We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,766)
Filter reviews
1,766 results
Traveller rating
359
414
378
321
294
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
359
414
378
321
294
Show reviews that mention
All reviews overlooking the lake leisure facilities afternoon tea groupon deal sauna and steam room health club buffet style drayton manor birmingham event venue
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 1,766 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2018

We have just returned from a weekend stay at this pleasant hotel. It was ideal for what we wanted, which was a visit to the National Memorial Arboretum. There is no problem parking as this hotel has a very large car park. It is surrounded with trees and gives it a nice outlook. Our bedroom was very clean and it appeared to have been recently refurbished, bathroom very good. Thr restaurant is in a great setting with very good food, however the staff put the icing on the cake, they were excellent. Bar prices not too bad and quite a good choice of drinks. Would visit again certainly.

Stayed: September 2018
Thank bryanjohn05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018 via mobile

Upon arrival we were checked in efficiently & made our way to the bar, which was a lovely area to the left of reception; after a couple of drinks with my colleagues I decided to go to my room, where I was extremely underwhelmed, there was loose change and hair slides on the floor, the room also housed 3 spiders, a dead wasp and there were multiple cob webs dangling from the ceiling. The kettle in the room was also cracked leaving the wires exposed. Everything is dated, which I could have coped with, if it weren’t the fact it was also dirty. Another one of my colleagues, staying in a separate room to me was also less than impressed with her room, which had a funny smell and was also dirty.
We went to reception and the staff, when they eventually realised we were there, were very helpful and quick to swap our rooms for us. The rooms we were moved to, were cleaner- however it is clear the hotel needs modernising as it is in an ill state, with peeling wall paper, well worn carpets & dated, dirty features.
Despite the nice bar & lovely surroundings, it is definitely not a place I would recommend nor book again.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank Leah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018

Recently stayed here for the night for our wedding anniversary,having got married here some years ago,We booked the stay through a groupon deal as it looked good value £79 for bed,breakfast and evening meal.Have to say we where really impressed we got upgraded to a suite overlooking the lake and the food for dinner and breakfast was lovely-had use of the pool and saunas and gym -really nice-bar area has a nice ambiance in the evening and all the staff where very attentive.
Definitely will stay again.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018 via mobile

Manual check in with a nice queue, couldn’t find payment details, mattress of stone, no air con, no plug by bed, no room service or menu in room and only terrestrial tv on the worlds first flat screen. Just garbage really - don’t waste your money and god help you if it was a romantic weekend away you were looking for

Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

We were advised on phoning up the hotel was a 15 minute walk from the train station (Chester Road) but in fact it is more like 25 minutes. Arriving after a long walk (in the wet!) first impressions are of a beautiful building set in beautiful grounds. Reception was ok but nothing special and the long walk to our room revealed further evidence of blandness and bad repair with poor decoration, damaged carpets and a very dated blue corridor.

Still the room itself was a huge improvement with a large comfy bed, desk, really nice arm chair, TV and drinks tray. Bathroom was well equipped with shower gels and the like. Main downside was a mouldy bathroom ceiling which was distinctly unattractive.
A late night request for extra milk was put through by reception to the bar, but nobody ever turned up which was annoying.

Breakfast at £10 per head is a bargain with a full help yourself buffet, friendly welcoming staff and a really nice dining room. The equivalent in-room service at £20 per head seems rather steep as an alternative!

Despite a wedding going on, we had a great quiet nights sleep with a radiator for warmth and windows for air conditioning, although there was a stand alone fan as a nod to the recent heatwave but with no air-con Im glad we weren't staying then!

Sunday checkout at 2pm is excellent and allowed us to spend a lazy morning around the pool enjoying the steam room, jacuzzi and sauna. Facilities were fine but from about 11am when some of the other guests turned up it got rather rowdy with a group of noisy lads larking and jumping around and two teenage girls doing a facebook live presentation. Despite staff being around, nobody made any effort to enforce the rules clearly displayed.
Not directly the hotels fault, but their recommended local taxi company (Star taxi) also failed to turn up when requested but the local Uber service were a very satisfactory replacement.
At the price point on offer and with a good nights sleep behind us I would return to this hotel if in the area in the future but there were too many times where the hotel could have done things so much better with a bit more care and attention to decoration and detail.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews