We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent hospitality & perfectly located for N Wales & the coast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Ranked #14 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2015

Bodysgallen Hall and the adjoining Spa, has a reputation for excellence.

The hotel dates from the late 1580s, and alongside Plas Mawr in Conwy, is one of the most important Elizabethan properties in district of Conwy.

As to be expected, the food is of a high standard, and the accommodation is of a very high standard indeed.

A good friend is a member of the adjoining Spa health facility, and the Spa resturant serves up some of the nicest sandwitches ive tasted in a long time.

The hotel is situated conveniently two miles from the outskirts of llandudno adjacent to the A470, and is in a prime location to explore beautiful Snowdonia and Anglesea.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (702)
There are newer reviews for Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

248 - 252 of 702 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2015

We booked Bodysgallen Hall for two nights for our wedding - a very intimate affair, just us and two witnesses, one of whom was Ann-Louise who works in the hotel. We asked for a quiet cottage and were given The Bailiffs House which is a delightful suite with a comfy sitting room and small kitchen downstairs and large bedroom and bathroom upstairs. There was a private garden outside with deckchairs provided, weather permitting! WiFi in our suite was very good. We held the marriage ceremony in The Library, a lovely small room on the ground floor. Continental breakfast was good, although you can pay extra for a cooked meal, and the coffee was excellent. My wife (!) has coeliac disease and must have a gluten free meal, which was no problem at all either at breakfast or in the evening. We had 'congratulations' on our dessert plates which was a nice, personal touch and complimentary glasses of champagne. You also have great views of Snowdonia and Conwy Castle from the restaurant.
The hotel has wonderful gardens with plenty of 'rooms' which were perfect for our wedding photography. Our photographer (Gill Jones from Anglesey) was very enthusiastic about the venue.The hotel has a spa which we went to look at, but didn't utilise. It looked very good with a decent sized pool. Overall, I would say that the service in this hotel is really excellent with warm, welcoming, friendly staff. We are very pleased that we booked our special day at Bodysgallen Hall. I suppose we'll have to return for our anniversary!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2015

Our family has visited Bodysgallen many times over the last 20 years because as soon as you drive through the gates you begin to relax....

you know you will feel comfortable, receive a genuine welcome from experienced, attentive staff and enjoy good food.

Our recent stay was no different, and the fact that the gardens around the Hall were a magnificent sight made our stay even more enjoyable.

We try many other places but few have the charm of Bodysgallen

Room Tip: cottage suites are more private
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank satisfiedcustomer64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2015

We spent a week here in one of estate cottages with our dog and the venue and facilities are first class. The Management and staff are very professional and helpful, and one minor hiccup was quickly, and appropriately handled.
At the time we stayed (outside of school holidays) we were, by far, the youngest clients making for a very quiet restaurant environment.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2015 via mobile

We visited Bodysgallen Hall for afternoon tea to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary. The setting is beautiful, lovely gardens to walk in. As it was a warm day we had our tea on the terrace. Whilst we very much enjoyed the experience, I don't think I could award the tea 5 stars. The scones were fresh and warm but the sandwiches rather unimaginative and on cheap white bread. Ideally, I would have liked more variety re the teas,as well as a top up as it got cold quite quickly.
Would I go again? - yes I would.
Could I make an afternoon tea better my self? Yes, but I do do a lot of baking.
Don't expect the Dorchester, it's pretty good but not fantastic.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank jerahaldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandudno
3.3 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
1,251 reviews
1.8 km away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,632 reviews
3.6 km away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#26 of 60 in Llandudno
342 reviews
34.9 km away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
2.9 km away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bodysgallen Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodysgallen Hall & Spa

Address: The Royal Royal Welsh Way, Llandudno LL30 1RS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#17 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#18 Family Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: $339 - $483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bodysgallen Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing in over 200 acres of its own parkland to the south of Llandudno with spectacular views of Snowdonia and Conwy Castle. Believed to have 13th century origins, Bodysgallen Hall provides all that is best in country house hospitality. Beautiful gardens include a rare 17th century parterre of box hedges filled with sweet-scented herbs, a rockery with a cascade, a walled rose garden, and several follies. Historic House Hotels Ltd bought and rescued the house from a dilapidated state in 1981 and restored the 17th century house and gardens. In September 2008 Historic House Hotels Ltd and its interest in all its properties were given to the National Trust to ensure their long-term protection, with all profits benefiting the houses and the charity.The 15 extremely comfortable bedrooms in the Main Hall offer several different room types, including the four elegant principal suites. Each bedroom is individually decorated and furnished with antique furniture, paintings and prints, enjoying glorious views of Bodysgallen's parkland or gardens, with some rooms having further reaching views of Conwy Castle or the distant Mountains of Snowdonia. There are 16 cottage suites with picturesque names like The Smithy, Box Cottage and Pineapple Lodge, are situated in the grounds, and provide accommodation for guests preferring a greater degree of privacy. Many cottages enjoy their own private gardens and some are in close proximity to the Bodysgallen Spa. All are charming and delightful. The Dining Room in the main hall has been awarded three rosettes for fine dining by the AA - the only restaurant in Llandudno to be awarded such - and offers imaginative meals prepared from fresh local produce and complemented by fine wine, and overlooks the gardens and has been recognised as one of the best places for Sunday Lunch in the United Kingdom by The Observer newspaper.The Spa is approached by a short walk through the garden or by a private road. Converted from an original stone built farm it contains a magnificent 50' swimming pool edged with comfortable reclining chairs, whirlpool spa bath, steam room and sauna. A superb gymnasium has all the latest technologically advanced equipment, suitable for all ranges of fitness. A comfortable Club Room is a place where guests and members can relax and enjoy drinks and light meals, which in the summer are also served on the terrace. Residential guests have full use of the Bodysgallen Spa.Bodysgallen Hall is situated about 2 miles south from Llandudno and the North Wales coast. It is surrounded by over 200 acres of beautiful gardens and wooded parkland. Bodysgallen Hall has magnificent views of Snowdonia, and Conwy Castle. It's the perfect setting for a relaxed holiday at all times of the year. The hotel is ideally placed for visiting the many historic castles and stately homes in North Wales as well as the famous golf courses that adorn the coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bodysgallen Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodysgallen Hall Hotel Llandudno
Bodysgallen Hall And Spa
Bodysgallen Hall Llandudno
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing