We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Visit Amazing! ”
Review of Turtle Bay

Turtle Bay
Ranked #125 of 541 Restaurants in Colchester
Description: Turtle Bay is an informal, immersive dining experience. Across our 44 restaurants (and counting), we bring the Caribbean sunshine with our signature dishes, cool island cocktails and classic beats. Our guests love our cocktails and mocktails as much as our jerk chicken, and our beach shack-style bar and veranda are the perfect locations for guests to make their own ‘Island Moment’. Everything we do is designed to ensure that guests can share food and drink with friends and family, while simply relaxing without any purpose. This is where you come in. Creating such a laid-back experience every day and every night is a lot harder than it looks, which is why our team is the best in the business. We need the positivity, proactivity, professionalism and personality that keep our guests coming back for more. Be part of the Bay way.
Restaurant details
Description: Turtle Bay is an informal, immersive dining experience. Across our 44 restaurants (and counting), we bring the Caribbean sunshine with our signature dishes, cool island cocktails and classic beats. Our guests love our cocktails and mocktails as much as our jerk chicken, and our beach shack-style bar and veranda are the perfect locations for guests to make their own ‘Island Moment’. Everything we do is designed to ensure that guests can share food and drink with friends and family, while simply relaxing without any purpose. This is where you come in. Creating such a laid-back experience every day and every night is a lot harder than it looks, which is why our team is the best in the business. We need the positivity, proactivity, professionalism and personality that keep our guests coming back for more. Be part of the Bay way.
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

Visited with my boyfriend on Sunday 24th at about 5ish, the restaurant was quiet and we were seen to quickly. Our waitress, who I don’t know the name of but had blonde hair, was so lovely. She was so helpful when recommending and explaining dishes and really was so nice letting me take my uneaten food home! As well as the service being brilliant the food was to die for! We will definitely be back soon and would recommend the goat curry to everyone! Brilliant first experience!

Thank Rosie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billy J, General Manager at Turtle Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Hi Rosie,

Firstly, a big thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we really appreciate it.

Im so pleased you had a great experience with us, and I will be sure to pass on your comments to your waitress, who think was Eva.
Make sure you download our App before your next visit so you can start earning Turtle Points with every transaction!

One Love

Billy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2018

We had lunch and cocktails and it was very nice. Service was excellent , surroundings very pleasant … the place had a nice feel to it .
Only criticism I have is there were 3 of us that are dairy intolerant and they could not serve coffee with a milk alternative like almond, soya or coconut. Something to consider for the future please …… a Latte would have finished off my meal perfectly :)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sssdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billy J, General Manager at Turtle Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Hi,

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to leave us a review! Were all really pleased that you had a great experience with us and enjoyed the cocktails! Did you know that we are now taking bookings for drinking only tables too?

In regards to the coffee, I do apologise, but currently we simply do just not get the uptake for coffee in general and so it is hard for us to supply milk alternatives as well.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

One Love

Billy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

Popped in on Friday night for a few cocktails, great variety and well made cocktails, friendly barman with helpful advice on which ones we might like, friendly atmosphere, will stay for food next time.

Thank tdwright421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billy J, General Manager at Turtle Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Hey,

I just wanted to say a big thank you for your review! were all so pleased you had a great experience with us.

I can definitely recommend coming in for some food. Even if its at lunch time, we now have a set lunch menu which is a great deal!

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

One Love

Billy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018

Visited Turtle Bay several times for lunch and enjoyed thoroughly every time.
Service is always warm and friendly and the decor inside is stunning, it gives you the being away somewhere tropical vibe.
Food delicious & not over priced, we have tried something different every time and still plenty to go back for.
We always take advantage of the 2 for 1 cocktails, they’re great, pretty strong as well !
Be seeing you soon Turtle Bay !

Thank HappyHammer10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billy J, General Manager at Turtle Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Hey,

Firstly, a big thank you for taking the time to leave us this great review, we all really appreciate it!

I'm so pleased that you are loving working your way though our menu, as we have invested a lot into getting it just right for our guests. I hear through the grapevine that there maybe a new menu being created as we speak!

I look forward to welcoming you again very soon! Make sure you have downloaded our Turtle Bay App in time for your next visit so you can start to earn 'Turtle points' when ever you visit!

One Love

Billy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018

Came here with friends for a leaving party so was quite a few of us.

The cocktails where really good and the staff where so friendly really looked after us.

I love the vibe in here really fun atmosphere with good music. Nice to have something a bit different in Colchester.

Food was good really good meal with so much flavour I'm looking forward to coming back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Clemmie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billy J, General Manager at Turtle Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Hi Clemmie,

Thank you so much for taking some time out to leave us such a great review!

I'm so please that you all had a fantastic time with us here at Turtle Bay Colchester. We aim to give our guest a memorable experience, and something a little bit more that your ordinary chain restaurant.

Did you try our sharing platters? They're great for large parties.

We all look forward to welcoming you back very soon! make sure you have downloaded our Turtle Bay App in time for your next visit to claim your free starter!

One Love

Billy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Turtle Bay also viewed

 
Colchester, Essex
 

Been to Turtle Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing