We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive ”

Harvester - Bassett's Pole
Ranked #108 of 236 Restaurants in Sutton Coldfield
Price range: USD 4 - USD 20
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: At Harvester Bassetts Pole in Sutton Coldfield food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.If you're looking for a family friendly restaurant in Sutton Coldfield, there's nowhere more popular than Harvester. Close to Four Oaks, Drayton Bassett and Mere Green, our restaurant is a great choice for anyone who loves tasty grills, indulgent desserts and eating out in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Plus we've loads of choices for young guests.
Reviewed 4 May 2018 via mobile

Large group of us went and got to say we had a great meal.

Service was amazing. I know people don't really want to be at work but all staff gave the impression that they enjoyed being at work and really wanted us to have an enjoyable time. I eat out a fair bit at all sorts of places and it's a rarity to get such genuine good service with staff that want to help. Bev looked after our table bit other staff were just as helpful.

All of our party enjoyed their meals and got to say the dessert portions were huge.

Even though it was a chain (No disrespect intended) it felt like a real treat.

Thanks

Thank MrBG19801980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester - Bassett's Pole, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

We're happy to hear you had such a positive experience with our team! Your recommendation means so much to us and we're so happy to have earned it. Thank you again for taking the time to let the world know about your positive experience. Have a great day!
Kind Regards
Susan Wright and Team at Bassett's Pole.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (534)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 534 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2018

Had a lovely meal here great food & good service although was a little expensive but at least you get what you pay for, mid the cost I'll probably visit here again soon.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester - Bassett's Pole, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Tom G, we are very happy we could provide you with a positive experience! I am happy to pass on your positive feedback to the great team we have here. Thank you again for leaving us this response!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018

The of us went to the restaurant tonight for my birthday. Nice welcome, seated in a fairly quiet corner and were given menus.
My menu was as sticky as hell and I had till use a hand while to clean it before I could even handle it. We ordered drinks and then, while we were waiting to order we noticed that there were white shots all over the dark grey wall next to where we were sitting and that there was more on the pictures and the dado rail looked like it hadn't been wiped over for a long while. We did point this out to a member of staff. There was also large chunks of plaster out of the wall right by the corner of the table. There was also quite a lot of rubbish on the floor underneath the table. We pointed the situation out to a member of staff and, in view of the dirty wall, we asked if we could move to a another table, which we did. We noticed that the same white spots were all over the wall and the window glass. We made sure we stayed away from the wall. The meals arrived, 2 out of the 3 were acceptable but the third, fish and chips, was not. The fish was swimming in oil which made it completely unpalatable for my daughter. We did point this out to the server who did offer to replace it, however my daughter declined the offer as it had put her off. When we received the bill the server had not charged for the fish and chips.
On the whole, not the celebratory night out we expected.

1  Thank Janice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester - Bassett's Pole, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Hi Janice,
We appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one. We will address the décor with our maintenance department and get the paintwork seen to. The other cleaning issues have been dealt with. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will use your comments to refine our efforts to ensure this issue does not happen again.

Kind Regards
Susan Wright

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018 via mobile

My partner and I decided on a late Sunday lunch with a toddler, staff were great and very understanding, food was lovely, will be returning!

Thank Laura Lou B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester - Bassett's Pole, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Hi Laura Lou B, we are very happy to have provided you with such a positive experience! Here at harvester we cater for everyone, the team are pleased you enjoyed your food We look forward to your next visit! Take care.

Russell Armshaw Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

I visited here Sunday 15/4/2018 with two other family members.

We’re were greeted by manager Susan who was very pleasant and seated us in a quiet corner which was just what we wanted!

3 minutes later we were greeted by the bubbly Vicki who was very polite with a attitude like a breath of fresh air. She order our drink and meal and came back to us with the drink very promptly.

The mains came out fairly quickly and looked delicious! I had the Halloumi and chips which was great! Very tasty!

The other two meals were the Caribbean chicken and Spicy chicken and prawn combo.

The sauce wasn’t that nice apparently, so maybe in future it would better served in a separate vessel, rather than over the chicken. Aside from that though, very filling and very good!

Great Job! See you again soon!

Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester - Bassett's Pole, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Ryan M, your wonderful feedback and rating mean a lot to us. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you soon, take care.
Kind Regards
Helen Cartwright

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harvester - Bassett's Pole also viewed

Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
 
Middleton, Warwickshire
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
 
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
 

Been to Harvester - Bassett's Pole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing