We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really really good food”
Review of Banquet Chinese

Banquet Chinese
Reserve with TopTable
Banquet Chinese is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #32 of 521 Restaurants in Colchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 20 - USD 92
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Banquet Chinese is a restaurant and venue unlike any other found in Colchester or North Essex today. This is Chinese food the way it is meant to be experienced! Our mouth-watering dishes are cooked to perfection by award-winning chefs using only the freshest and finest ingredients. The interior has been carefully chosen and imported from China to create a genuine and sophisticated yet relaxed atmosphere in which to enjoy your lunch or evening meal, perhaps together with a bottle of wine from the well rounded wine list supplied by Enotria World Wines. Please take some time to familiarise yourself with Banquet Chinese here on our website. Have a look at our menus and wine lists. Read about Dim Sum, the delicious little dishes perfect as starters or as a light and sophisticated lunch time meal.
Reviewed 4 May 2018 via mobile

The customer experience was great, highly recommend, food was lovely and served very well. Will definitely be going again

Thank nickyjt2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vincent c, Owner at Banquet Chinese, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Thank you nickyjt2007 for your kind words.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 447 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2018 via mobile

Went for a meal with friends and had a lovely evening. Food was awesome and service was impeccable. If your in the area, you are missing out if you don’t stop by!

Thank ellajay21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vincent c, Owner at Banquet Chinese, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Dear ellajay21,

Thank you...we are glad you and your friends enjoyed yourselves!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

Having read the recent negative reviews I was a little apprehensive, as we haven’t dined at Banquet for a couple of years. However from start to finish the meal was lovely, it was a packed Saturday night. Great service. The dishes were all fresh, well presented and delicious. The only negative which is being super picky, is the food could have been slightly warmer; apart from that spot on. Looking forward to returning.

Thank Twinkle071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vincent c, Owner at Banquet Chinese, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Dear Twinkle071,

We are very glad you decided to dine with us.

Saturday's can be a little more hectic but we think that adds to the buzz!

Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

Wow! I don’t know where to start. Absolutely gutted, I could almost cry. Myself and my wife have been eating here regularly for four years and this was our first meal since the new owners have taken over and it was woefully bad. Had the Hong Kong set menu which always was our go to takeaway. Every single dish has been changed and not one for the better. The chicken skewers were awful, had to spit them out. Texture was stringy and dry, horrible greasy flavour. The same could be said for the chicken and cashew nut dish. The crispy duck was shocking. Hardly anything there and it had no flavour. Looked (and smelt) like an old chicken drumstick that had fallen down the back of the sofa. Every single sauce had been altered now. I don’t know what they were thinking?! We used to rave about this place but the change of head chef was a huge error in judgement from the new owners and you have now ruined Banquet’s reputation as the best Chinese in Colchester. It’s not even average now. A huge shame.

1  Thank RobK1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vincent c, Owner at Banquet Chinese, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Hi RobK1982,

Thanks for your review about your most recent visit with us. We appreciate the feedback, but we would like to make some
things clear - since we have taken over the Banquet Chinese (formerly known as Banquet 1408), the head chef and all the dishes have remained the same. We will be looking to make some changes to our menu and will let all our customers know.

Please be assured that we try our best to cater the taste of all our customers and we would like to apologise if it hasn’t met your standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2018 via mobile

6 of us decided to ‘test’ the new management on 25th April. Been many times before and was a little apprehensive as there are some negative reviews since new management took over. We needn’t have worried. All was as before. Excellent food and service. Maybe a little pricey but as a special treat, we can’t complain. Set menus are very good and portions sufficient.

Thank ColchesterJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vincent c, Owner at Banquet Chinese, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Dear ColchesterJohn,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

To hear that we passed your 'test' is very pleasing!

We have tried very hard to maintain standards and hope to improve them further in the future.

We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Banquet Chinese also viewed

 
Layer de la Haye, Colchester
 

Been to Banquet Chinese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing