We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thistle Poole
Nearby Hotels
USD 137*
USD 125*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 252*
USD 239*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 172*
USD 155*
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 226*
USD 203*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 300*
USD 249*
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 181*
USD 163*
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel(Poole)(Great Value!)
USD 105*
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 106*
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
USD 79*
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,027)
Filter reviews
1,027 results
Traveller rating
282
346
233
108
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
282
346
233
108
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsharbour view restaurantexcellent locationharbour frontfirst floorbrownsea islandper daycar parkingpubs and restaurantsbit datedstayed for one nightwedding receptiona sea view roomhigh streetplenty of parkingafternoon teatown centreshort break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
873 - 878 of 1,027 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We had a voucher deal from Living Social but were given Room 202, a sea view room. It probably helped that we went in February when things were quiet in the hotel. The room has a great view over the busy Poole Harbour, Browningsea Island and the Isle of Purbeck. We had views of the sunrise and sunsets, so the sunny winter weather helped.
Parking is £5 per day, you need to register your number with reception as soon as you arrive. Wifi is via a BT openzone voucher which costs £10 for 24 hours.
A good breakfast was included and the staff were very helpful. It was quiet so again we had a good panoramic view on both mornings. We spent most of our weekend in the Isle of Purbeck over the other side of the chain ferry from Sandbanks. I can definitely recommend the Bankes Arms in Studland and the walk from there to Old Harry's Rock

Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
Thank PaddingtonPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2012

Dear PaddingtonPete
It is great to read that you have enjoyed your stay, in particular the fantastic view the Hotel has from the harbour-view rooms. The Hotel is ideally situated for outdoor activities - I agree with your comments about Old Harry's rock, as a team we are thinking about visiting as part of a "Get Fit" programme.
Kind regards
Craig Findleton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

After driving from Plymouth for 2 hours we decided to stop in Poole.Having stayed there 3 years ago we had seen that they had been refurbished. The hall has been finished everything else is the same,tired,old and in desperate need of gutting. We were a family of 4,16 year old daughter and a 7 year old boy,so we really needed separate beds for them which they informed us inordrer to do this we needed two rooms. £382 pound later for room only and for two nights only we took the rooms. The view was great. The beds were hard,bathroom tiles cracked,cheap toilet roll and stale smoke smell in the bathroom and in the hairdryer. They offerd us a cheaper breakfast rate of £60 for the 2 days. We went to Yates bar and had a great breakfast for under £15. I would think the hotel needs to take a step back and look at The Premier Inn or even the prices charged are The Marriott Hotel prices which this hotel is not. If you book here check you have an updated room..There are only 4 channels on the antique tv and £10 a day for any more. £10 a day for parking too. A pricey stay. Will return to The Premier Inn which is just down the road.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarahsowton75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2012

Dear SarahSowton75
I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with your stay. Our bedrooms are suitable for triple occupancy and unfortunately are too small for four, which lead to you being sold two rooms, instead of one. I understand that this makes your stay more expensive, however I can assure you that our prices are comparable with other Hotels in the area. We are in the process of updating the Hotel through a planned maintenance programme and I am pleased to say that we are in the process of installing flat-screen televisions at the moment which I am sure will improve the guest experience immensely.
Kind regards
Craig Findleton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

we had a fantastic time in poole,hotel staff were friendly and helpful,breakfast was incredible and we had a meal in the restaurant and it was as good as we have had anywhere..we would reccomend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barrybazcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2012

Dear Barrybazcam
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay, particularly that you had a good restaurant experience.
I hope we can welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Craig Findleton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

This hotel redeemed itself after a disastrous first night! Admittedly we had to book late as we were called down on business at the last minute; but the room in which we were accommodated, at no small tariff, was little more than a broom cupboard, with an ancient hot water radiator which had no thermostatic control, was literally hanging from the wall and made grunting and groaning noises throughout the night. The wall around the small window was blistered with damp, and there were no curtains in the bathroom, which, incidentally, also boasted a cracked sink.
Amazingly, after a call to our booking agent, we were relocated to a superb, capacious room with a sea view, binoculars even being provided for the enjoyment of guests. It's hard to believe the two rooms were in the same hotel.
The breakfasts left nothing to be desired, the service that we recieved was at all times curteous, professional and beyond expectations.
We also enjoyed a well presented and tasty meal in the restaurant.
I am aware that the hotel is in the process of being refurbished, but surely there is a standard to which a well known chain such as this should adhere? Clearly the second room had been available in the first night of our stay, would it not have been prudent to have located us there in the first place?

Room Tip: NOT room 225!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terrapin1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2012

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking time to provide a review on your stay. Please accept my apologies for the shortfalls in your original room, which I can assure you are an isolated issue. I am pleased that the team were able to recover the situation to your satisfaction. I have spoken to the Maintenance Manager and Housekeeper to ensure that the problems are rectified as soon as possible.

Kind regards

Craig Findleton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

The rooms are a little tired, and are under-going a refurbishment programme, but are clean and comfortable. The location is on the harbour looking out towards Brownsea Island, so you can walk to most places in Poole, or take a boat trip. A excellent position for a weekend break.All the staff were very friendly and helpful, and the bar and dining areas pleasent and comfortable.
An idea place for a weekend break.

Room Tip: Ask for harbour view rooms, these are light with nice view of the harbour
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gaser-bath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2012

Dear Reviewer
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and have highlighted the great service at the Hotel.
I hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews