We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique & Authentic Italian”

Tavernetta Italian Restaurant
Ranked #77 of 478 Restaurants in Ipswich
Price range: USD 5 - USD 15
Description: Exclusive Italian restaurant in Ipswich. Authentic Italian cousin in a cosy and relaxing place when you can spend your time with gorgeous food and Italian wines. We serve: Italian pizza, Italian pasta, meat, fish, Sicilian dishes and Italian antipasti. All our dishes are made in traditional Italian way with a little touch of Sicily. We serve Italian wine and more. Big selection of spirits beers and cocktails. The best place to enjoy your time in a unique restaurant. It's available take away by collection.
Restaurant details
Description: Exclusive Italian restaurant in Ipswich. Authentic Italian cousin in a cosy and relaxing place when you can spend your time with gorgeous food and Italian wines. We serve: Italian pizza, Italian pasta, meat, fish, Sicilian dishes and Italian antipasti. All our dishes are made in traditional Italian way with a little touch of Sicily. We serve Italian wine and more. Big selection of spirits beers and cocktails. The best place to enjoy your time in a unique restaurant. It's available take away by collection.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

This restaurant is a real gem, as far as I know this is the only independently run Italian restaurant in Ipswich and it has a feel and atmosphere that you cannot get in chain restaurants. We visited this evening as a group of friends this and were delighted with our choice. The menu contains a wide range of dishes and offers a brilliant selection of choice. The drinks menu is even more impressive with a superb range of gins and spirits, you will literally be spoiled for choice! The food is freshly prepared and was completely delicious, everyone in our party loved the food they had chosen. The staff are attentive, friendly and welcoming. The interiors are uniquely decorated and the atmosphere is informal and comfortable. We will be gladly returning, this is the perfect place to go to celebrate a birthday, take friends and family or out for a romantic meal for couples. We thought that for the quality of the food and service the prices were extremely reasonable, portion sizes were generous and the olive and breads are fantastic, I would recommend the calamari.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ZooPip1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 47 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2018

We came across this restaurant by chance so booked an evening meal prior to a theatre visit. Wow, what a fabulous little restaurant. The ambience is typical rustic Italian and the food is the best Italian food I have had in this area for many years. The owner is welcoming and helpful and our waiter was pleasant and efficient. We will be back. I had the delicious swordfish and my husband a more traditional ragu and pasta dish. Both delicious and the calamari to start was very tasty, served with fresh salad and freshly baked bread. Superb!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Langer11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filippo B, Owner at Tavernetta Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018

How do you review when the problem is that the meal just was not to our taste. The flavours where not as good as we might have expected from what we thought would be a very authentic restaurant - not sure if this is because it was a cold February evening and the raw ingredients bought in the UK jut don't have the flavour of southern Italy, it just did not live up to expectations. Also very disappointed that the wine list did not include more Italian wines.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Amulus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filippo B, Owner at Tavernetta Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Dear Costumer,
Thanks for your review.
I'm really sorry if you don't like the taste of Sicilian Food.
Our recipes are 100% Sicilian, probably, you've never tried these flavors.
I invite you to try again maybe this time I'll change your mind.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

I came here yesterday with my Italian boyfriend and we had a wonderful lunch. As people who are very familiar with Italian cuisine, we have a lot of difficulty finding restaurants which are as authentic as they claim, so we were so pleased to find this place that at last did not disappoint us!

The restaurant is ran by a Sicilian, and the chefs are also Italian (perhaps Sicilian as well). The food was therefore based on traditional Sicilian cuisine and everything was absolutely delicious. Particular highlights were the pizza that I ordered, which had a perfect base, and my boyfriend had the cannolo for dessert which looked like it had come straight from Sicily.

The service was fantastic and you could tell the food came from the heart, as is the case with genuine Italian food. Nothing was too much trouble; I am actually vegan and was recommended the Primavera pizza without mozzarella and as mentioned, it was so delicious and flavoursome.

We are not often in the area but when we are we will be sure to visit this lovely hidden piece of Italy!

Grazie per l’ospitalità!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Sherpa300287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filippo B, Owner at Tavernetta Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018
Google Translation

Grazie per la bella recenzione!!!!!
I hope see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

Service was quick and friendly, but food was very poor. My meat dish was not supposed to be vegetarian but might as well have been a tiny fraction of meat in the dish. Pasta consisted of tomato sauce and peas in a very small dish, it did not taste bad but I could have knocked that up at home so was not worth the money. Did not bother with a dessert. Also the toilet was constantly engaged the whole time we were there.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank ognib243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filippo B, Owner at Tavernetta Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Dear Costumer,
you had the pleasure of tasting Sicilian Ragù served with tender peas.
Our portions are big enough, this is what all our customers say and appreciate this from us.
We serve a whole chicken breast with fresh and boiled vegetables at the moment.
If you have not appreciated the taste of our kitchen I'm so sorry, I hope to see you soon and change your mind about our kitchen.
I think it is one of the most geuine of the city.
I wish you a happy day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tavernetta Italian Restaurant also viewed

 
Ipswich, Suffolk
 

Been to Tavernetta Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing