We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“wonderful”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Open plan living room with views of the orchard. Super sunny kitchen, fully equipped for cooking at home.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Open plan living room with views of the orchard.
Super sunny kitchen, fully equipped for cooking at home.
Italian leather sofa for four - settle down in comfort with a bottle of wine to watch a good film!
Cosy wood burner with a full log basket, kindling and fire lighters on arrival.
Rest assured memory foam topped mattress in the king sized bedroom for a great nights sleep.
Built in 1873, and one of three adjoining farm cottages which belonged to the Apethorpe Estate.
Plenty of space for coats and boots after a walk in the woods.
A sunny spot in the garden for lazing away those lovely summer days or eating out in the evening.
May - the orchard in full bloom.
Beautiful bluebells, wild garlic and primroses to be seen in nearby nature reserves.
The Haycock, Wansford - and many more great eating places nearby!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Stamford, Lincolnshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
carol s
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“wonderful”
Reviewed 21 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We stayed here for three nights and thought it was fantastic.It was home from home with everything you would need.It is in a beautiful area out in the countryside but not far from Peterborough or Stamford.We didn't get chance to explore the grounds as we were here to visit family but the views are wonderful.Loved the three friendly sheep in the field next to the cottage.Katheryn and her husband were very helpful especially after we had locked ourselves out.Everything in the cottage is top quality and the beds are so comfortable.Just one little thing maybe another armchair instead of the large footstool would be better .Thats just us though and not a critisism.We would definatly stay here again when we are down to visit our family.Cant speak highly enough of The Rest and Be Thankful.A big thank you to Kathryn and her husband

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2017
Thank you Carol for such a glowing review! It was lovely to have you here - so glad you made friends with the lamb rams in the orchard. We are very lucky here to be just enough off the beaten track for peace and quiet and yet be so convenient fo local towns. Hopefully we will see you again next time you visit your family - and many thanks for leaving the cottage spotless!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Great cottage with lovely hosts”
Reviewed 22 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We had a lovely time would recommend to any one. If you are looking for a restful retreat then this is the place

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2017
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us, relaxed and took in some if the local towns and sights. Thank you so much for the treats you left for the dogs, horse and us - it was very thoughtful and much appreciated. We would love to see you again anytime you need a restful break.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise d
Belfast
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Bliss...Peace....Heaven...dog and people friendly!”
Reviewed 7 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Inside the cottage was of the highest standard, a real home from home. Everything you needed in kitchen. State of the Art Air Con downstairs for cold and hot days.
Hosts were absolutely wonderful. Couldn't do enough. I had parents and 3 dogs with us - rules were set out in a really pleasant way, regarding dogs etc, to make sure everyone keeps the premises beautiful, which I appreciated.
The cottage was right near Sulehay Nature Reserve area and old quarry. So nice just to walk out of gate just a small distance and find a great, safe, walk for my car obsessed dogs.
So many attractions nearby - Burghley House, amazing pub restaurants, Stamford, Rutland haunts. The list goes on.
All I can say to finish is...I arrived in need of a holiday, stressed from a crazy work schedule and the very first day had relaxed completely in this peaceful, charming cottage. Will be back, if the hosts will have us!!!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2017
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. So glad you relaxed, rested and enjoyed your time here. We would love to see you and the dogs again any time! Kind regards to your parents. Kathryn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissMaggi...
Frome, United Kingdom
1 review
“Idyllic setting and all the creature comforts you need!”
Reviewed 1 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We had a lovely stay at the cottage. My daughter was very taken with the ewes and their lambs in the orchard, and we were delighted with how immaculate everything was and the comfy beds. Kathryn made us feel very welcome and even provided bread, milk and other essentials. We would love to come and stay again next year please!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2017
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us - it was a pleasure to have you! We would love to see you again next year. Hopefully you might be be able to extend it a few days to explore more of this lovely area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles B
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy, Comfortable, Characterful Accommodation with modern convenience”
Reviewed 6 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The surrounding area is blessed with lovely walks, beautiful scenery and a truly restful and peaceful charm. Within easy travelling distance an abundance of lovely gardens and boundless history are accessible. Great market towns, amazing grand estates and we were not disappointed with any of the eateries recommended by our helpful hosts. The cottage was well equipped in all respects and at the time we visited the very effective wood burner was much appreciated and ensured we were able to review our day in warmth and comfort. Very highly recommended!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 May 2017
So glad you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for your kind comments, it was our pleasure to have you to stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing