! We are already planning next years. My deposit was refunded within 24 hours. Lovely place, lovely owners, what you waiting for.......enjoy!!!! X

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2017
Thank you Kirsty reviewing your stay! We are delighted you enjoyed the cabin and it's surroundings! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards Dominique
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Jul 2017
Thank you for reviewing your stay! We are delighted you enjoyed the cabin and surroundings. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards, Dominique
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Guide7024...
1 review
“Lost the rat race - Found the family!”
Reviewed 1 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

A wonderful 6 days that became 7. Its is that good!
No mobile reception, no internet, no excuses. We all had a truly great time here from the hot tub to wading in the river. The kids never once complained about being unable to use their iPads / tablets and instead built rafts out of sticks and reeds.
Don't really want to say more as i would prefer it kept quiet so that its available next time we book!
Thanks again Dom and Simon

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing