We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,531)
Filter reviews
1,531 results
Traveller rating
1,023
350
101
39
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,023
350
101
39
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews copper bath sail loft marina room the penthouse salt house sister hotel scallops lovely hotel suffolk breakfast in bury st edmunds car park afternoon tea front facing small balcony boutique hotel huge bed breakfast in bed
Filter
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 1,531 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018

We stayed for one night one only as we were travelling around over the easter holidays. Having lived in Suffolk for a long time, I was aware of the hotel but had never stayed there and I must say it was worth the wait. The room was excellent and even though we had two adults and two kids in the same room, it was plenty big enough and had lovely views of the marina. They even left Easter eggs on the kids beds which we thought was a lovely touch and really made the stay extra special.
The restaurant and bar downstairs were lovely and welcoming, breakfast was excellent and the general service was excellent.
The only possible niggle (and it's very minor) is that the wifi can be very slow at times. But that's pretty much the only slight negative that can be found for such a lovely hotel. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Glen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_GoughGroup, Manager at Salthouse Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Glen C,

Thank you for your lovely review.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and the children like the Easter Eggs. Please do come back and see us again in the future.

Kind regards,
Salthouse Harbour Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

We have just spent a lovely weekend in this beautiful hotel . The staff were so attentive . The room was luxurious with stylish fittings . The art works adorning the hotel are terrific .The breakfast was excellent .

Stayed: April 2018
Thank David21032014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_GoughGroup, Manager at Salthouse Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear David21032014,

Thank you for your review and kind comments on the staff.

We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again.

Kind regards,
Salthouse Harbour Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed in the Salthouse for 2 nights in a harbour view room. The service was excellent throughout our stay and all the staff are very polite and friendly. Their car park is really small but we loved the fact they go and park your car themselves in an overflow car park and bring it back when you need it. Very handy indeed rather you driving up and down and looking for spaces. The check in was fast and efficient. Our room was on the 5th floor (there is a lift) and had a huge bed and a lovely view as advertised. The only thing to flag here was the temperature in the bathroom, it was really hot and I wasn't sure how to turn it off. The breakfast was really good, you could choose some cooked items or have a continental option. We didn't eat in the restaurant but the menu looked good and the restaurant was full both days we were there. The bar is nice too and we had a drink there on our last night. Overall, a very pleasant stay. Would really recommend it.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank kazia66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_GoughGroup, Manager at Salthouse Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear kazia66,

Thank you for your lovely review.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay overall and found everything so good. I will also make sure I pass on your comments regarding the staff as I know they wil be pleased to read them.

Hopefully, we'll see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Salthouse Harbour Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

One of the best hotels we have stayed in, in the UK.
Just a last minute getaway prompted by an email and a great find.
Room was quirky and large and really nice. Bed was large and comfortable, had a bath and a walk in shower and excellent breakfast included.
We couldn't book a harbour view room but although on the side still had a good view of the Harbour.
Have stayed in places where they claim a sea view where it has been much harder to see the sea, so they could definitely sell that room as a harbour view room but they didn't ... would definitely recommend.
PS. Ask for extra or firmer pillows they said "if you need anything just shout" and we should have done so our fault ... for not doing so ...

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank ecuyetx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_GoughGroup, Manager at Salthouse Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Dear ecuyetx,

Thank you for your review.

I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, the hotel really does have a great view of the Harbour.

Come back and see us again soon.

Kind regards,
Salthouse Harbour Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

We have stayed here before and have never been disappointed. We arrived Sunday and had a superb Sunday roast which was very good value £20 for two courses. I had roast pork which came with lots of lovely vegetables. The dessert I chose was a blueberry and apple crumble which was a very generous portion. The staff were very attentive. We stayed two nights in a harbour view room. The second day we had afternoon tea which again we really enjoyed. The hotel staff should be commended for their service and attentiveness. We will return to enjoy the experience again.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Owly62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_GoughGroup, Manager at Salthouse Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Dear Owly62,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, the Sunday roast is really good! I will make sure your comments about the staff are passed on as I know they will be pleased to read them.

Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,
Salthouse Harbour Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews