We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
pentahotel Ipswich(Ipswich)(Great Value!)
USD 62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Novotel Ipswich(Ipswich)(Great Value!)
USD 74
USD 70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel(Ipswich)(Great Value!)
USD 75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 90
USD 88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 60
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Bentley Tower Hotel(Ipswich)(Great Value!)
USD 88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 84
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Ipswich Hotel(Ipswich)(Great Value!)
USD 57
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    Reviews (1,501)
    Filter reviews
    1,501 results
    Traveller rating
    997
    348
    100
    39
    17
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    997
    348
    100
    39
    17
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewscopper bathsail loftmarina roomthe penthousesalt housesister hotelscallopslovely hotelsuffolk breakfastin bury st edmundsafternoon teacar parkfront facingboutique hotelhuge bedbreakfast in bedsmall balcony
    Filter
    Updating list...
    52 - 57 of 1,501 reviews
    Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

    This place is a boutique retro style hotel set against Ipswich’s quayside. It’s well signposted and easy to find. The staff are very helpful along with concierge who take care of your car. What we liked is our room with an amazing view of the quay. The friendly helpful staff and everything iS unchain like here too. Breakfast is cooked to order no buffet breakfasts no waste, local ingredients just the right amount of everything, keep up the good work

    Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    Thank rubyruby2016
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Manager_GoughGroup, Manager at Salthouse Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

    Dear rubyruby2016,

    Thank you for your review.

    We pride ourselves as being independent and family run, so I'm really pleased that feeling came across to you during your stay.

    The staff really are amazing and I know they will be pleased to read your comments.

    Come back and see us again soon.

    Kind regards,
    Salthouse Harbour Hotel

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 3 April 2018

    Stayed here on Good Friday on a 25% off deal and it was excellent. Had a marina facing room with copper bath big enough for 2 overlooking the marina. It was amazing. Bedroom was nice, great bathroom and walk in shower and very comfy bed.
    We had a meal in the restaurant which was excellent and reasonably priced. Could not understand some previous peoples comments on limited menu as I could have tried most dishes. Breakfast the following day again was excellent and hot with a really good choice. The service from all the staff was excellent all round. Would highly recommend and will definitely be back.

    Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the marina with copper bath are fabulous.
    • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Rio35
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Manager_GoughGroup, Manager at Salthouse Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

    Dear Rio35,

    The Friday Quarters offer is a really good deal, especially in the Sail Loft Marina rooms with Copper Baths.

    We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future.

    Kind regards,
    Salthouse Harbour Hotel

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 3 April 2018

    Upon arrival the carpark was full but fortunately there was a member of staff there who said that we could hand over our keys to reception and they will park our car at an off site car park and bring it back round for us when we check out which was great. (luckily we didn’t use the car during out stay)

    Checking in, we was shocked at the amazing décor of the hotel and the staff were really friendly.

    Our room was lovely and clean and had a really good tea/coffee tray selection, although it would have been good if there was an iron available.

    Unfortunately when we came down for dinner there was no tables available but the lady on reception was really helpful and recommended some restaurants along the harbour that we could try.

    The bed was lovely and comfy however we did not get much sleep at all because it was really noisy above us, the floor was very creaky and you could hear every step. We was in room 302 and we thought that we must have been below a kitchen or staff room as the noise was all through the night until early hours of the morning.

    Because of this the late check out was amazing as we had a lay in and ordered our breakfast to our room which was lovely.

    Overall we was really happy with our stay, the only thing that let it down was the noisy nights sleep.

    Room Tip: Room 302 was extremely noisy and creaky from the floor above.
    • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank Tayla K
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Manager_GoughGroup, Manager at Salthouse Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

    Dear Tayla K,

    Thank you for your review.

    I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the hotel - the decor of the hotel is really stunning isn't it?

    The Eaterie does tend to get really busy so we always recommend booking a table before you arrive. Hopefully, next time you stay you'll be able to experience this as well.

    Kind regards,
    Salthouse Harbour Hotel

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

    I booked this hotel online not knowing much about it, I didn't look at reviews (I often don't) as I like trying new places. The hotel did not disappoint. The staff made us feel welcome, were efficient and polite, despite the short wait for our room. When we got to the room, i was very pleasantly surprised, it was spacious (especially by London standards) and we had a harbour view, even though we hadn't expected one. Dinner in the restaurant was very good, well cooked scallops, steak and fish and the atmosphere was relaxed. We also ate breakfast and Sunday lunch there, and I can honestly say that the roast Suffolk chicken lunch was the best I have eaten, and I've eaten a few!
    We only had one thing to complain about and that was that we had been roomed on the first floor, which on our first evening we realised was the dog friendly floor (we don't have a dog). Some irresponsible owners had left their dogs barking and whining in their rooms and after half an hour of this, we called reception. They immediately offered to move us to another floor and tried to locate the owners of the distressed dogs. Within ten minutes we were in a quiet room with a free drink. Problem resolved.
    If you are ever in Ipswich, I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and it's friendly, efficient staff.

    Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    Thank Sgibbcoy
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Manager_GoughGroup, Manager at Salthouse Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

    Dear Sgibbcoy,

    Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the hotel.

    I was really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. The staff will be particularly pleased to read your comments, as they work really hard to ensure our guests have a great time.

    We hope to see you again in the future.

    Kind regards,
    Salthouse Harbour Hotel

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 3 April 2018

    We stayed for one night one only as we were travelling around over the easter holidays. Having lived in Suffolk for a long time, I was aware of the hotel but had never stayed there and I must say it was worth the wait. The room was excellent and even though we had two adults and two kids in the same room, it was plenty big enough and had lovely views of the marina. They even left Easter eggs on the kids beds which we thought was a lovely touch and really made the stay extra special.
    The restaurant and bar downstairs were lovely and welcoming, breakfast was excellent and the general service was excellent.
    The only possible niggle (and it's very minor) is that the wifi can be very slow at times. But that's pretty much the only slight negative that can be found for such a lovely hotel. We will definitely stay here again.

    • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank Glen C
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Manager_GoughGroup, Manager at Salthouse Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

    Dear Glen C,

    Thank you for your lovely review.

    I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and the children like the Easter Eggs. Please do come back and see us again in the future.

    Kind regards,
    Salthouse Harbour Hotel

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews