We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect!”

Review of Rock Farm

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Taunton, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Louise M
1 review
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 8 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

I was hoping for a lot from the previous reviews...and it didn't disappoint! It was the perfect setting for my friend's hen do, everyone had a brilliant time.
The house is luxurious yet full of character, the views are stunning and the facilities were all top notch. The secluded spot is ideal for a rowdy bunch to relax and not worry about disturbing others with their fun.
A great find!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bedroom decor
Liked least: The many cupboards were so well equipped there was actually little space for our produce!
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2016
Thank you for the great review Louise. We are happy to hear you had a such a good hen weekend. Rock Farm is the perfect spot for a group get together and you have the added bonus of spectacular views. Kind regards, Kerry and the Woodlands Retreats Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmaihalda...
1 review
“Perfect!!!”
Reviewed 20 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Perfect weekend getaway for my Hen do. Fabulous views, peaceful setting, very very clean and everything you could possibily need in a house. We had fantastic weather allowing us to sit outside every morning for breakfast. Lovely meal at the local pub just a short walk. We also had great fun horse riding (quantock trekking)! Such a superb house for a relaxing weekend! Definitely will be coming back!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2016
We are so glad that your hen weekend went to plan and that Rock Farm was perfect for what you wanted. We take pride in making sure the house is clean and tidy for each new guest, and that the walk down to the local pub was worth it. We hope to see you back again in the future.
Many thanks Ed & the team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for such a positive review of Rock Farm. It really is located in a beautiful spot, made that bit nicer by the lovely weather you had for your weekend celebrations. We are glad that you had a great break away and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Many thanks Ed and The Woodlands Retreats Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Sep 2015
Thank you for your great review. We're so glad you enjoyed the house and the local activities. It is the perfect spot for riding and spending time outdoors. Kind regards, Kerry and the Woodlands Retreats Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ClaireTun...
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing Group Holiday Accommodation ”
Reviewed 11 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed at Rock Farm in August 2015. We were a group consisting of seven couples and a baby. We were looking for a luxurious cottage which allowed the fifteen of us to spend time together and have fun where we wouldn't be a nuisance to surrounding neighbours: Rock Farm was just perfect!

All of the living areas are perfect for such a large group which meant that we could share eachothers company whether we were chilling out infront of the TV, sharing a meal at the dining table, soaking up the sun on the terrace or playing cricket on the lawn. We had a BBQ one night and really appreciated the large gas barbecue with plenty of plates, utensils and pretty much everything else you need. It was good to have the novelty of the Aga but the practicality of the standard oven. The hot tub was also great. We even got up early one morning to watch the sunrise in the hot tub.

We walked over to The Rising Sun and had Sunday lunch with them. They were happy to take a booking for such a large group and were very accommodating. It was slightly more expensive than we'd hoped (£12 - £20 for a main meal, £6 for desserts), especially for soft drinks where it was only £0.35 more to have a pint of ale than a pint of coke! Anyway...it was lovely to have a country pub within walking distance.

The quality of the accommodation was top notch. The fixtures, fittings and decorations were of a high standard and the beds were very comfortable. The karaoke in the games room was a great touch - we had a fabulous time singing out hearts out and as it is so isolated we had no fear of disturbing others.

I would not hesitate to return to Rock Farm and will be actively recommending it to others. It is slightly more expensive than other properties but you get what you pay for: the quality of the accommodation at Rock Farm is second to none.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for such a glowing review of Rock Farm. We have worked hard to get it just right, so to know it works so well for large groups such as yours is great. Sitting in the hot tub watching the sun rise and set is a real treat and we are glad that you could experience that at Rock Farm. We hope to see you back again soon.
Ed and The Woodlands Retreats Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing