We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (294)
Filter reviews
294 results
Traveller rating
174
85
23
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
174
85
23
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeefeater next doorbusy roada ground floor roomroom was cleanair conhappily stay againtrain stationall you can eatcar parkplenty of parkinggood sizenice staytea and coffeemember of staffreceptionistinnsmel
Filter
Updating list...
132 - 137 of 294 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2015

A small but typical Premier Inn by the side of a busy road junction. A ten/fifteen minute uphill walk into town and five minutes from the excellent Victoria pub. I've never known such friendly staff on the front desk of a Premier Inn!

Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jeremy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2015

We had 2 nights at the hotel. It is very convenient for the town centre being approximately 30 minutes walk or there are plenty of buses. The reception area is very 'crowded' with an exit straight into the car parking area. As usual the rooms and Wifi were good. Car parking was plentiful.
We had breakfast at the Beefeater next door and that was a little disappointing as the room is very dark and not that pleasant. The breakfast was good and pentiful and was cooked to order. The restaurant staff were very obliging.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank philWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2015

The staff made our stay; they were very friendly and welcoming. The room was very comfortable and clean. I was concerned about the noise from traffic as it's on a main road, but I have to say that our night was completely undisturbed.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anncp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2015

Staff couldn't be more helpful or friendly here.
Rooms, your usual premier inn, nice comfy beds etc only slight gripe would be the rooms can be quite noisy on the front near the road, not overly so that you can't sleep, just something to be aware of.
Easy to get to, a ten minute ish walk in to town, or taxis are available ask a reception for a selection

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank roxyrose90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Feedbaack at Premier Inn Colchester Cowdray Avenue (A133) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2015

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations. We are however, pleased to learn that you were refunded in line with our Good Night Guarantee. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Thank you once again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2015 via mobile

Lovely staff at the premier inn itself very welcoming and accommodating (funny though as we arrived at 13.57 & they told us we had to wait 3 minutes to check in) room was very clean. However Staff next door at the beefeater restaurant were very rude and hard to find. Took us 45 mins to get our bill as you couldn't find anyone in the evening and in the morning when asking for a table of 2 for breakfast (when advised by hotel we didnt need to book especially as we had pre paid) we were told we would have to wait half hour And then we were reeled off a list of what they didn't have which was pretty much everything. Also When asking the waitress to fill up the hot water so we could have a cup of tea she tutted as if she was annoyed and then we didn't see her again for half an hour.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Grace2010uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews