We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
other travellers have booked this property
The Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Cottage
The Boathouse Cottage Interior living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
The Cottage
The Boathouse
Cottage Interior living area
Cottage Interior
Cottage kitchen
Cottage interior
Cottage bedroom
Cottage - Boathouse path
Cottage porch
Boathouse bedroom
Cottage sitting room
Boathouse bathroom
Boathouse kitchen
Boathouse interior
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Colchester, Essex, England

Reviews from our community

Poor - based on 3 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Helen P
Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not as advertised”
Reviewed 6 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We found this cottage through another site, directly advertised by the owner. For a start, the cottage and boathouse are separate properties and the price is for the cottage only, the boathouse is extra. The photos are misleading - one picture of a very nice living area isn't in the property at all; the view of a lovely garden with views to the river is actually taken in next door's garden. The cottage is semi-detached, 3 bedrooms, one bathroom.
The property was not clean - the owner who met us said his normal cleaner had not been able to come and we had turned up too early. We were about an hour early, but there is no way an hour's cleaning would have made much difference. The bathroom, which is downstairs, was very old and basic, nowhere to hang the shower head and no shower curtain.
There was hardly any storage furniture in the bedrooms, just one chest of drawers and some hooks.
The kitchen is not well-equipped. The AGA was turned off for the summer and the only cooking facilities were 2 ancient electric rings (a bit like a camping stove), a microwave and a small halogen oven. I don't know how you would cook a meal for 4 people unless you lived off pasta. The fridge was filthy, work tops sticky.
The windows were dirty inside and out, windowsills dirty and with dead bugs, there were lots of cobwebs. The garden was unkempt, there was no fence between the 2 gardens and no garden gate so it was unsuitable for small children or dogs. The track to the cottage was OK in dry weather, but might be difficult in wet or wintry weather.
The location is lovely and this cottage could be really nice with some TLC and a bit of money spending on it. Rustic is fine; rundown is not.
We negotiated a discount for the lack of cleaning but the owner could see we still weren't happy and himself suggested we try somewhere else. He seemed quite laid-back about the whole thing, and not really bothered whether we stayed or not. He was perfectly polite and affable, but didn't seem to really get that the property is not up to scratch. We hadn't paid anything upfront and were fortunate enough to find somewhere about 30 minutes away so we didn't even stay one night at Orwell Cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location and views
Liked least: Poor condition of property
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2014
This was a last minute request and alas we did not have enough time to prepare the house.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Colchester hotels

Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing