We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
USD 112
View deal
Free cancellation until 14/05/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
USD 112
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/05/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
USD 112
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/05/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
eDreamsUSD 112
PricelineUSD 112
FindHotelUSD 112
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,373)
Filter reviews
1,373 results
Traveller rating
667
406
175
83
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
667
406
175
83
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spa break health club town centre lovely hotel relaxation room course meal function room every member of staff wedding venue afternoon tea full english food was lovely fantastic stay excellent value for money from start to finish stayed here for one night could not fault
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 1,373 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2020 via mobile

Centrally located in Darlington, good value at £63 per night for a decent room, with breakfast included.

Staff very attentive and courteous, breakfast excellent, and attention to hygiene and cleaning protocols for Coronavirus noticeable.

Strong Anthropological links!

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank charlielX6263JK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John Price, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2020

Dear charlielX6263JK,

Thank you for the lovely review. I have shared this with the rest of the team. Glad you felt safe and we hope to welcome you back very soon.

Best Wishes, John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2020

The covid safety arrangements in place were reassuring, but not uncomfortable.
staff were very helpful and friendly, especially those serving in the restaurant, where there was a good range of food.
The room was comfortable, but very hot and did not have air conditioning.
The shower was very low down, so if you are tall it is quite awkward.
We stayed here on a groupon deal and we were happy with it for the price.

Date of stay: July 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJGGnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John Price, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2020

Dear NJGGnome,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. Great to see you felt comfortable with our COVID safety measures - we have received positive feedback regarding the team, procedures and the social distancing around the hotel.

Hope to see you again very soon.

Best Wishes, John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2020

Pretty central with the centre of town only a 5/10 min walk away with parking available on site. Check in process was good and explained the covid stuff. Room was great and vert spacious, we got a room upgrade from bookings.com. Had a big bed and a sofa. Breakfast was excellent, I had the full english and my Partner had the eggs and salmon as pictured. All in all a great stay at a great price.

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jamesbond007_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John Price, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2020

Dear jamesbond007_10,

Thank you for the fabulous review. Great feedback which has been shared with the team.

Hopefully get chance to look after you again in the near future.

Best Wishes, John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2020

Fantastic hotel with exceptional staff. Hotel room was spacious and exceptionally clean,everything you would expect. ALL staff that we encountered were highly professional and welcoming and the food was delicious too, esp the eggs benedict for breakfast!

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank A2166LSstevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John Price, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2020

Dear A2166LSstevens,

Thank you for the wonderful review. It has been a pleasure to look after you and thanks for recommending the Eggs Benedict.

See you soon.

Best Wishes, John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2020 via mobile

Windows wet inside.
Dust covered windows.
No soap or hand sanitizer in bathroom.
Worryingly rather than find lightbulbs that fit they've cut a gap in the mirror light fitting, not that it works anyway.
TV didn't have BBC channels.
Lift still does not work properly since May 19 visit
We were told all rooms would be updated by the end of 2019, they've not been.
Side of the bath caved in.
Toilet paper 1 ply.
Swapped wine for Apple Juice, then they tried to charge for it, despite saying it was okay.

We paid for all you can eat buffet breakfast, now they will not let you have more than one thing, the food was poor. For example one pudding, despite it not being on the ingredients, pecans were added, on breakfast there was black pudding added, vile, not on the menu list, same for toffee pudding, random added items, one of which, Strawberries, quite a few people are allergic too, if these are visible issues what else goes on.
The condiments are stacked on the tables were you wait for a table at breakfast.
Chef is no good, overcooked eggs, so basic, I left it.
We came back on a promise, from 2019 these issues would be sorted.

Beyond disappointing, this is meant to be good, I've stayed at a cheaper chain hotel down the road, and will go there next time. I mean even the pictures on the walls are crocked.

Given it's so close to head office they should do better. I suspect if Duncan visited he'd be appalled.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank indofraiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John Price, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2020

Dear indofraiser,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. Sorry to see that you have not enjoyed many aspects of your stay. We have taken on board some of your issues to address with the team. Other issues have been adapted due to the COVID procedures put in place and other issues appear to be the hotel is not to your personal liking.

All feedback is welcome and we will be a better hotel for this.

Best Wishes, John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews