We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage and very nice people”
other travellers have booked this property
Candlelight Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Candlelight Cottage
The cottage Living & kitchen areas
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
Candlelight Cottage
The cottage
Living & kitchen areas
Living area
Our stained glass window
Upstairs king-size bedroom
Upstairs king-size bedroom
Burghley House, Stamford (10 mins)
Nearby River Nene (1/2 mile)
Rutland Water (15 mins)
Stamford (10 mins)
Peterborough Cathedral (15 mins)
Lincoln
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Converted chapel -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Stamford, Lincolnshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sightseer...
1 review
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 13 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The Cottage was well situated for the places we wanted to visit and OK for a disabled person with reduced mobility. However the outside pictures are very out of date. The fence is now a high dark hedge. The outside facilities were damaged, dirty and dingy. The bathroom had no hot water supply to the tap. The owner explained that it would be fixed if the part arrived. It didn't and we weren't offered a refund of any kind, which would have been a nice gesture. The beds did not have any covering on the mattresses apart from thin sheets. This was both uncomfortable and unhygienic. It really needs to be looked after with a little more love and care.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2016
I'm very sorry that you were disappointed with your stay and that you did not feel able to raise any of your concerns with us even though we live next door and stressed we were available to help. If I may take your points in order:
Since the photos were taken the trellis fencing is now covered in fragrant honeysuckle, jasmine and climbing roses. Most guests appreciate the extra privacy and scents this provides. When the flowering season has finished they will be cut back.
The wooden table and chairs set is now looking a little tired at the end of a hard season and has been replaced. However the previous set was perfectly serviceable and has been enjoyed by guests throughout the summer.
As I explained when you arrived, when preparing the cottage for you we found that the under-sink water heater that supplies one basin tap in the bathroom had sprung a leak and needed to be isolated. We immediately ordered a replacement but unfortunately it did not arrive in time to be fitted during your short stay. When we discussed this you stressed that it would not be an inconvenience for you, especially as the shower and other taps in the bathroom were unaffected. I feel it unfair for you to now say that it was a major issue and that you should have had a refund.
The beds are covered with mattress protectors and 200 thread bed linen, I'm not sure what more we could provide. The mattresses themselves are good quality and we often receive comments about how comfortable they are.
The feedback you have left is totally out of line with the feedback and scores we receive on this and other review sites. On behalf of other owners whose properties you may stay at in the future I would ask that you please discuss any concerns you have with them during your stay and give them the opportunity to help you rather than unfairly criticise later.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veronica...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage and very nice people”
Reviewed 28 July 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Yes very good the cottage was well positioned for us to explore the arerer we were interested in. Nice and peacfull, the family were very helpfull, and all three of us had a bery enjoyable holiday

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armin S
1 review
“Very friendly, our dogs were welcome”
Reviewed 25 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

It was a bit difficult to come to the Cottage because we had to walk throug the garden from the owner.
The Cottage was very clean except the pans.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tralew
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Comfortable, quiet and cosy retreat in a beautiful village with walks from the door!”
Reviewed 26 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We had a really comfortable stay at Candlelight Cottage. We stayed on a couple of the coldest nights in autumn but the cottage was beautifully warm. It is located adjacent to the owners property down a little garden path but is self contained and private with it's own private outdoor area. The cottage is well equipped and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay especially the peace and quiet. There are various walks straight from the door which is brilliant for those people with dogs. Many sightseeing attractions are within easy driving distance. The owners are kind and welcoming but unobtrusive. They left some welcome goodies for us on our arrival, even a ball for Vinnie, our Weimaraner. We would definitely stay again and would recommend this cottage to others. Thank you to Paul and Judy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quirkiness of the building and the peace and quiet
Liked least: The position of the sofas - the owner was happy for us to move these during our stay
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christoph...
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfortable well equipped accommodation well located for local attractions.”
Reviewed 30 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My son and I spent a weeks fishing holiday in the area and Candlelight Cottage was ideally located and equipped for our purpose. The cottage had everything we needed for our break and was well located for those wishing to visit local attractions. Oundle is only 6 miles away and has a good selection of restaurants, takeaways and pubs - ideal for the evening's entertainment. I recommend this cottage.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing