We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (243)
Filter reviews
243 results
Traveller rating
189
32
10
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
189
32
10
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nespresso machine complimentary mini bar junior suite l'occitane toiletries romance package cloisters restaurant fruit juice and water underfloor heating afternoon tea turn down service beautiful hotel modern twist marble bathroom an excellent dinner rose petals high street colchester castle
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 243 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2018

We Stayed over on A Saturday night while visiting friends.
Hotel is Situated at the bottom of the High Street not far from the Castle. We drove where you access car park from the back of the building.
We arrived early so left Car and went around the Town before being able to check in.
Lovely Hotel set over two floors. We were allocated room on 1st Floor.
Great double room with lots of added extras. Nespresso machine, Hair Dryer, Large En suite with Double Shower. Very Comfy Bed.
We had breakfast in the morning and you have a Continental selection with Hot food also available. All very nice.
Just a 5 minute walk to the castle and to the bottom of the high street.
Well worth a stay if in Colchester

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank philpeg1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018

This hotel is the perfect base for exploring Colchester as it is a short walk from the City centre. It is beautifully furnished and the staff are really friendly and helpful. We were made to feel very welcome and felt very comfortable in our double room. Our room did not have a good view but the decor of the room was lush so it really didn't matter. We were on the first floor and there was a lift we could use. The room did not have a bath but there was a soaker shower which was great. The breakfast was fantastic! We would love to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoneyApples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018

Great room, great service and lovely people. Close to the central streats of Colchester with shopping and restraunts. Not to forget the castle and parks just outside. The bar / restraunt have tables outside in a quiet back yard

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank Egil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018

We booked a Classic room for the week and found it ideal for our requirements. Comfortable bed and facilities with a large bathroom. Several guests were overheard stating that their Club rooms were too small. The breakfast was excellent and reception and bar areas adequate. The Receptionists were always friendly and willing to help. The hotel is located at the East end of town convenient to local shops and restaurants. Parking was convenient at the rear of the premises. The one way system did make driving to and from the hotel difficult initially. We gained the opinion that Greyfriars is the best hotel in Colchester.

Room Tip: Recommend the Classic over the Club rooms
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

A lovely hotel and restaurant. My room was up 2 flights of stairs and there was no lift, but I was in the 'extension' rather than the main building but this wasn't a problem for me. But the room was beautifully appointed, with every extra that you could think of. Coffee machine, complimentary mini bar, toiletries etc. Nothing was missing. Then I had a bathroom bigger then my bedroom at home. It was massive. Large bath, as well as a shower. And all for a reasonable price especially considering how close to town it is. And the restaurant food was amazing and well priced. I will be going back.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
Thank reaz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews