We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunch ”

The Old Engine House
Ranked #10 of 381 Restaurants in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 3 - USD 6
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Family run coffee shop serving a variety of drinks and food from locally sourced produce. Situated in a historic building once serving as part of the city fire station.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I was browsing for somewhere to go for lunch with my dad & I came across this on trip advisor.
What a lovely place & friendly staff.
Lentil & bacon soup was delicious & served with a doorstep sized slice of nice fresh bread.
Coffee was really nice as were the peppermint slice & apple shortcake.
Would definitely come back here next time I’m in Carlisle.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Northernlass13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco A, Owner at The Old Engine House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your time to review The Old Engine House, reviews like yours help us a lot to attract new customers just like you.
We are happy you liked it and to hear that you and your dad enjoyed the food and the coffee and found the service to be friendly.

We look forward to welcome you back again soon.

Regards,
Marco, Carol & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2018 via mobile

The food is amazing and the staff are friendly. I really like the drinks especially the smoothie. :)

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Freddy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco A, Owner at The Old Engine House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2018

Thank you Freddy.
We appreciate your time to review The Old Engine House and score us 5*.
We're happy to hear you enjoyed the smoothie and the food with our friendly service.

Hoping to welcome you again soon,

Regards,
Marco, Carol & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2018 via mobile

A great discovery delicious soup scrummy pannini - cake out of this world and hot coffee too❤️AND the staff were lovely too
We’ll be back

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Happiness55367381155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco A, Owner at The Old Engine House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2018

Thanks a lot for your 5* review.
We're looking forward to see you coming back again and again.

Regards,
Marco, Carol & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2018 via mobile

Visited the old engine house today. I ordered a cappuccino which when it came was served with a small biscuit and the coffee was lovely and akso hot. Served by a friendly young girl.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco A, Owner at The Old Engine House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2018

Thanks Janet for your time to review us.
We are happy to hear you enjoyed our coffee and found our service to be friendly.
We always strive to provide 5* service, so will appreciate if you could help us to know what we could do better, so to earn also your 5*.
We hope to see you again soon.

Regards,
Marco, Carol & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018 via mobile

We loved Marco and the staff. Food was excellent and we felt like home
We had order the soup of the day with a panini, and ended with a delicious coffee

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank mariemR9048MP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco A, Owner at The Old Engine House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2018

OMG, Thank you so much.
I am blushed and smiling as I respond to your review.
We are so chuffed. That's just what we aim at achieving, that who comes as guest leaves as a friend.

See you soon, we hope.

Regards,
Marco, Carol & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Engine House also viewed

 
Carlisle, Cumbria
Carlisle, Cumbria
 

Been to The Old Engine House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing