We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and interesting”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wakefield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Upper Midgley Farm B&B
Ranked #4 of 10 Wakefield B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 June 2015

The basics first. Very friendly and unfussy welcome. Good sized room - we paid for the slightly larger one which had a lovely sunset view - sunset not guaranteed but we were lucky. Be warned - low beams - non-hobbity folk beware. Breakfast cooked fresh and fast - a couple of offbeat options made a welcome change from the ubiquitous "full English": Smoked salmon and scrambled egg is on the list to emulate at home. Horses and ponies in stables and paddocks : riding lessons going on: not the sort of thing you get in the bog standard B&B. There is also a very pleasant nature walk through adjoining woods with info panels and an exercise cluster which we happened upon by accident. Dinner is either a walk to nearby pub or a drive into Wakefield: lunch out and a snack in the room OK by us. A small shared fridge is provided - nobody pinched the wine. Payment by cash or cheque a slight problem but not a deal breaker. Very convenient for Yorkshire Sculpture Park. We'd be happy to stay again when our wheels take us that way.

Room Tip: Family room for view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank foyle3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2015

The room was excellent - we stayed in the family room and it was lovely to have somewhere to sit other than the bed! everything we wanted was in the room including a sewing kit. Breakfasts were substantial but the owners were very happy to make changes to fit our needs. The owners also gave good recommendations for eating in the evening.

The only downside was that the room wasn't made up during our visit which meant that it was necessary to ask for extra tea. However, we did appreciate the fresh milk and the proper Yorkshire tea rather than the cheap tea-bags you often find in hotels and bed and breakfasts.

Room Tip: Ask for the family room if you like more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank greendove2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2015 via mobile

Do mind your head if staying in the twin bedroom, to avoid banging her head on the low beam above the beds my wife turned the bed around. Rooms are not serviced in the day. Excellent generous breakfast, and a very pleasant couple own the farm/bed and breakfast.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Zaniskull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2015

We've just spent two nights at Upper Midgley Farm B&B whilst we were visiting The Hepworth Wakefield and The Yorkshire Sculpture Park - the B&B is perfectly situated to reach both. We received a warm welcome, the room was clean and extremely comfortable, with everything we could possibly need, from tea and coffee with fresh milk (stored in a fridge on the landing so you don't hear it running all night) and biscuits and bottles of water, to an array of wash accessories and enormous, soft towels. It's a working farm, but we weren't disturbed by anything going on outside, and it's in a beautiful location that felt like it was in the middle of nowhere, but was still within easy reach. The full English cooked breakfast was incredible - so very tasty and freshly cooked to order. It really set us up for the day! Excellent value for money and we highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We stayed in room three, which had an enormous and very comfortable bed, and a small but perfectly a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2015 via mobile

The rooms are a delight and so is the food, the owner is friendly. The room that I stayed in was splendid, very clean and had everything I ever needed! And in the mornings, I had a wide selection of wonderful breakfast all cooked for me there and then! I do highly recommend this sweet spot in the English country side.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled solo
2  Thank Neil-Sandison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wakefield hotels
5.4 km away
Dimple Well Lodge
Dimple Well Lodge
#2 of 2 in Ossett
259 reviews
6.4 km away
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
#1 of 1 in Newmillerdam
939 reviews
6.9 km away
Ramada Wakefield
Ramada Wakefield
#2 of 2 in Ossett
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 km away
Waterton Park Hotel
5 km away
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
#1 of 1 in Calder Grove
1,447 reviews
8.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Wakefield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Wakefield

Been to Upper Midgley Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Upper Midgley Farm B&B

Address: Midgley Hurst Bar Lane, Wakefield WF4 4JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wakefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Wakefield
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Farmhouse Bed And Breakfast Highly Rated by Our Guests, Convenient for Yorkshire Sculptor Park, The Hepworth, Wakefield And The National Coal Mining Museum ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Upper Midgley Farm Bed And Breakfast
Upper Midgley Farm Hotel Wakefield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing