We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Weather Not Permitting”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Caravan/mobile home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Skegness, Lincolnshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ramboryan
Malvern
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Weather Not Permitting”
Reviewed 22 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Private hired the caravan my family and I hired for an 8 day stay
was just as I had hoped. It was just big enough for the 3 adults
and 2 kids that make up our family.

Situated at South View Holiday Park we were just 2 miles from Skegness
And about 3 from the fun fair and Butlin’s at Ingoldmells, John Gunn the
owner was there to welcome us and help us through the fundamentals before
leaving us to get ourselves installed.

We were only required to supply our own bed linen, towels, and wiping up cloths.
I was impressed by the living area with more than enough room for the 5 of us.
It was clean with 2 toilets, one en suite, good sized kitchen, and large balcony, the caravan
was situated in a central position not far from anything.

The park has a lot going for it but has its limitations. The bar purportedly caters for 250 persons
And with a park of over 150 caravans a rainy day will easily over crowd it, even with a recent
Rebuild due to a recent fire. Worse is the swimming pool where sessions are on a waiting list and
governed by pretty limited sessions.

Now I aware that the Parks owners are not responsible for the vagrancies of UK weather but
when it does teem down for hours on end, which it frequently does, and did, folk turn to their own
private entertainment which is invariably the internet. Such was the case for us. 2 tablets and 1 Laptop.
Yes it rained and NO signal possible. 2 very disappointed boys.

Not the fault of the caravan owners but it takes the edge off a day and evening enforced to home (caravan)
due to the weather or young children past their out time.

Bearing in mind the lack of internet, TV is of course the favourite media. Now I don’t know what
the signal is like over the entire site, but in the caravan it was very poor. Every time a lorry bus or car
passes the van we lose picture. So quite often this leaves just an early to bed night. Not quite what we
had envisaged. So pouring outside, no (or little TV options) no internet to bed to sleep or otherwise Hey Ho!

Nevertheless the better days made up for the grotty ones and the caravan was welcome retreat from the latter.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean caravan. Access to many local features/
Liked least: Lack of adequate TV and internet.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2015
Thank you for your review we're really pleased you enjoyed your stay. We agree completely with the points made about the entertainment outlets and we can confirm that the park has plans to expand the Showbar over the winter in late 2015 to early 2016 which will ease the pressure during busy times. I dare say the next upgrade will be the pool; the site undertake regular improvements and I would very surprised if there was no plans to expand the pool again. We have seen parks that go for years upon years with no improvements so we're very fortunate that the management team are always looking at how to improve upon the facilities for owners and guests however during peak season it would be impossible to provide facilities that could cater for absolutely everyone.

Internet wise, there is WiFi at a couple of places on site but the site-wide WiFi is not yet in place as it is with some other parks; we don't have a concrete date for this yet but it will be coming to Southview.

As for the TV, I've asked to have the areal checked to see if the fittings need tightening, we really appreciate this as feedback as we can't attend to things we're not aware of so thank you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
net-n-and...
derby
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely”
Reviewed 5 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

On south view park which is a walk away from Skegness town,buses run regular from in and just outside the park.Plenty of things to keep the kids busy on the park itself. The caravan was gorgeous, roomy, and very clean, will be using this again next time we visit.

Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2015
Thank you for your kind words and for staying with us, we're really pleased you liked the caravan as much as you did it is one of our most popular without a doubt. I hope we see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ninjazx9r...
Spilsby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Couldn't ask for more”
Reviewed 27 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Well, what can I say......awesome.

John was so helpful and was always at the end of the line for any questions we had. The caravan was as described and was clean and well stocked with the basics needed for a short break.

I highly recommend this accommodation and will keep it in my favourites for when my family visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The caravan owner
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2018
thankyou for your review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing