We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Thistle Poole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thistle Poole
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Keynsham.somerset
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Stayed at the Thistle, Poole Quay for 2 nights recently. Very good location right on the quayside, our room overlooked the water. The staff were excellent so was the room, everything was provided even biscuits and sweets. Breakfast was good with a lots to choose from. Plenty of parking at rear of Hotel and Bus Stop right outside. Numerous Pubs on the Quayside and Wetherspoons for a cheap meal. The Fish Restaurant nearby looked good. Tesco Express is almost next door. We enjoyed our stay immensly and would not hesitate to recommend to friends. We would love to stay again. Well done Thistle.

Room Tip: A room at the front with a sea view is a must!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rustysmum16b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Dear RustysMum16b
Thanks for taking the time to provide a review. It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you were wowed by our service, location and food quality.
I hope that we can welcome you back to Sunny Poole shortly.
Kind regards
Craig Findleton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    284
    189
    93
    52
See reviews for
126
410
24
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maida Vale
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We had a voucher deal from Living Social but were given Room 202, a sea view room. It probably helped that we went in February when things were quiet in the hotel. The room has a great view over the busy Poole Harbour, Browningsea Island and the Isle of Purbeck. We had views of the sunrise and sunsets, so the sunny winter weather helped.
Parking is £5 per day, you need to register your number with reception as soon as you arrive. Wifi is via a BT openzone voucher which costs £10 for 24 hours.
A good breakfast was included and the staff were very helpful. It was quiet so again we had a good panoramic view on both mornings. We spent most of our weekend in the Isle of Purbeck over the other side of the chain ferry from Sandbanks. I can definitely recommend the Bankes Arms in Studland and the walk from there to Old Harry's Rock

Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PaddingtonPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Dear PaddingtonPete
It is great to read that you have enjoyed your stay, in particular the fantastic view the Hotel has from the harbour-view rooms. The Hotel is ideally situated for outdoor activities - I agree with your comments about Old Harry's rock, as a team we are thinking about visiting as part of a "Get Fit" programme.
Kind regards
Craig Findleton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

After driving from Plymouth for 2 hours we decided to stop in Poole.Having stayed there 3 years ago we had seen that they had been refurbished. The hall has been finished everything else is the same,tired,old and in desperate need of gutting. We were a family of 4,16 year old daughter and a 7 year old boy,so we really needed separate beds for them which they informed us inordrer to do this we needed two rooms. £382 pound later for room only and for two nights only we took the rooms. The view was great. The beds were hard,bathroom tiles cracked,cheap toilet roll and stale smoke smell in the bathroom and in the hairdryer. They offerd us a cheaper breakfast rate of £60 for the 2 days. We went to Yates bar and had a great breakfast for under £15. I would think the hotel needs to take a step back and look at The Premier Inn or even the prices charged are The Marriott Hotel prices which this hotel is not. If you book here check you have an updated room..There are only 4 channels on the antique tv and £10 a day for any more. £10 a day for parking too. A pricey stay. Will return to The Premier Inn which is just down the road.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarahsowton75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Dear SarahSowton75
I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with your stay. Our bedrooms are suitable for triple occupancy and unfortunately are too small for four, which lead to you being sold two rooms, instead of one. I understand that this makes your stay more expensive, however I can assure you that our prices are comparable with other Hotels in the area. We are in the process of updating the Hotel through a planned maintenance programme and I am pleased to say that we are in the process of installing flat-screen televisions at the moment which I am sure will improve the guest experience immensely.
Kind regards
Craig Findleton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Poole hotels

harrow,london
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

we had a fantastic time in poole,hotel staff were friendly and helpful,breakfast was incredible and we had a meal in the restaurant and it was as good as we have had anywhere..we would reccomend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barrybazcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Dear Barrybazcam
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay, particularly that you had a good restaurant experience.
I hope we can welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Craig Findleton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

This hotel redeemed itself after a disastrous first night! Admittedly we had to book late as we were called down on business at the last minute; but the room in which we were accommodated, at no small tariff, was little more than a broom cupboard, with an ancient hot water radiator which had no thermostatic control, was literally hanging from the wall and made grunting and groaning noises throughout the night. The wall around the small window was blistered with damp, and there were no curtains in the bathroom, which, incidentally, also boasted a cracked sink.
Amazingly, after a call to our booking agent, we were relocated to a superb, capacious room with a sea view, binoculars even being provided for the enjoyment of guests. It's hard to believe the two rooms were in the same hotel.
The breakfasts left nothing to be desired, the service that we recieved was at all times curteous, professional and beyond expectations.
We also enjoyed a well presented and tasty meal in the restaurant.
I am aware that the hotel is in the process of being refurbished, but surely there is a standard to which a well known chain such as this should adhere? Clearly the second room had been available in the first night of our stay, would it not have been prudent to have located us there in the first place?

Room Tip: NOT room 225!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terrapin1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review, 19 February 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking time to provide a review on your stay. Please accept my apologies for the shortfalls in your original room, which I can assure you are an isolated issue. I am pleased that the team were able to recover the situation to your satisfaction. I have spoken to the Maintenance Manager and Housekeeper to ensure that the problems are rectified as soon as possible.

Kind regards

Craig Findleton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 13 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
4.0 km away
Harbour Heights Hotel
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Premier Inn Poole Centre (Holes Bay) Hotel
4.1 km away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
3.7 km away
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Poole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Poole

Property: Thistle Poole
Address: The Quay, Poole BH15 1HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Price range (per night): $124 - $270
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle Poole 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poole is a friendly, easy-going town, with its traditional Quay still very much at its heart. And that’s where you’ll find Thistle Poole, offering superb views over one of the world’s largest natural harbours, Brownsea Island and the Purbeck hills beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia APAC, Otel, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Thistle Poole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Poole Hotel Poole
Thistle Hotel Poole
Poole Thistle Hotel
Thistle Poole Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing