We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Still good, but could do better”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Retreat

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bedroom View
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Bedroom
View
Kitchen
Living Area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Poole, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BilkoShef...
Sheffield
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Still good, but could do better”
Reviewed 26 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Stayed here the same week last year.
Not much I can say about the position or type of property. The only thing I would add are a little ongoing maintenance is required, living room carpet still has a large stain evident last year, £40 would get a contract cleaner in. Or better still lay laminate.
The white crockery has some chipped items, not acceptable in a hotel so not here. The wooden bath panel has suffered water damage, so could do with replacing.
A small input of cash to bring this property back to 100%.
Hope this is seen as constructive, as it is written that way.
We will be back again, just hope some of the above is done.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Position
Liked least: Stained carpet,
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2016
Thanks for your constructive comments – all of which are appreciated. We are re-reviewing the property liaising with the owner to make improvements that are due. We look forward to welcoming you again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travel_bu...
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A modern, well spec'ed, compact house in a great position overlooking the harbour”
Reviewed 5 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We booked a 7 day stay through Bookings.Com who put us in touch with the letting agent Quay Holidays LLP of Poole, Dorset. Having collected the keys from their offices in the High Street, where there are some short term parking spaces outside. We then made the short journey to Labrador Drive, which is set back from the sea front at Baiter Park and parked behind the property in the allocated space, which is approx.,10 meters from the single step up to front door. There are also 3 parking spaces for visitors to the estate in front of the property, but these were normally filled during our stay. On entering the property, we found everything was to our expectation, given we had seen photos and a description of the property on the Quay Holidays website. The property has a modern interior and furnishings together with a well spec'd kitchen and bathroom, making it a comfortable home from home experience. It is also only a 10 minute walk in to Poole. A nice touch is the welcome pack of tea, coffee, biscuits and wine in the fridge. In addition we liked the view across the harbour to Brownsea Island from the bedroom and made good use of the window blinds installed in the bedroom, which kept out the light from the street and side foot path lamps. We did find a problem with the bed / mattress on the first night and reported this the following morning. Quay Holidays involved the owner and the problem was quickly resolved the following day. In conclusion we really enjoyed our stay at The Retreat and would consider using again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Carpets showing signs of long term use
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BilkoShef...
Sheffield
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A REAL TREAT”
Reviewed 28 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This place ticked all the boxes, we find it so hard to find a good quality one bedroom place.
Well, weve found a gem here and have booked again for 2015
The place must have one of the best postions on the coast, not quite sea front but only yards away and you can see the sea.
The house itself has all that you could nned and all of a great quality.
Treat yourself to a week in Poole and recharge yourself.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denisewiz
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely, comfortable home. Excellent value”
Reviewed 28 May 2015 for a stay in March 2015

really lovely house, great location, 5 mins walkinto Poole. Views from living room and bedroom over the park onto the harbour. couldn't fault it. Would stay here again if we came back to Poole. Note, the car parking space is round the back ( a bit more secure) not in front of the property. Quay were very friendly to deal with, and we received our security deposit back within 2 weeks. Would be happy to rent another cottage from them.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Reviewed 21 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: kitchen
Liked least: bedroom needs a dressing table with light for ladies to put on makeup
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Nov 2012
Delighted you've enjoyed your stay. It is a beautiful house in a great location - we look forward to welcoming you back hopefully soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing